We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hilton should have closed for construction!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hilton should have closed for construction!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Booked for one night during Thanksgiving week. The place stated lobby would be going under remodel during this time but OMG!! The place was a disaster! Literally jackhammering in the lobby with ceramic pieces flying around and so loud I couldn't hear the poor front desk people yelling across the desk to me! The reason I am rating it average is even though I think Hilton should have DEFINITELY closed this hotel during a MAJOR remodel/reconstruction - the employees at the front desk were so polite, apologetic and helpful that you couldn't help but smile. They were in the dust and mess along with the guests and, obviously, they did NOT get to decide to keep the hotel open so why blame them? The breakfast area was COLD and dusty with very little selection and seating. You didn't even WANT to stay for the breakfast and the construction workers kept the back door open which was right next to this 'breakfast area'. Honestly, I expect more - MUCH MORE - from my stays with Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Don't book until the hotel confirms that the DESTRUCTION is over!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryRN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear MaryRN66:

Thank you for your recent review of the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge.

Yes, the entire first floor of our hotel is currently under complete renovation and we're excited about the changes it will bring to our hotel! The beginning of 2013 will bring the Perfect Mix Lobby and Jump Start Fitness to our hotel and we're thrilled to be able to offer these to our guests!

We have made every effort to notify our guests and potential guests of the construction with the information posted on our brand webpage, on all third party reservation sites and it is also highlighted on all confirmation emails that are sent to our confirmed guests. We have also limited the begin and end time for any noise construction (it cannot begin before 10 am or last after 7pm). We realize this is not an ideal situation, however, we have also assisted guests with finding alternate accommodations when their expectations have been different than what we have communicated.

Again, I thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit.

Sincerely,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    362
    126
    37
    18
See reviews for
330
172
63
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Woodstock, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I recently stay at this hotel to attend a business meeting I had at the TD Banknorth Garden in Boston, MA. I choose the hotel due to the fact that it was only two (2) stops on the MBTA Green Line to the Garden. Upon entering the hotel I found the staff to be very helpful and accomodating. My room was clean and the parking conenient. The breakfast in the morning was good also. The price was reasonable. In fact the only reason I gave this hotel an average rating is the room looked very dated. It look as if the furniture needs to be updated. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that needs to stay in Boston without paying the downtown Boston prices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Good location by T stop, complimentary breakfast and free parking. Good base for exploring Cambridge, Beacons Hill/USS Constitution and downtown Boston. Only 10 min cab ride from airport. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We went to Boston in September for my friends wedding. We made it into a mini-vacation and had a great time. The hotel was very convenient to the T and had free parking. I thought the breakfast was great. I don't need anything fancy and there were tons of choices! We love it there and will keep that on the list. We got a great deal on the hotel and will be staying there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Longano:

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your recent visit to the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge.

We truly appreciate your feedback and thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We love Hampton Hotels because the quality is fairly consistant, but the manager and front desk staff of the Cambridge Hampton went out of their way to assist us. I had to check out before my husband's conference was over, and they let me leave my car in their parking deck while I shopped at the Galleria nearby - which I greatly appreciated. I easily took the trolley into Boston from the stop nearby. The hotel is nicely decorated, very clean, with exceptionally friendly housekeepers and staff. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CTRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear CTRight:

Thank you for your recent review of the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. We appreciate your time and wonderful comments about our staff and hotel.

We hope you will visit again should your travels bring you back to the Boston/Cambridge area.

Sincerely,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had read the reviews of this hotel before I booked it. I agree with most of them. The Hampton Inn is a good choice if you want to be in the Cambridge area. It's located very close to the Lechmere stop on the T, the subway in Boston. We didn't need to use it this trip though. You can also walk to the Cambridge Galleria which has floors of shops and restaurants. There is a parking garage underneath the hotel for guests. It's not a large lot and it's laid out strangely but it's nice to have parking included in the price. Our room was nice. It was very clean and modern. It wasn't four star but it was fine for our purposes. I liked that they had 4 bath towels in the bathroom. Most hotels like this give you 3 and I'm always asking for more. The breakfast included was your typical Hampton Inn breakfast but it was fine. My only complaint was the price. This weekend was the Head of the Charles, a huge rowing regatta as well as Parents Weekend at a number of nearby universities so they jacked up the price. The other hotels that we have stayed at in that same neighborhood wanted so much more money that I wouldn't book them. We have never paid this much money for a Hampton Inn but this was our best alternative.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Symmesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Symmesgirl:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge. We're thrilled you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to being your host should your future travels bring you back to the Boston/Cambridge area.

Sincerely,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Knowing that hotel prices are ridiculous in boston, I had to find a place that was convenient, had clean rooms, hot breakfast, and adequate parking. This place checked all the blocks:

Convenience: Right across from a T stop, and in a neighborhood that is safe. And $2.50 one way to anywhere in the city is dirt cheap.

Room: Very nice. The rooms seemed to be well kept, LCD TV's, bathroom was modern, and nothing was out of place. Room is adequate, not huge but big enough.

Breakfast: A nice assortment of hot foods, and this changed every morning. The waffle maker was popular with my teenager. Fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal. It was as good as can be expected with the room rate.

Parking: Free, and indoor. What is there not to like?

I also forgot the internet, that was free as well. So this hotel, while at the outset is expensive (I'm sorry, nothing about a room over $200 is cheap), is a good price given the location and amenities. Next time I'm in town, I will stay there again. (4 stars because of the price, a bit cheaper and it becomes a 5)

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank World_TravelerJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSCB, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear World_TravelerJapan:

Thank you for your kind words about your visit to our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed all we have to offer.

We look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,

Lisa M. O'Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Marlowe
Kimpton Hotel Marlowe
#2 of 19 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 stars 1,731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#3 of 19 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 stars 831 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Boston Marriott Cambridge
#7 of 19 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 stars 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge

Property: Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
Address: 191 Monsignor Obrien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141-1250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at our Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge hotel, just over the Charles River and just 1.2 Miles from downtown Boston, Government Center of Boston and Harvard Square. Our hotel is across the street from public transportation and near medical, technological, financial and educational institutions - a great location among Cambridge, Massachusetts hotels. Located on Route 28, providing direct access to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hampton Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing