We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold, Noisy Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The room was clean. No frig, micro, or pool. I asked for a frig and got one without front legs. Had to use a beverage tray to support it so the door would open. The heating unit had cold air blasting out of it and it made a ringing noise making sound sleep almost impossible. I reported it on Sunday and then had to report it again on Wednesday before anything was done. Had I not had my son and grandson in the other room I would have moved to another hotel. The hotel offered to move us to the room across the hall, but that room had the same issues...so why pack up??? Front desk folks were pleasant and very helpful. The location next to the metro station is great. Hardly used the car all week. Breakfasts were ok...but on more than one occasion there was no meat...just rubbery eggs and potatoes. We stayed at lots of Hampton Inn's...and always had good experiences. This was the exception.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Michael M:

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for the guestroom temperature issue as well as our breakfast offerings. We will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,063)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

678 - 684 of 1,063 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The accommodations were clean; the bathroom was spacious. Breakfast was good with varied options. About 20- 30 minutes walk to the heart of Boston. Chose this hotel because I always trust the Hampton INN will be a decent place to stay with free breakfast and parking. Hotels in Boston proper are more expensive with additional fees for breakfast and parking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear A TripAdvisor Member:

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location.

We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Lisa M. O'Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here during a 2 day snow storm with below zero wind chill factors to visit with our daughter who lives in the area. The room was comfortable and cozy.The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast area was well appointed with a large selection of hot foods and hot drinks- coffee, tea and hot chocolate available 24 hrs.we were notified the night before that there would be no maid service the next day - so we were prepared to reuse our towels( which I do anyway) and we were given a free movie. We really appreciated the garage parking for our car during the storm. Very nice accommodations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Barbara S:

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your visit, even during the blizzard-like conditions. Thank you for your understanding as well. The safety of our team and guests is of the utmost importance, and we preferred to allow the majority of our team to stay home and off the roads.

We hope you will stay with us during future visits to the area.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Close to Lechmere T & bus Didn't need to use car to get to Harvard Square or Fenway Park. Within walking of huge mall and Museum of Science. Staff very friendly and helpful Always try to stay at Hampton Inns for the price, free parking, and breakfast...reliable and consistent

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Beverly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Beverly A:

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. We're happy to hear our location was a convenient base for your travels throughout the area.

We would welcme the opportunity to be your host during future trips to the area.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We specifically picked this Hampton Inn due to the location just outside of Downtown Boston and across from a T-Station. It was a great idea. We commuted easily through the city without having to use our rental car, and the staff was great, as was the room and conveniences. It was a little pricey, but worth the ease of travel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Joseph C:

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your recent visit to the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. We truly appreciate your feedback and we're happy to hear you enjoyed your visit.

We hope you will stay with us during future travels to the Boston/Cambridge area.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Wonderful staff, great breakfast, very comfy bed, no problems anywhere along the line. The reason we chose this hotel was it's proximity to the Galleria, MBTA, and the free parking garage which is an absolute wonder in downtown Boston! The only downside would be the huge construction behind the hotel but it didn't detract too much.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Kristy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Kristy R:

Thank you for posting your review of your recent visit to the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to being your host during future trips to the area.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The city location was an easy walk to the train station, restaurants and downtown mall. The parking garage under the hotel was particularly convenient with the winter weather and the closed door access to the garage appreciated for security reasons.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear John V:

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge.

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our complimentary amenities. Our location is perfect for taking in the sites and our free parking is convenient and safe!

We hope you will stay with us should your future travels bring you to the Boston/Cambridge area.

Warm regards,

Lisa O'Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
904 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
975 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge

Address: 191 Monsignor Obrien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141-1250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $139 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at our Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge hotel, just over the Charles River and just 1.2 Miles from downtown Boston, Government Center of Boston and Harvard Square. Our hotel is across the street from public transportation and near medical, technological, financial and educational institutions - a great location among Cambridge, Massachusetts hotels. Located on Route 28, providing direct access to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hampton Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing