We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Cambridge”
Review of Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Rooms are not large but well appointed, concrete structure not that warm and welcoming but...the staff certainly is. Henrietta's is terrific. Great way to get the flavor of the university; thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank nycpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdevenne, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at The Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time dining with us at Henrietta's Table as well as everything Cambridge has to offer. If I can assist you further, please feel free to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles sometime soon!

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,742)
There are newer reviews for Charles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,296 - 1,302 of 1,742 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just a minute's walk from Harvard Square, the Charles is a very nice choice in Cambridge. It's also usually the highest priced of the areas full-service hotels no matter which hotel booking website you use. I stayed there recently for a work event and found it a very comfortable and satisfactory place to stay. The meeting facilities were excellent and well-staffed too.There were two caveats for me - one a somewhat minor irritation and the other a small but significant beef. The irritation was that the little square plastic-magnetic room key you are given at reception often needs several sweeps over the room door lock to gain access. A couple of times I almost headed back down to reception to get a new key, before one final attempt got me in the room. A hotel of this quality should have a better system. The second issue was the lack of any coffee-making equipment in the room. No problem at all if there is free or easily available coffee in the hotel foyer as an alternative. But as far as I could tell there wasn't. And as an early riser who likes to have a cup of coffee and get some work done in my room first thing in the morning, this is the kind of thing that will stop me going back. I ended up going out to Crema in Harvard Square to get a coffee to bring back.

Nevertheless, the rooms are cozy and very comfortable with the whole hotel, rooms included, having a modern New England design vibe - lots of sub-Shaker style cheery trim, wood furniture and quilts. Lots of good space in the reception areas and two full service restaurants. I have eaten breakfast in Henrietta's Table several times over the last few years and it's a very good place for a business breakfast, with excellent food, even if the young servers can be a bit off-hand. The same lack of attentiveness from wait staff seems to extend to the hotel's bar too, as a previous reviewer has noted.

All in all, a very nice hotel with all the facilities you need, but not my favorite in Cambridge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grassland88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdevenne, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at The Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your guest room as well as your interactions with our staff. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team.

However, I am sorry to hear of the difficulties you experienced with your room key and appreciate you bringing this matter to my attention. Also, I want to be sure that you are aware of our complimentary coffee provided for guests. We serve coffee in our lobby every morning from 5:30-7:00. After 7AM, the complimentary coffee is available at the Host’s desk in Henrietta’s Table until 11AM. A coffee maker for your room is also available upon request and is based on availability. If I can assist you further, please contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Charles hotel was our base for a reunion trip and it was an excellent choice. The room (928) was spacious with two double beds and had a great 9th floor view out the the west over Harvard Yard. The beautiful decoration with original antique quilts in the common areas of the hotel was carried through with very attractive quilts in the bedroom. The furniture design and color choices were very attractive.

One defect was the lighting, which was not fully sufficient especially in the bathroom (mostly the fault of the placement and the mirror). The bath was also large enough for two sinks but only has one. Closet was large enough although the accordian door was awkward and would interfere with the exit door if left open. The pillows were comfortable for me, but very soft.

These are quibbles however. The room was attractive and generally well designed. The desk area is particularly spacious. The armchair very comfortable. Wireless internet worked well. The plugs and ports were easily reached and integrated into the desk. Having a rack of hooks for coats etc.was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Upper two floors with windows facing east toward the Yard have nice views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdevenne, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Charles Hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your guestroom and I appreciate your kind words. Thank you for your suggestions for improvement and I will take this into consideration. If you have any further comments or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles Hotel sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

It was a beautiful fall evening in Cambridge, the weekend of the Head of the Charles Regatta. We had a wonderful meal at a loacl restaurant and thought we would round it off with a dink at the bar. we waited for 25 minutes to be served and watched with initial bemusement and then frustration as the 3 bar staff spent time talking with each other and conversing with a large table of guests next to them. The couple next to us were even more frustrated as they had waited half an hour to get their check! When I went to ask to be served one of the 3 staff ( who turned out to be the manager) he said soemone would be up in the right away. After another 15 minute wait; still no servic. When I went to the bar and asked for service I was told that I would be served when they were ready. I pointed out the wait; she laughed and suggested I might want to go somewhere else if I was not satisfied. The bar manger then joined in and suggested that his team were doingtheir best and waiting 45 minutes for a drink was not unreasonable. We of course left and went back to our room in disgust. When I went to the front desk to speak to the on call manager I was told he had no jurisdiction over the bar but could contact the operations manager the next day!! This is a shame as this is a nice property with a great location marred by careless service and attitude. As we left the car park a recorded voice said" thank you and have a nice day". That was the most polite interaction we had at this hotel!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RC1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdevenne, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am sorry to hear you did not fully enjoy your stay as well as your interactions with our staff. Thank you for bringing these matters to my attention and they will be addressed with the appropriate team members. Please know that guest satisfaction is our top priority here at The Charles Hotel and we are constantly working on improving. Please feel free to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com if I can assist you further. Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Charles in the future and providing you with the service you expect and deserve from us.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Very nice hotel, high end, but I could be anywhere in the world. I prefer something a little less Western-Generic -- more character, more history, and perhaps just a bit less comfort, but memorable for what and where it is.
All the same, very well done, with no complaints. Great location. Quiet. Helpful staff. Good breakfast, but limited range. A lot of good eating in the area -- especially Toscanos.
Will stay again, because of convienience and location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdevenne, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at The Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and everything Harvard Square has to offer. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team. If I can assist you further, please contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I always stay at the Charles when I am visiting Cambridge, MA....the hotel is well run, the rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The restaurant on site is excellent for breakfast. The concierge is also super helpful.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Joanne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdevenne, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent visit to The Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and everything the surrounding area has to offer. If you have any further comments, please feel free to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles Hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is our favorite hotel in the Cambridge area, close to Harvard. The decor is comfortable New England style, with comfortable pillow top mattresses, and delightful natural bathroom products. The bathroom mirror even includes a built in TV, tastefully furnished. Excellent restaurants for dinner(Rialto), and Henrietta's Table for breakfast and Sunday brunch.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Wendy S. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdevenne, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your visit to The Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, including your time spent dining with us and your guestroom amenities. If I can assist you in any way, please contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
2,001 reviews
Harvard Square Hotel
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
505 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,909 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Hotel

Address: 1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $236 - $740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Boston and a variety of world-class attractions, The Charles is a AAA Four Diamond Hotel and a proud member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts. Reflecting the eclecticism that is Cambridge, The Charles Hotel is a modern interpretation of New England hospitality with a thriving jazz club, the Regattabar, two signature restaurants, year-round farmers market, state of the art conference facilities, Corbu Spa & Salon, and a central location in the heart of Harvard Square. The Hotel is home to Henrietta’s Table, featuring “fresh and honest” home cooking, and Benedetto, inspired by the honesty and wisdom of traditional Italian regional cooking. Noir, the hotel’s chic, cozy bar, serves classic cocktails mixed to perfection and sultry signature drinks. Since its opening in 1985, The Regattabar has established itself as the leading jazz and world music club in Boston and the New England area. Corbu Spa & Salon is named after famed architect and designer, Le Corbusier and offers a harmonious escape from the stresses of urban life. A French influenced menu offers seasonal treatments with locally sourced ingredients. Open daily. Catering to internationally renowned business leaders, government officials, entertainment executives and leisure travelers alike, it’s no wonder that the New England Travel Guide has designated The Charles as the best hotel to “stay put in” when visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing