We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charles Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Amazing word can not describe enough :-)
I must thank you for your hospitality.
The front desk, consierge service and i want to thank especialy to Mr Duje.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wronghouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,616 - 1,622 of 1,860 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2012

No matter how many times I stay at the Charles Hotel, I still love the TV in the mirror in the bathroom. This is a great little hotel -- staff are nice, location is fabulous. The rooms are very clean, but dark -- hard to work because light isn't really sufficient -- and not huge. The Harvard chairs are a nice touch, but they aren't all that comfortable (though the shams on the bed fit nicely). Restaurant and bar are great spaces and they keep upgrading the public areas of the hotel, which means that some of the passe technology in the rooms (web TV? computerized metal keys rather than key cards) is a little strange. Very comfortable bed. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Changes2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Perfect cozy New England charm, the only thing missing from my room at the Charles Hotel was a fireplace. Perfect please to stay when visiting Harvard. Wonderful spa, Corbu. Great food at Henrietta's Table. Bose alarm clock. NYT delivered to my door every morning. The TV mirror in the bathroom is a funny amenity, but I do use it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zmoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Have been staying at charles hotel since 2000. Unfortunately recent experiences have been less than optimal. While the location and rooms are great.. the requested rooms were not ready for check in at 3 pm the last two times . Asked to hang around as the room was getting ready . Option was another room. but was facing garbage dump. Second time the manger who volunteered to look into the matter did not even respond back to respond but disappeared.
I booked again to stay there this weekend and called to request a 1 hour early check in ..only answer i got from front desk was " i cannot guarantee early check in "
If this kind of service attitude continues for a returning guest of 11 years I am wondering if I should stay there any more... And i am sure they are not bothered !!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaynjayaraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The hotel is centrally located in Cambridge and the facilities are top-notch. The staff fell over themselves to help out (our travel agent made some mistakes with our booking that the staff were able to accommodate and fix at 11pm when we checked in, late check-outs, emailing copies of invoices etc) and the room was more than I was expecting for the price (approx. $180 including taxes). Will definately stay there again if we are ever in the greater Boston area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heygirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Staying at the Charles Hotel is perfect for spending time in Cambridge on business or leisure. Considering all the lodging options in the area, this place puts you in the middle of everything for almost the same price as some places that are farther away from the action.

Our stay was only for one night but the beds were so comfortable that I wish we could have slept there a little longer. Even though Harvard Square is busy, loud, and usually crowded, being up on the one of the top floors left with pure peace and quiet. Our room did face the brick courtyard and had no view of the square but that was fine with us.

In the room, the mirror in the bathroom had an integrated tv. That was new for me and a neat touch while the rest of the room was of a neutral, contemporary decor. The two lamps I used had dimmer switches and the staff had a crib we had requested for our baby ready and made up in the room when we walked in.

As a driver, I was actually impressed with the well-lit and exceptionally clean parking garage below the hotel.

My only complaint was that around 3 a.m., I woke up with a headache. I knew the aspirin I requested wouldn't be free but I didn't expect to have to call down to the front desk a second time after waiting 20 minutes. After the second call, they brought it right up.

I would definitely stay here again but next time I won't forget my own aspirin.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jptruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The Charles was a pleasure to stay in, great location, beautiful room, lots of amenities, and the restaurants were great!

Room Tip: we were in 608 and had a great view of Memorial Dr and the Charles River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#14 of 19 in Cambridge
789 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
1,002 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 19 in Cambridge
2,059 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#6 of 19 in Cambridge
509 reviews
1.5 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#15 of 19 in Cambridge
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Hotel

Address: 1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#11 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $234 - $597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from downtown Boston and a variety of world-class attractions, The Charles is a AAA Four Diamond Hotel and a proud member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts. Reflecting the eclecticism that is Cambridge, The Charles Hotel is a modern interpretation of New England hospitality with a thriving jazz club, the Regattabar, two signature restaurants, year-round farmers market, state of the art conference facilities, Corbu Spa & Salon, and a central location in the heart of Harvard Square. The Hotel is home to Henrietta’s Table, featuring “fresh and honest” home cooking, and Benedetto, inspired by the honesty and wisdom of traditional Italian regional cooking. Noir, the hotel’s chic, cozy bar, serves classic cocktails mixed to perfection and sultry signature drinks. Since its opening in 1985, The Regattabar has established itself as the leading jazz and world music club in Boston and the New England area. Corbu Spa & Salon is named after famed architect and designer, Le Corbusier and offers a harmonious escape from the stresses of urban life. A French influenced menu offers seasonal treatments with locally sourced ingredients. Open daily. Catering to internationally renowned business leaders, government officials, entertainment executives and leisure travelers alike, it’s no wonder that the New England Travel Guide has designated The Charles as the best hotel to “stay put in” when visiting Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing