We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved the warm, friendly atmosphere in Atwood's Tavern”
Review of Atwood's Tavern

Atwood's Tavern
Ranked #141 of 634 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved the warm, friendly atmosphere in Atwood's Tavern”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

You walk inside out of the chilly streets of Cambridge and immediately feel the warmth. The bar and tables are all a warm, honey brown wood that just feels good when you see it. I met up with a friend and we were quickly greeted and allowed to choose whatever table we liked. Service is friendly but never pushy. After trying a couple of the great ale selections (the choice of beer and ale is extensive), we both ended up getting the same dish...brown ale braised beef with house-made spaetzle. Talk about something to warm you up! It was so good and just fell apart when touched with a fork. I think they only give you a knife to cut the carrots. The spaetzle noodles were delicious in the gravy of the dish, which had a nice mouth feel but was not too thick. The strawberry rhubarb tart with vanilla bean ice cream (this is the real stuff, just check the black specks in the photo) was absolutely amazing! The bar itself was occupied by a bunch of people enjoying their food and beer, but just talking. No loud sports TVs or other chain bar junk, just a great, warm true tavern atmosphere. So happy to find this place and will be back again soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chocolate4dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were looking at the menu outside Atwood's when a passerby said 'Go there, it's brilliant' - so we did. That night and the following night! The food was really good, generous helpings, original and quite delicious. Service also very attentive. Additional bonus was the music - the blue grass band sat in a circle in the middle of the room and clearly just enjoyed what they were doing. It was a great evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark and Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Excellent Pub Grub”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stopped into this low-key East Cambridge spot on a Saturday for lunch. There was a small group there, evidently a few regulars and a few others like us, looking for a quick nosh. They have a nice selection of brews on tap as well as a good assortment of bottles and a full bar. We tried the grass-fed beef burger (they also have a turkey and a veggie) which is locally raised -- well, West Brookfield, which isn't too far away. It was cooked to order, a nice size and with a good beefy taste. The crispy pork belly with grits and brussels sprouts was amazing. A big slab of tender-crispy belly, creamy grits and roasted sprouts that you'd probably pay $25 or $30 for in Harvard Square. Here, a mere $15. An excellent value. We also tried the chocolate pudding. It's more like a cross between a dense chocolate mousse and an ice cream. Simply delicious.

Atwood's offers live music most nights. We'll be back to enjoy the laid-back atmosphere (in other words, the paint could be touched up a bit) and to work our way through their menu of comfort food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Filmprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

A group of 4 were in town on course and based upon reviews we went for dinner and drinks. We had a great time - service was excellent and food was very good. Definitely recommend. As a plus one of our group left their wallet at the pub. When we returned an hour later staff had the wallet and all cash and cards were there too. We were grateful for the integrity of the patrons and staff who found

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmyytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent mellow pub with great live music and beer selection”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The title pretty much says it all. This is an excellent place to hang out, chat with a friend, grab some high end pub fare and choose from a massive selection of craft beers. The space is cozy - lots of wood, and low lighting - and the live music is usually excellent and cheap (often just $5). Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RamblinDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atwood's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Atwood's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing