We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Free Parking and T access are the pluses” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
LosAngeles, CA
Level Contributor
166 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Free Parking and T access are the pluses”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This has the smallest rooms for a Hampton Inn I've stayed in. The rooms don't have any lounge chairs - just the desk and one chair you can put in the aisle between the bed and the wall. Our room smelled very musty and the air conditioner was the loudest I've ever had. Our clock was set one hour earlier than the actual time which wasn't a problem for us, but could have been disastrous for someone depending on it to catch a plane or concert. The desk chair wasn't clean. The breakfast was standard Hampton and the staff kept it filled nicely. There was a single computer in the lobby to print tix. Clearly the free parking and T access are the selling points. This was a much less expensive alternative in Cambridge, but honestly, if this had been my first Hilton property I stayed at, I'd never return to the chain. I've personally find a different home base for Boston.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USTraveler0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    395
    138
    45
    19
See reviews for
376
192
68
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Windsor, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

I chose this hotel due to its proximity to the subway (T) green line (Lechmere). It is less than a 5 min walk. The room was small, but clean. The A/C unit is based on temperature and not the generic High vs Low, so it wasn't running constantly, which was nice. The free parking was a definite plus, but the garage didn't seem to be very big and the spots seemed quite narrow. There were a few cars randomly parked at the entrance to the garage since it was full. We, however, arrived early and never once moved our car, so that was not an issue for us. (We missed the entrance to the hotel when we arrived, as we didn't realize it was right next to the side street, but not a big deal.) The continental breakfast was nice, and at least the scrambled eggs tasted like they used real eggs, unlike other hotels. There were also waffles, bagels/toast/english muffins, yogurt, fruit, cereal,etc. Our room was right next to the elevator, so there was a bit of noise when people were coming and going, but nothing too terrible.
Just a note to anyone riding the subway back to the hotel, not all green line subways go Lechmere! :) Most of them stop at North Station, where you will have to wait until the next one says Lechmere. Maybe we're just public transportation illiterate, but we didn't realize that at first. :)

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank paws0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
385 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Since cars in Boston often/usually equal crazy driving and huge traffic jams (especially on the night of a Red Sox home game) the value of free underground parking and access to very good public transportation is considerable. The Lechmere Green Line E begins right across the street from the Hampton Inn. From there you can get almost anywhere. For the places the T does not go, there is also a bus station even closer to the hotel.

Parking is very expensive in Boston and this is a real perk. The parking below ground is not easy to accomplish (big SUVs may find it a challenge) but an elevator connects to the lobby.

One other key point about the location... If you like to walk, you can be across the Charles River and near the Mass General and Science Museum area in a reasonable walk. Just a bit further and you are at the Garden for a game or Quincy Market.for some food. The neighborhood is not terribly tourist-appealing, but is safe, andmoments away are the things you want to do and see.

As for the hotel, it is a standard Hampton Inn in reasonably good condition, with free breakfast and free internet for Hilton Honors members. The price was considerably less than my local favorite, the Doubletree Suites in Cambridge, not far away. The Hanpton provided a clean and safe place to stay, without the need to take the car into the city and keep paying every time for parking. I recommend it.

Room Tip: The top floor is quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank withkidstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Good: location (close to TD Gardens and downtown Boston), tasty Hampton breakfast, close to transit and shopping. Free parking - total bonus!

Bad: Paper thin walls. Got woken up at 1am with the next door neighbours having an "intimate encounter", if you catch my drift. Paper thin walls resulting in what could only be described as a porn scene for 2 hours until they finally stopped. Went to visit the hotel manager, but they didn't have any rooms to change us to until the morning. It was disgusting. Front desk didn't fix it, but were very nice about it and did what they could.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineSallySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed here in March. Its a standard Hampton Inn. Yes, the breakfast area is not very big and is usually very busy, especially on the weekend. Its very close to the end station of the subway (T) green line, so its a good base to go in and out of downtown. Its close enough that you could walk to the Garden over the bridge, but we bought a 7 day transit pass and used it non stop. Its also a short ride to Harvard. There is a big mall about a 10 minute walk with restaurants, but there is nothing around the immediate area. Other reviews state the area is "sketchy". Its pretty deserted, with no business open at night except a gas station and donut shop, but I don't think its sketchy. We walked several times from the T late at night with no issue. If you get the room for a good price and don't mind taking transit, it can be worthwhile as a base to visit Boston (which is a great city and worthy of a visit)

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper you might want to get a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deltakilo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

As a Hilton Honors Diamond member, I can attest that this hotel is average at best for Hilton properties. The breakfast area is so small and crowded every morning that it is impossible to enjoy breakfast. The rooms are small but clean. The only positive thing about the hotel is the proximity to the T station which can get you to all the historic sites in and around Boston for only $11 a day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatholicFather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
221 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Having an early appointment at MGH, we decided to stay here in town to avoid the morning traffic rush. We checked in a little early and yes the room was small and the left of the bed didn't have a night stand. The location was very good; in fact, we walked to Faneuil Hall Marketplace – about 30 minutes away. We took a taxi back to the hotel and were very pleased to find a 24 hour Dunkin Donuts right across the street. The TV and the internet were good. The staff very friendly and informative, the breakfast was good. But, the best part… they have the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on in any hotel EVER! We stayed at the Sonesta on the 4th and the bed was okay. We stayed at several other Hampton Inns and their beds were also okay… but this bed had a great pillow top, super comfy and would work well for people of all types. We got a great night’s sleep and I would gladly pay for this hotel if just for that reason only. My wife and I are seriously thinking of purchasing one of their beds on line – the hotel let us know that we could do that  We will return.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back are quieter, but only have a view of an office building. Try a higher floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ocean0808cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
0.4 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
0.8 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge

Property: Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
Address: 191 Monsignor Obrien Hwy, Cambridge, MA 02141-1250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at our Hampton Inn Boston/Cambridge hotel, just over the Charles River and just 1.2 Miles from downtown Boston, Government Center of Boston and Harvard Square. Our hotel is across the street from public transportation and near medical, technological, financial and educational institutions - a great location among Cambridge, Massachusetts hotels. Located on Route 28, providing direct access to Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hampton Inn Cambridge
Cambridge Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing