We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 Star service”
Review of Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not 4 Star service”
Reviewed February 8, 2008

I stayed here for one night in January. The rooms are decent size with good amenities - Origins Mint bathroom amenities helped with jet lag.
The overall experience is not 4 stars though - service needs improving - check in, restaurants and housekeeping.
The location is excellent for Harvard and HBS.
The breakfast is good for the price - but a little greasy.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KL5500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    445
    145
    58
    47
See reviews for
483
243
108
616
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2007

We stayed here for a weekend in November, Its located literally within a few hundred feet of the Harvard campus itself, and is walking distance from some really nice restaurants and stores. We were generally satisfied with the place...the decor was tasteful and the the rooms were comfortable. we loved the beds and the mirror tv in the bathroom. however we were dissapointed with the concierges who weren't too helpful. They did make some good restaurant suggestions (they are equipped with the menus of nearly every nice restaurant in the ares) but they claimed that certain restaurants didn't have any open tables...when we called those restaurants ourselves, we easily got reservations. We requested some information, and they didn't call us back with it. Finally, we just called them, and they still weren't able to get a real answer. We enjoyed Rialto, the restaurant in the hotel as well as Regatta, the lounge which had shows on each of the nights we were there. (The bar menu is kind of hit or miss, though.) They have a pretty decent room service menu, and everything we ordered arrived quicker than we expected. Overall I'd recommend the Charles, just dont rely too heavily on the concierge.

  • Liked — room (fluffy beds, mirror tv), location,
  • Disliked — concierge
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgetjetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2007

I stayed at the Charles Hotel for a couple nights on business and it was fine. No bad surprises, but not the luxury spot they seem to think it is. The room was comfortable, with a nice bed, but not particularly big. The architecture of the hotel is not at all interesting and the public areas are small and not particularly distinguished. The hotel does have an arrangement with a health club across the square, which is excellent. On balance, the price seemed high for the product delivered.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank London9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2007

Furious....I stayed at the Charles Hotel recently the ambiance and a few of the staff are very nice. I stopped by at the desk late in the evening to set up a wake up call for the next day. The young lady at the desk was not very pleasant(short, late teens/early twenties),seem to be in a rush. The next morning I did not receive my wake up call, the wrong room number was taken .Very dissappointing, for a place that serves professionals.The young lady seems to be more caught up with the gentleman working at the desk(African American) than her job.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — Front Desk Service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jr003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

We stayed at this hotel twice (July 2005 and July 2007). The hotel is clean, nice, and high tech, and close to Harvard University and Harvard Square, and the "T" - Boston's Subway's Red Line station. The rooms have phones and televisions in the bathrooms (the television there is in the bathroom!), and flat screen televisions in the room.

The first room we had in 2005 was very small - room 802 this last time was larger. The rooms have little drawer space, but are well furnished.

Be sure to ask about the convention rates or ask what the lowest rates are when you check in - they often substantially discount the rooms when school is not in session.

We weren't impressed with the restaurants there, which are pricey with great atmosphere - but you can find better meals for your dollar elsewhere in Cambridge or in Boston.

The service staff everywhere in this hotel were first rate, top notch. Whatever you needed was brought to your room almost instantly. Very nice. The staff bragged that they have had everyone from the UN Ambassador, to Nobel Prize Winners, to President Clinton stay there, mainly for speaking engagements at Harvard. The level of service shows - it was a great stay.

  • Liked — The great service
  • Disliked — The hotel is unattractive from the outside, and the food choices are subpar.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Frogberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2007

Hard to believe this hotel's star rating as it is just average with disappointing service.

Good: Henrietta's Table staff and food are great; proximity to T.

Bad: dirty bathroom/toilet upon check-in. We let the front desk know and requested housekeeping. Housekeeping shows up 40 minutes later, but was told by front desk we wanted turn down service and had no idea it was for cleaning (hence no cleaning supplies). Cleans with a face towel.

Also, guest room windows may not be opened for fresh air. Yet, the area outside the window of this non-smoking room (the 2nd floor roof) was littered with cigarette butts?

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WorTrav70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2007

As an alum of the big H, we always stay at the Charles for school-related events. The location can't be beat for Harvard Square. Henrietta's is one of my favorites places anywhere for breakfast ... the corned beef hash with poached eggs is sure to cure any hangover! If you're looking for 5-star luxury (and maybe a better value given the high prices during popular Harvard weekends), I'd go to the Four Seasons or Ritz in downtown Boston. If I had to pick one hotel in the world that is a close "cousin," it would be Shutters in Santa Monica (of course, without the beach views!)

The hotel: I love the upgrades to the hotel rooms ... huge flat screen tvs in the rooms with access to the internet via tv (for a fee) and tv "display" on the bathroom mirror! Linens are nice, though towels could use an upgrade. The bathrooms are just ok ... not overly luxurious but they do the trick. Consistent with its slightly crunchy demeanor, the hotel is into water conservation, origins amenities, etc. The furniture is sort of shaker in style; not too modern and not too traditional.

The service: ok, but not the best ever. Check-in and the bell staff were great; Henriettas is a bit slow and I hate the fact they don't take reservations. Though their "kids" amenities aren't as thoughtful as those at the Four Seasons, they had a nice goodie bag for my toddler.

Restaurants: great variety, esp. for Harvard Square. Noir bar seems a bit young, but Rialto is nice for a late night drink. Legal Seafoods is tucked behind the courtyard and of course, you all know I love Henriettas!

Location: unparalleled for Harvard Sq. Would chose the Charles over the Inn at Harvard any day.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ny traveler 02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,909 reviews
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
497 reviews
Harvard Square Hotel
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
929 reviews
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
827 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Hotel

Property: Charles Hotel
Address: 1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5780
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Boston and a variety of world-class attractions, The Charles is a AAA Four Diamond Hotel and a proud member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts.Reflecting the eclecticism that is Cambridge, The Charles Hotel is a modern interpretation of New England hospitality with a thriving jazz club, the Regattabar, two signature restaurants, ice-skating rink (winter months only), state of the art conference facilities, Corbu Spa & Salon, and a central location in the heart of Harvard Square.The Hotel is home to Henrietta’s Table, featuring “fresh and honest” home cooking, and Rialto, recognized by one of the best restaurants in America by Gourmet, Food & Wine and Esquire. Noir, the hotel’s chic, cozy bar, serves classic cocktails mixed to perfection and sultry signature drinks. Since its opening in 1985, The Regattabar has established itself as the leading jazz and world music club in Boston and the New England area. Corbu Spa & Salon is named after famed architect and designer, Le Corbusier and offers a harmonious escape from the stresses of urban life. A French influenced menu offers seasonal treatments with locally sourced ingredients. Open daily.Catering to internationally renowned business leaders, government officials, entertainment executives and leisure travelers alike, it’s no wonder that the New England Travel Guide has designated The Charles as the best hotel to “stay put in” when visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing