We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Cambridge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Bed & Breakfast in Cambridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Bed & Breakfast in Cambridge
Ranked #18 of 19 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Cambridge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

The only reason that this doesn't get 5 stars is that it is way overpriced. With those rates, one would expect a fancy hotel, but this B&B offers something quite different than that. Which is not necessarily a bad thing.
Location is great, with a 10 minute walk to Harvard Square, metro, and restaurants. With only three rooms, you actually get a chance to get to know the other guests. There is a shared bathroom, but it is very clean and organized. Rooms are very cosy, with great Wifi connection. The vegetarian/organic breakfast is amazing and gives you an opportunity to talk to the manager Byron who will make you feel that this is your home away from home.
The building is old, there is nothing luxurious about the rooms, and the walls are quite thin, but the hospitality is out of this world. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    3
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
4
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

A Bed & Breakfast in Cambridge is a lovely B&B set on the 3rd floor of a traditional home. My son & I spent 5 days there while exploring the city.
- Room: our room felt smallish because we had 2 twin beds, however it was extremely comfortable. In particular the bedding is super nice with down comforters and pillows. The room was very quiet and we (over) slept supremely well. The towels we were given were thick and most excellent. We had lace curtains and antique furniture.
- Floor: There were 2 other rented rooms on the same floor and we shared a common bathroom. This was never a problem. The bathroom was very well maintained. If a guest wanted to reserve it for a shower at a specific time, there was a small chalkboard where they could write their need.
- Innkeepers & service: the inn was managed by the owners Doane & Karen, and the innkeeper Byron. They were very attentive, available, and very interesting conversationalists. They know the city very well and can give you advice. Doane & Karen were away for part of our stay, and Byron did a splendid job. putting us at ease, cooking the delicious food, and going out of his way if we needed something. Breakfast was served at 8:30am and prepared fresh every morning: consisted of homemade delicious healthy items: crepes or corn flapjacks with yogurt, homemade jam or marmalade, pure maple syrup, fresh fruit as well as coffee of course and an assortment of tea choices. We appreciated a bit of flexibility in the timing of breakfast as we were catching up on sleep.
- Amenities: in the hallway of the 3rd floor there was a small library of resources related to the city and to Massachusetts: maps, guide books, pamphlets etc We used one of the books to plan an outing to the North End and look up the Freedom Trail. I enjoyed in particular leafing through a book on the local architecture. There is a gym just across the street that welcomes non-members after 6pm for a $6 fee (they have exercise and weight machines, and a swimming pool). That was very convenient. The wifi internet connection was reliable and very fast.
- Location. The location is a great asset. The B&B is a 5 minute walk from Harvard Square, walking through the Harvard Yard. Coming into the city, we had a free ride on the Subway from the Airport. Harvard Square has countless nice restaurants, bookstores, small shops as well as street performers. From there it is very easy to catch the subway to any other part of the city. Cambridge/Boston also have a well established bus system so it was very easy to get anywhere.
If we visit Boston/Cambridge again we would love to stay again at the Cambridge B&B.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aida Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

It is obvious that Byron's, Karen's and Doane's passion is hospitality. During our stay they listened, facilitated and helped us to find our way in the B&B, Cambridge, and the surroundings. We had booked the West-room which is on the back of the house next to the kitchen and in front of the bathroom. The rooms were very clean and cosy. We had good nights' sleep. At the breakfast we were nicely surprised and enjoyed of a freshly and delicious gently-simmered poached pears as starter and home-made and crispy baked Craps (crepes) rolled around banana slices and served along with yogurt and strawberry sauce. Heaven on Earth! We stayed for a week and therefore had the chance to taste the yellow and blue corn versions of the crepes. Our stay in Cambridge was, in particular, special because Byron was very helpful and had interesting and engaging conversations during the breakfast on health, history and life. He is a great cook and professional lodging-house keeper. He was also very flexible and kind with the time of the breakfast. Early breakfast was carefully and on-time served such that we could attend the conference avoiding the traffic congestion. We also got three worthy advices on places to visit: the Walden Pond, the USS Constitution Museum and the Restaurant ‘Tu y yo’ in Somerville. These places were easy to reach given the strategical location of the house. We had great time and hope to be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2013_Shirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I had a great time here during my stay in September. Byron was very helpful and made sure that our stay was as good as it was. The breakfast was great. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a place in Cambridge or Boston area. The public transit is also very good making it easy to get around town,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I spent a week staying at this B & B for a work trip- and I'd strongly recommend it to others.

IT's a beautiful old building, located in one of the most picturesque parts of Boston, and walking distance from great restaurants and Harvard Sq.

The owners and the manager also really care about you having a good experience, and making you feel welcome.

The B&Bs real secret weapon though is Byron, who is the live-in manager.

Each morning he personally cooks each guest a delicious breakfast of blueberry crepes or corn pancakes- and takes care to make sure that the recipe is adjusted exactly to taste. Far more care and quality than I would normally expect at a Bed and Breakfast of this type- and really made me feel welcome as a visitor.

It 's true that there is only one shared bathroom for all the guests and Byron- and this might be a problem for some visitors - but it is kept scrupulously clean. The rooms are also not particularly large - again as you would expect for this price.

For me, this is small price to pay for a really excellent, quirky and welcoming place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smithsmithsmith2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Having travelled for 24 hours in total from Ha Noi, Viet Nam to Cambridge, I finally landed in the small but cosy B&B late in the evening and was wellcomed by Byron Jordan. He gave me the opportunity to choose the room and advised me which room was less noisy. I immediately felt like I was at home with care from my family members and this feeling was with me for the whole period of my 6-night stay. It was Byron who prepared delicious crepes for me each morning at a very unusual early time and he has kindly took me around Harvard Square the first morning when knowing that I was very bad at reading map. I miss those breakfasts at B&B and friendly chat we had. I also miss the way Byron carefully washed his hand each time prior to preparing breakfast, the time he asked me to flip over the crepe together with him when I seem to be very interested in watching him. Those gestures might be simple to many people but to me, they add values to my daily life and convince me that happiness is simple things around us and that it is not neceesary that we always have to pursuit or look for luxurious things. I will for sure choose B&B should i have another chance to come back to Cambride. Until then see you Byron!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnhLanLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Suddenly without a place to stay, I was fortunate enough to get a room at "A B & B in Cambridge". The guesthouse exceeded my expectation, to say the least. The staff is super friendly and serves guests delicious crepés for breakfast! Everything is neat and clean; my room was good and the kitchen a clean and cozy place. While I stayed, it was very warm in Boston (around 30°C) but a controllable AC in my room made sure I felt good the whole time. The wi-fi is better than in most hotels I've stayed in, and the location is perfect - almost on the Harvard campus. I would definitely recommend the place to anybody looking for a friendly place to stay in Boston.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiggaSig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#9 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#12 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bed & Breakfast in Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bed & Breakfast in Cambridge

Property: A Bed & Breakfast in Cambridge
Address: 1657 Cambridge Street, Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A Bed & Breakfast in Cambridge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two short blocks from Harvard Yard, our 1897 Colonial Revival triple decker home features high speed internet, great beds and breakfast, and afternoon tea when you wish it. Our hospitality and local knowledge by long time Cantabridigians is well known. We promote green practices and sustainability including solar PV on our roof. We care about our community, give back to homeless service agencies and promote Local First. We have an ever changing art gallery of local art work. Our three bedrooms are on the third floor sunny and light with nine foot ceilings and share a bath. Dressing gowns, a basket for your toiletries, hair dryer and a full length mirror and handheld mirror, and good writing desks are in your room. NO smoking ever! AC is available in season as is a back porch surrounded by trees. We recommend free public transportation. Explore Harvard, MIT, the many museums, theaters and scores of fine restaurants a short walk away. Boston Common, Boston Museum of Science, Museum of Fine Arts and Boston Symphony orchestra are twenty to thirty minutes away by public transportation. We have guidebooks for you to use and a little library of history, poetry and literature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your A Bed & Breakfast in Cambridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Bed And Breakfast In Cambridge
a Bed & Breakfast In Cambridge Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing