We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Styed for some nights.... Had a greate time!!”
Review of Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

A couple of nights ago, me and my family were in the Charles Hotel. Just to start with boston is a beatuful city with all sorts of kinds of things to do. The hotel is super clean. Greate service at all times. Theres three restaurants/bar. 1) The Noir: The noir is a bar/ launge with music and refreshing drinks.
2) Regattabar: A nice bar/restaurant with tasty food.
3) ( I don't remember the name) It serves breakfast. Around the corner theres the greate legal seafood. I hope you enjoy yuor stance in the charles

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iniodri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your time spent at The Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time in our restaurants and bars as well as your interactions with our staff. Please contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com if I can assist you further. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles in the future.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,890)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,482 - 1,488 of 1,890 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Reliable Internet connection, Convenient indoor parking (a rarity in Cambridge). Restaurant has great reputation (though didn't try it this last time). Apples and candy always available at front desk -- and greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VKassardjian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at The Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed yourself as well as the amenities offered. If I can assist you further, please contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Charles was THE place to stay when I was a college student in Cambridge in the late 80s. Upscale, great service, nice (if a bit small) rooms. However, I have stayed there several times in the past year when returning for alumni events, etc., and each of my stays has been disappointing. The rooms and especially the hallways are dated and in need of refurbishments. The service is lacking for a $400/night hotel. Example: No turn down service on my room which resulted in my waking up when the sun rose (right outside my window). I called the front desk to ask if there was a turn down service and was told it was provided only upon request. Of course, when I called to make another reservation I was told it was standard. Another annoyance for a pricey hotel: the hotel bar stays open later than the local pubs which means the crowd of drunk college kids moves to the Charles' lobby after midnight. I was that drunk college kid 30 years ago, but now I'd prefer something a little more classy for this price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding The Charles Hotel. I appreciate your suggestions for improvement and will take these into consideration. Guest satisfaction is our top priority here at The Charles and we are constantly working on improving. I am sorry you did not receive the experience you expect and deserve from us. If I can assist you in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Charles in the future.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Charles Hotel is a very nice hotel within Harvard Square. Very clean and updated, but we visited during the hot and humid summer and their AC wasn't as efficient as we'd like. Rooms were very warm, even at night while sleeping and public areas weren't very cool, either. The only spot that we found to be cool and refreshing was the hallway to the parking garage where the executive offices are located. If they fixed the AC issue, it would be a top notch hotel, in my opinion. Everything else was great!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank labs222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to The Charles and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for informing me of the air conditioning matter and I have addressed this with our Director of Engineering. Please know that guest satisfaction is our top priority here at The Charles and we are constantly working on improving. If I can assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles in the future.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have stayed at The Charles 4-5 times a year for the past 15 years. It's better than ever.
Staff and service are friendly and efficient.
Location is superb - minutes from Harvard Square, close to freeway into Boston and to i90
A center of gravity - venue for business meals, meetings, conferences
Calm and comfortable atmosphere adjoining JFK park
Rialto restaurant and bar are excellent
Surrounded by other good restaurants, including Legal Seafoods
Regular refurbs and decor refreshing
Access to outstanding Wellbridge gym
No-nonsense free wi-fi
My only 'beefs' - the shower fixtures produce a trickle and there are too few power plugs in the rooms for today's multiple-device traveler

Room Tip: Corner rooms have windows on 2 sides. Most rooms are quiet - even near well-concealed elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooperpeterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your visits to The Charles Hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay as well as everything the surrounding area has to offer. I appreciate your suggestions for improvement and will take these into consideration. If I can assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles Hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I stay at the Charles many times a year for business and pleasure. It has become a "second home" for us. We love the Charles for its pleasant rooms, friendly, courteous and helpful staff and location. While it may be on the higher end of rates it is worth it. The restaurants in the Charles are also wonderful. We never use the pool or fitness area but they are top notch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hickup41742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding The Charles Hotel, our staff and your time spent dining with us. I am also glad you were able to take advantage of everything the surrounding area has to offer. Please contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com if I can assist you further. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles Hotel sometime soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

You can't beat the great location in the heart of Harvard Square. The staff is friendly and always helpful. There are a lot of restaurants on site,my favorite being Henrietta's which offers local, organic food at fairly reasonable prices.

There is no coffee maker in the room, but there is complimentary coffee and tea at the entrance to Henrietta's. You have to call in room dining for ice service, but it's usually prompt. They have free bikes you can rent and ride along the Charles or Cambridge.

I have worked with this hotel to book large groups, and they are very professional and accommodating.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor- it can get loud outside at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenStephanKapral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ejstefan, General Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Charles Hotel. I appreciate your kind words regarding your interactions with our staff as well as your time spent dining with us. If I can assist you in any way, please do not hesitate to contact me at aattia@charleshotel.com. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
Alex Attia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#14 of 19 in Cambridge
799 reviews
2 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
1,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#6 of 19 in Cambridge
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 19 in Cambridge
2,075 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
1.5 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#15 of 19 in Cambridge
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Hotel

Address: 1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#7 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $217 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Boston and a variety of world-class attractions, The Charles is a AAA Four Diamond Hotel and a proud member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts. Reflecting the eclecticism that is Cambridge, The Charles Hotel is a modern interpretation of New England hospitality with a thriving jazz club, the Regattabar, two signature restaurants, year-round farmers market, state of the art conference facilities, Corbu Spa & Salon, and a central location in the heart of Harvard Square. The Hotel is home to Henrietta’s Table, featuring “fresh and honest” home cooking, and Benedetto, inspired by the honesty and wisdom of traditional Italian regional cooking. Noir, the hotel’s chic, cozy bar, serves classic cocktails mixed to perfection and sultry signature drinks. Since its opening in 1985, The Regattabar has established itself as the leading jazz and world music club in Boston and the New England area. Corbu Spa & Salon is named after famed architect and designer, Le Corbusier and offers a harmonious escape from the stresses of urban life. A French influenced menu offers seasonal treatments with locally sourced ingredients. Open daily. Catering to internationally renowned business leaders, government officials, entertainment executives and leisure travelers alike, it’s no wonder that the New England Travel Guide has designated The Charles as the best hotel to “stay put in” when visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing