We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Harvard Square Location”
Review of Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I spent three nights here while attending a Harvard seminar in early December 2013. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The bed is delightful as are the large feather pillows. The food is exceptional and the proximity to Harvard square is ideal. It is an easy 30 minute drive from Logan airport. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank EastCoast888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdevenne, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words regarding your recent visit to The Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay including your time spent dining with us and everything Harvard Square has to offer.

If I can assist you in any way, please contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,742)
There are newer reviews for Charles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,284 - 1,290 of 1,743 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

I have always been a fan of the Charles Hotel, having been married in its ballroom some 28 year ago. However, I am sad to report that the things that once made the Charles a special place to stay are standard for similar hotels and the level of service I received was medicore at best. The room are nice and well kept. However, there is no turn-down service in the evenings. And, the level of personal attention I would expect at this hotel was totally lacking. I have to say that it really disappoints me to have to write this, but the level of personal attention received was no better than the Courtyard by Marriot down the street. The breakfast restaurant and associated bar are excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMEAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdevenne, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Charles Hotel. I appreciate your kind words as well as your suggestions for improvement and these matters will be addressed with the appropriate team members. Please know that guest satisfaction is our top priority and we are constantly working on improving. If I can assist you further, please feel free to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay here while on business for the first time in Boston. This is a great hotel with exceptional service that I would recommend to any friend or colleague. The location is within walking distance to the Harvard campus and a variety of historical sites. I plan to visit Boston this summer with my family and will definitely be staying at The Charles.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdevenne, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at The Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and everything Harvard Square has to offer. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team. If I can assist you further, please contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles sometime soon.

Sincerely, Alex Attia General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I first stayed at this hotel for a business conference. We now stay for pleasure. It is perfect for both. It features contemporary design and room furnishings referencing historic New England warmth and charm - with working high tech amenities for the business traveler. For instance, gorgeous antique quilts on the walls and the delicious Henrietta's Table restaurant to remind you that you are in Cambridge PLUS a TV in your bathroom mirror, so you can watch as you shave and a shared printer in the hall web cube. There is excellent WiFi in each room with a great desk setup. You can walk everywhere in Harvard Square, and to catch the T, so although the hotel is pricier than some, it is worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripleLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdevenne, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words regarding your recent visit to The Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, including your time spent dining with us and your guestroom amenities. If I can assist you in any way, please contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles sometime soon. Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is hands-down the best place to stay in Cambridge. Walking distance to everything. Great atmosphere. Super friendly staff. Book a table at the restaurant before you go - it fills up fast! The cab ride into Boston is about 20 minutes, and it's worth it to be out of the city in a hotel with some character.

Room Tip: Room on a high floor overlooking the river and the river houses. Lovely view at night.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodie40508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdevenne, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at The Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as your interactions with our staff. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team.

If I can assist you further, please contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Charles Hotel is one of my favorite hotels. If business calls me to Boston, I will stay at The Charles in Cambridge and deal with the extra travel time into the city. I feel at home in The Charles (vs. some of the colorless, characterless bigger hotels), the staff are wonderful, the rooms are lovely and CLEAN. I look forward to the little TV in the bathroom mirror......the only thing that I wish the Charles would provide its guests is a Keurig machine in all rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdevenne, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences regarding your recent visit to The Charles Hotel, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please note that a coffee maker can be placed in your guestroom upon request (based upon availability).

If I can assist you further, please contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you at The Charles Hotel sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Amazingly comfortable beds in an immaculately clean and warm bedroom meant the perfect night's sleep. The staff were very helpful too, at check in and check out. And I enjoyed the historic quilt collection displayed on the stairs to the first floor restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardLi0nHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdevenne, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at The Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your guestroom as well as your interactions with our staff. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team.

If I can assist you further, please contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
2,001 reviews
Harvard Square Hotel
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
505 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,909 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Hotel

Address: 1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $236 - $740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Boston and a variety of world-class attractions, The Charles is a AAA Four Diamond Hotel and a proud member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts. Reflecting the eclecticism that is Cambridge, The Charles Hotel is a modern interpretation of New England hospitality with a thriving jazz club, the Regattabar, two signature restaurants, year-round farmers market, state of the art conference facilities, Corbu Spa & Salon, and a central location in the heart of Harvard Square. The Hotel is home to Henrietta’s Table, featuring “fresh and honest” home cooking, and Benedetto, inspired by the honesty and wisdom of traditional Italian regional cooking. Noir, the hotel’s chic, cozy bar, serves classic cocktails mixed to perfection and sultry signature drinks. Since its opening in 1985, The Regattabar has established itself as the leading jazz and world music club in Boston and the New England area. Corbu Spa & Salon is named after famed architect and designer, Le Corbusier and offers a harmonious escape from the stresses of urban life. A French influenced menu offers seasonal treatments with locally sourced ingredients. Open daily. Catering to internationally renowned business leaders, government officials, entertainment executives and leisure travelers alike, it’s no wonder that the New England Travel Guide has designated The Charles as the best hotel to “stay put in” when visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing