We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great location for watching a regatta and visiting Harvard/MIT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charles Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Bordentown, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location for watching a regatta and visiting Harvard/MIT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Its a few blocks from the nearest T-line, but it is walkable. It is even easier to drive to...just a hop and skip off of I-90 at exit 19. The hotel has modern elegance, is located immediately next to Harvard's Kennedy School, two blocks from the Coop, and is about the same distance from all of Harvard Square's local best eateries. But the two best are in The Charles itself (Henrietta's Table and the Rialto), and Legal Seafoods is in the same complex. Dogs can stay here with their people as well. A great fitness center and pool facility is also attached.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lahrmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    340
    98
    44
    36
See reviews for
321
161
85
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LosAngeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

I booked 20 rooms plus the Presidential suite for our recruiting event at Harvard. Food was great, service was excellent and the guestrooms very comfortable. I love the TVs in the mirror of the bathrooms. Rates are high because there are very few hotels in Cambridge. Bar in the lobby is a lot of fun and the perfect spot to go after a day of work.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAEventPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

A great hotel and location. The hotel supplied what I look for in a hotel: a quiet, clean, safe environment. As a bonus, the location was fantastic, walk to restaurants, shops and on a great running route on the Charles River. The patio area outside the hotel had several dining options including Legal Seafood. I was concerned that it might be noisy, trashy but it was well managed, a great opportunity to get a bite or a drink on a nice fall evening.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEfamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The nicest hotel we have ever been in. My wife was floored when i took her to this hotel. THe hotel was very very clean, we had a tv in a mirror of our bathroom, we had a study, nice big lcd screen tv in the bedroom, huge king bed, and a beautiful view of the city. The room service was excellent, great food. Overall, excellent hotel, and all services provided to us were great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denid2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We took the kids for a 3 days visit to Boston. We were wondering wether to stay at any of the big hotels down town or stay further way. We ended up at the Charles. Great choice, great stay. The level of service is unique. The rooms are very comfortable, updated but nothing spectacular. The restaurants at the hotels are very good (especially with young children in the morning) and a stone throw away there are numerous restaurants and bars. The Gym is also very well equipped. Its also a very short ride to and from Boston.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

It was the first time I stayed in this hotel, and I loved it. The location is perfect : a short 5 minutes walk from the subway, and from vibrant Harvard square. The hotel is also located next to the JFK gardens, it has two restaurants: an upmarket one, and a more casual one (Henrietta's table). I have been told by Bostonians that Henrietta's table serves one of the best Sunday brunchs in town. I had breakfast there on Sunday, and it was already quite busy for breakfast. (The waffle with the New England apple butter sauce is delicious: light and fresh! ) There is a Legal Seafood restaurant that you can access from the hotel's backyard. There is also a Legal Seafood terrace on the square in front of the hotel. There is a jazz bar too. So this is a nice, lively and comfortable hotel for business travellers (free wireless internet, quick check in and check out) and tourists., The service is efficient and friendly. My room was big, very comfortable, clean, quiet , with big windows overlookng the Hotel's square. The bathroom was big too, with a lot of room for storage like in the bedroom. I absolutely loved the fact that one can have access from the hotel's third floor- and for free - to the fitness center next to the hotel. You just need to show your hotel key and fill a very short form the first day. The fitness center has a swimming pool, and a good choice of cardio machines, and other machines. It opens at 6 AM. i will definitively return, and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BidaLokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

The Charles placed us in a room above its Noir patio bar. As the night progressed, it became so loud (100+ people outside) that we couldn't sleep. When we called the front desk, the young lady attempted to get rid of me by telling me she would go to the bar and tell them to "hold it down." If I weren't so angry I would have laughed. We couldn't change rooms because our college students were out that night and wouldn't be able to find us. We gutted it out till the wee hours when the bar closed. Apparently, the hotel favors its bar patron's revenue over its guests.

4 large offensively smelling room service trays were left in the hallway all evening and into the night.

The Charles charged me for valet parking when it was included in my package. It took me two attempts, including a visit to the front desk, to have it removed from my bill.

When the valet service brought my (new) car around, it had two scratches on it that weren't there the night before. I was required to submit a written claims form and am awaiting the manager's call.

IT WAS A NIGHTMARE, WOULDN'T RETURN.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Columbus5683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 19 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Marlowe
Kimpton Hotel Marlowe
#2 of 19 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 stars 1,733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#7 of 19 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#11 of 19 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Hotel

Property: Charles Hotel
Address: 1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5780
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Boston and a variety of world-class attractions, The Charles is a AAA Four Diamond Hotel and a proud member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts.Reflecting the eclecticism that is Cambridge, The Charles Hotel is a modern interpretation of New England hospitality with a thriving jazz club, the Regattabar, two signature restaurants, ice-skating rink (winter months only), state of the art conference facilities, Corbu Spa & Salon, and a central location in the heart of Harvard Square.The Hotel is home to Henrietta’s Table, featuring “fresh and honest” home cooking, and Rialto, recognized by one of the best restaurants in America by Gourmet, Food & Wine and Esquire. Noir, the hotel’s chic, cozy bar, serves classic cocktails mixed to perfection and sultry signature drinks. Since its opening in 1985, The Regattabar has established itself as the leading jazz and world music club in Boston and the New England area. Corbu Spa & Salon is named after famed architect and designer, Le Corbusier and offers a harmonious escape from the stresses of urban life. A French influenced menu offers seasonal treatments with locally sourced ingredients. Open daily.Catering to internationally renowned business leaders, government officials, entertainment executives and leisure travelers alike, it’s no wonder that the New England Travel Guide has designated The Charles as the best hotel to “stay put in” when visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing