We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe & Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2007

Neighborhood was safe and very convenient to the T and the Cambridge mall. We had an especially warm winter this year, so walking to the mall and the science museum were not uncomfortably cold to enjoy the New Year. We were able to leave our car in the garage without a fee and use the MBTA to get around Boston. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was just want you would expect. The price $99 was very good too considering it was New Year's eve. The rooms were clean and seemed to have been updated. It doesn't have a view, but then again it was the location and convenience we were looking for. I would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Love2TravelMQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,063)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

991 - 997 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2007

My sister and I went to Boston for a small vacation while driving up from New Jersey. I found the Hampton Inn extremely affordable compared to other hotels in the area. We didn't really know the area so we wanted to be close to the T system, which turned out to be extremely accessible right across the street. The woman was very helpful with our tickets gave us the exact amount it would take us to go to each of our destinations. The front desk was very polite and we experienced a very fast check in. We had a room with 2 queen beds, not much of a view but the beds were very comfortable. Reminded me of home. We could hear the tv in the next room but only for a little bit before they turned it down. The next morning we had a complimentary breakfast which had hot/cold food. The best part of all is the free parking at the hotel that can run you as much as 40 dollars a day at other places. Overall i recommend this hotel and plan to stay there in the future.

We arrived in Boston after dark so the hotel was a little difficult to find in the dark.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jaws19798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2006

We continue to book this hotel for our Boston stays because of it's rates, location and free parking. The Green line is less than block away to put you within minutes of the city. Located within walking distance to the Museum of Science and the CambridgeSide Galleria Mall.
The rooms are average size for the Boston area. The new beds are a great addition and very comfy.
The hotel offers a great complimentary continental breakfast with all that we ever eat.
Free internet access is also offered in guest rooms as well as the lobby.

The hotel doesn't offer a restaurant or a pool.

This hotel is a great bargin for anyone wishing to stay in the Boston area!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Hillier86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2006

I stayed in this hotel about 6 times whilst working for a company based in Cambridge, and having also stayed in the Royal Sonesta and the Marlowe in the surrounding area, I'd place it in the middle of the two.

It's not a luxury hotel, but the decor is fairly neutral, it's clean, and it has free internet access and a good selection of cable channels, which are handy when you're a business traveller and don't fancy going out for entertainment, or need to work from your room. Our company always managed to get king size rooms, so I can't comment on smaller sizes, but the king size rooms come with a sofa and table, a desk and a giant bed (by UK standards anyway) so no complaints there. Bath could have been bigger, but the shower was good.

The buffet breakfast is always well stocked and there's a fairly decent selection of items to eat.

On the downside, on two occassions when I stayed there were power cuts, and more than 50% of the time the internet access doesn't work because it's run by a third party company who don't provide 24 hour support.

The biggest issue I found a problem as a business traveller was the lack of a bar or restaurant. It meant that if I fancied a drink or some food I always had to leave the hotel - there wasn't a mini bar in the room.

One thing to mention is don't leave any small items out prior to the room being cleaned. I left two sets of collar inserts for my shirts on the desk and the maid threw them out because she thought they were rubbish; the hotel weren't particularly receptive when I initially complained and I had to give them a bit of an earbashing before they sorted it out, but this was a one-time thing.

If you're going as a tourist though this hotel would likely be ideal for your needs.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GHinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2006

We were completely satisfied with this Hampton Inn with its easy access to Boston via the "T", underground parking garage, the usual excellent free breakfast and very quiet, well appointed rooms. There are good Thai and Afghan restaurants on First Street - about a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CraigCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

I stayed at the Hampton Inn in Cambridge a while back while on a business trip in the Boston area. Overall, I had an excellent experience. Upon check-in, the staff were very helpful and the lobby was well decorated and clean. The rooms were also very well decorated and also very clean. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathrooms were also very nice. My only small complaint would be that the rooms seemed a little bit on the small side for a Hampton Inn.

Just a quick warning to any travelers that are staying here without renting a car. This hotel is not in downtown Cambridge (not even very close), and there are very few places that are in walking distance. If you have a car, however, downtown Boston is just a short ride away as is the majority of Cambridge and other surrounding communities. Also, the hotel has a parking lot for those of you that do arrive with a car.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CelticJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2006

This is my second stay at this hotel, and I have to agree that there is no better value for the money. Easy access to Boston, free breakfast and parking, free internet and newspaper, etc. Will be back for a third time......

Stayed: August 2006
1  Thank urufenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
904 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
977 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge

Address: 191 Monsignor Obrien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141-1250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $139 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at our Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge hotel, just over the Charles River and just 1.2 Miles from downtown Boston, Government Center of Boston and Harvard Square. Our hotel is across the street from public transportation and near medical, technological, financial and educational institutions - a great location among Cambridge, Massachusetts hotels. Located on Route 28, providing direct access to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hampton Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing