We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love this hotel room”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
tanida888
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I love this hotel room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

I had to attend the graduation ceremony in Concord. It took just 30 minutes from this hotel. The room is nice and comfortable. Just 10 minutes walk from hotel, I could find the best hot chocolate that i ever drank.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tanida888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    420
    134
    57
    42
See reviews for
447
231
106
568
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

I normally stay in downtown Boston, but since I had meetings in Cambridge all day I decided to take the plunge and try something different. I'm glad I did. The Charles is a nice property with a cool location right on Harvard Square (around the corner from the Kennedy School to be exact). I got in a night and there was decent night time activity and vibe, much like I find downtown.

The room was plenty big and comfortable. Good work space with broadband, Bose Wave radio, DVD player (but no rentals)...a lot of what one has come to expect at nicer hotels. Service was good. Room service food was fine but pricey.

Best part about the location was access to the running trail by the Charles River. If you're a runner you need to take advantage of that.

The one hiccup didn't effect my stay, and in fact raised my opinion of the hotel, but was kind of funny. When I got into my room I noticed the welcome screen on the TV had a name other than my own on it. I didn't think anything about it until the front desk called me around 11 pm to ask my name. 2 mins later my TV rebooted and showed a welcome screen with my name on it. Clearly they checked me into the wrong room. And to their credit not only did they not send the other guest to my room, but they did not ask me to move.

Next time I am in the Boston area and not needing to stay downtown I will stay here.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank Spamstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2008

I stayed for 2 nights for a conference at the hotel. Valet was great, check in was very smooth.
The rooms are very clean and modern. Flat screen TV,internet and aTV built into the bathroom mirror(very cool).
The bed was one of the best I have ever slept in, very expensive coverings and pillows.
The staff was excellent and the service was top notch.
I walked to several pubs and many stores in the area. I was surprised at how nice the area was even in the middle of winter.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable.
  • Disliked — 34.00 for parking daily.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NorthStarRealty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2008

I have stayed at the Charles many times, and generally enjoy it... HOWEVER their cancellation policy is horrible. The hotel had a reservation in my name, on my credit card. It was made through a travel agent that books all my travel. I needed to cancel my reservation and was told by the staff at the Charles that they would not cancel it, the travel agent needed to cancel it. This is a ridiculously STUPID policy. The travel agency is closed after hours and on weekends. The RESERVATION WAS IN MY NAME AND ON MY CREDIT CARD.

There are a lot of great hotels in Boston. Though I have frequently stayed at the Charles it is defiantly time to move on. I would suggest the same for all others.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank jackCr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2008

The location is ideal for those visiting Harvard. Smack dab in the middle of Harvard Square, you can get anywhere you need in Cambridge quickly.

The service varied from good to excellent. The bellmen and the cleaning people were very friendly and accomodating. Check in was sort of gruff. I checked in at 5PM and had to wait about 15 minutes to see if a room was available. Meanwhile, 5 other people checked-in while standing in the line next to me. A little odd - my company was paying $375 for the night after all.

Check in aside, my room was nicely appointed. Flat screen tv, large comfortable king bed, a desk, a large chair and ottoman. The room was exceptionally clean and showed no wear and tear. The bathroom was very nice. Large marble sink, odd tub/shower. A nice touch was the TV screen in the mirror of the bathroom. Water pressure was decent.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay. If you can get a good deal, i'd recommend staying at the Charles.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank adamtope23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2008

I stayed here for one night in January. The rooms are decent size with good amenities - Origins Mint bathroom amenities helped with jet lag.
The overall experience is not 4 stars though - service needs improving - check in, restaurants and housekeeping.
The location is excellent for Harvard and HBS.
The breakfast is good for the price - but a little greasy.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KL5500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2007

We stayed here for a weekend in November, Its located literally within a few hundred feet of the Harvard campus itself, and is walking distance from some really nice restaurants and stores. We were generally satisfied with the place...the decor was tasteful and the the rooms were comfortable. we loved the beds and the mirror tv in the bathroom. however we were dissapointed with the concierges who weren't too helpful. They did make some good restaurant suggestions (they are equipped with the menus of nearly every nice restaurant in the ares) but they claimed that certain restaurants didn't have any open tables...when we called those restaurants ourselves, we easily got reservations. We requested some information, and they didn't call us back with it. Finally, we just called them, and they still weren't able to get a real answer. We enjoyed Rialto, the restaurant in the hotel as well as Regatta, the lounge which had shows on each of the nights we were there. (The bar menu is kind of hit or miss, though.) They have a pretty decent room service menu, and everything we ordered arrived quicker than we expected. Overall I'd recommend the Charles, just dont rely too heavily on the concierge.

  • Liked — room (fluffy beds, mirror tv), location,
  • Disliked — concierge
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgetjetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#11 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#9 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.5 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Hotel

Property: Charles Hotel
Address: 1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5780
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Boston and a variety of world-class attractions, The Charles is a AAA Four Diamond Hotel and a proud member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts.Reflecting the eclecticism that is Cambridge, The Charles Hotel is a modern interpretation of New England hospitality with a thriving jazz club, the Regattabar, two signature restaurants, ice-skating rink (winter months only), state of the art conference facilities, Corbu Spa & Salon, and a central location in the heart of Harvard Square.The Hotel is home to Henrietta’s Table, featuring “fresh and honest” home cooking, and Rialto, recognized by one of the best restaurants in America by Gourmet, Food & Wine and Esquire. Noir, the hotel’s chic, cozy bar, serves classic cocktails mixed to perfection and sultry signature drinks. Since its opening in 1985, The Regattabar has established itself as the leading jazz and world music club in Boston and the New England area. Corbu Spa & Salon is named after famed architect and designer, Le Corbusier and offers a harmonious escape from the stresses of urban life. A French influenced menu offers seasonal treatments with locally sourced ingredients. Open daily.Catering to internationally renowned business leaders, government officials, entertainment executives and leisure travelers alike, it’s no wonder that the New England Travel Guide has designated The Charles as the best hotel to “stay put in” when visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing