We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Saturday supper” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Side Bar & Grill

East Side Bar & Grill
Ranked #20 of 613 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Saturday supper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Four of us had supper on a Saturday. The service was very good in this small restaurant. The food was very good. The portions were too large but were enjoyed. They offered to box the remainders but we were at a nearby hotel . Half portions might be an option.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    34
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bang for your buck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Doubletree in Cambridge and when planning our stay, we utilized Tripadvisor to seek out restaurants. We read about the East Side Bar & Grill and decided to give it a try. You do need a vehicle or taxi to get to the restaurant from the hotel.
We sat at the bar when we first arrived. Nice atmosphere. We were there to enjoy cocktails and watch the Patriots. My husband ordered the mussles. He LOVED them. They were very tender. The mussels were offered three ways and he chose the garlic cream. I think we had three beers while waiting for our dinner partners. Family members were joining us, so once they arrived we switched to a table. The menu offers many choices and the prices were incredibly reasonable. At the table an order of fried mozarella sticks was requested.Two of us had the steak tips, one had the pork chop entree and one had the seafood platter. Everyone gave a thumbs up to their meals. Two sodas and two more beers were added to our bill and the total was about $140. This included our drinks and appetizer from the bar. We thought it was a great deal, especially for the Boston area. Great recommendation from other tripadvisor reviewers. Thank you! Give East Side Bar & Grill a try. You won't be disappointed!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank martinelectronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Popular Neighborhood Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This well loved, popular neighborhood restaurant serves large portions of thoughtfully prepared food in a casual atmosphere with excellent service. No reservations, but arriving at 6 PM on a Friday night there was no wait. All tables were taken by 7 PM. The widely acclaimed Margherita pizza was very good, although not quite artisan level (the crust had good flavor but was too chewy, while the topping had too much cheese and not enough basil to be first rate in my view), and the smallest size serves 3 to 4 people, as accurately explained to us by the waiter. This meant without over stuffing ourselves we couldn't try anything else except a salad or a soup, both good, no room for dessert, and took home leftovers too. Very good value and efficient. Wines by the glass include some very nice selections - there was no problem trying tastes of two first to choose our preference.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IlDolcePerPrimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Tx
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Clam Chowder heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This place was close to our hotel, but we weren't expecting it to be soooo yummy!! The clan chowder is amazing! Nice, clean, very quaint atmosphere and wonderful waiters. The chicken Marsala was scrumptious as well!!

Helpful?
Thank Jonesaggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem of a bar and grill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I booked a room at the Hampton Inn, Cambridge. The front desk recommended a bar/restaurant nearby called Courtside. As we walked in we were overwhelmed with foul-smelling mold/beer, loud karaoke, and drunks (not that I have anything against drinking!). We googled bar restaurants in the area and decided to walk three blocks to the East Side Bar and Grill. We were welcomed with classy Frank Sinatra music, beautiful decor, friendly waitstaff and bartender. The place was packed with what we could tell was regular patrons. We had dinner plans later in the evening so we stuck with drinks and appetizers, both of which were great. Next time we visit Cambridge we will be sure to visit again and enjoy a full meal. Worth noting - as you might expect, and we enjoyed, the clients were mostly in their 50's-80's and obviously enjoying the martini's, big-band/crooner music along with the food. There is also a big-screen TV over the bar - a nice touch for sports fans sitting at the bar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank patinvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Side Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to East Side Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing