We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good value overall”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Pretty standard hotel, nothing terribly exciting about it. We found that is was clean and comfortable, and that the staff was friendly and helpful. Location is close to the end of a subway line (Green Line - Lechmere), so getting from the hotel to Boston is pretty easy. My wife and I stayed there for a night after attending a wedding; we life only 20 miles away but didn't want to drive after the reception. We were quite satisfied with this hotel overall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Michael J:

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. We appreciate your feedback.

We hope you will stay with us during future travels to the area.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    420
    147
    51
    22
See reviews for
408
210
71
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Standish, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the Red Sox Championship parade. While other hotels were charging alot more for that weekend this one was charging just the regular price. This made me a little nervous.....but this was a great hotel. Parking and breakfast was included (Make your own waffles, sausage, fruit, yogurt etc.) Even though the hotel was sold out there was plenty of parking inside an underground locked garage connected to the hotel. We used our car a couple of times, but the T-Green Line was right across the street! I did not feel unsafe at anytime. It was a quick subway ride to anywhere we wanted to go and you can walk to the Boston Science Musuem and Duck Tours. The hotel was nice, not overly fancy, and clean. We had a king room and there was plenty of room for the 2 of us. The staff was very helpful and I felt welcome even though I asked lots of questions. There is a computer in the lobby or wireless in the rooms. The bed was very comfortable-we had a great nights sleep. I am looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mguilford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear mguilford1:

Thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough review of your stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback.

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and can't wait to pass your comments along to our team. We pride ourselves on extending ultimate service to our guests.

We hope you will visit with us again during your next trip to the Boston/Cambridge area.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenia, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is convenient to public transportation, and a great value to access much of Boston! The staff was friendly and willing to recommend nearby restaurants and shopping. Very clean rooms and several options on the daily breakfast bar.
Parking is limited, but check with the hotel for a rate that includes parking in the hotel's garage- pretty reasonable rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbj_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear bbj_21:

Thank you for your recent review of your visit to the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. We appreciate your feedback.

We're happy to hear you were able to enjoy our complimentary amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to the area.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila., PA
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel was in the perfect location. It is across the street from both the T (train system) and the bus station, making it very easy to get into the city. The Science Center Museum is close also!

The hotel itself looks very nice. It was clean and well maintained. We stayed in a King room, which was located right next to the elevator. This sometimes disrupted my sleep if people were coming onto the floor. Jack-hammering from construction at around 7AM also woke me before I needed to be up. The king sided bed was nice, but a bit too bouncy for me. There was still plenty of room even with the larger bed. An armoire was available for clothes instead of a closet.

The parking garage is not good at all! You have to register first at the desk, then use your room key to access the parking below the hotel. Mostly, the parking was along the sides as parallel parking spaces, with few to just pull in. Pulling out, you had to turn your car around and exit the same way you came in, which was a problem when a car was also pulling in at the same time. I am hoping that the construction was for a better parking garage being added.

Breakfast was free, and it was good- so some of the food emptied quickly and the staff person had a hard time keeping up. She was kind and offered to get what was asked for first when restocking.

Overall, the experience with Hampton Inn was good. I think to make it a 5, I would have liked the parking to be better, and maybe a shuttle to take you to other places within Cambridge (such as Harvard and MIT,) instead of having to take the train all the way into downtown Boston, then back out on another train to a different part of Cambridge.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyK7189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear PattyK7189:

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. We appreciate your feedback.

Please accept our apologies for the construction noise and your dissatisfaction with our parking garage. The construction is being conducted by an outside company and is not related to the hotel. We do offer complimentary parking for our guests in a secured, underground garage. Access is only permitted to registered guests of the hotel. While it may appear inadequate, there are ample spaces for our guests to park.

Thank you again for your comments as they assist in our efforts to provide quality service and amenities to our guests.

Sincerely,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed fro weekend with my son and his wife. The hotel room was clean and large enough for the four of us . The location was one block north of the science museum and the subway line. We were able to park once and us the Metro for getting around. Breakfast was great with a good selection. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We woul all stay here if in Boston again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear MandP155004:

Thank you for staying with us and posting your TripAdvisor review. We appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to the Boston/Cambridge area.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here during the Head of the Charles weekend. Lots of positives:

+ Decent price on a weekend when area hotel rates were inflated
+ FREE PARKING!! In Boston!!
+ Renovated rooms
+ Right across from the Lechmere T station
+ Easily accessible to major highways, local mall, restaurants, etc.
+ Very clean
+ Free WiFi
+ Free breakfast (one day we walked to Finagle-A-Bagel across the street instead)

The few drawbacks include smallish rooms (to be expected for a city hotel, but our Queen bed seemed to be more like a double bed) and a not-so-great staff (I had to prompt the woman at check-in for my Hilton Honors free waters, we received less than knowledgeable input from the front desk when asking for dinner recs, and the man who handled the check-out process seemed very confused and it took FOREVER).

I think this is a great option for people travelling to Boston! It's technically Cambridge, which is essentially Boston. The T brinsg you where you need to go and cabs are a plenty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrangeSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear OrangeSquirrel:

Thank you for your thorough review of your visit to the Boston/Cambridge Hampton Inn. We appreciate your feedback and apologize our service wasn't what you would expect.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to service excellence.

Sincerely,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We scheduled a family reunion around my son's participation in the "Head of the Charles" Regatta...we chose this hotel primarily for it's location and price...both were excellent! Both product & staff surpassed our expectations...breakfast was fresh and delicious, this East Cambridge hotel is a smart alternative to the pricey hotels nearer the river...will definitely return!! Lindsey at the desk, and Linda the manager are AWESOME!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonCambridge, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Bruce S:

Thank you for posting your review for your stay at the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and that our team was helpful during your stay.

We look forward to your next visit to the hotel.

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
944 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
856 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge

Property: Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
Address: 191 Monsignor Obrien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141-1250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at our Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge hotel, just over the Charles River and just 1.2 Miles from downtown Boston, Government Center of Boston and Harvard Square. Our hotel is across the street from public transportation and near medical, technological, financial and educational institutions - a great location among Cambridge, Massachusetts hotels. Located on Route 28, providing direct access to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hampton Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing