We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome (almost) vegan, (almost) raw food place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Life Alive

Life Alive
765 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA 02139-3303
617-354-5433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 572 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Awesome (almost) vegan, (almost) raw food place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The best healthy food place in town! Yummy dishes for very reasonable prices. Only downside: long lines during rush hours. But don't let that scare you! If you don't deal with crowds well, go between lunch and dinner; at that time place is usually empty. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It's not the food, it's not the vibe, it's not the sheer kindness of the smile who's taking your order. It's ALL of it and then some: Life Alive is disarmingly authentic and disarmingly good - every time.

As a side note I must add that as much as I love rice, I thought I did not like brown rice. Wholefoods brown rice falls short in taste and texture, so many upscale restaurant brown rice dishes. Then I tried what Life Alive offers in its dishes and I realized: I DO like REAL authentic brown rice! That's how good this place is: they can take any ingredient and make it a delicious destination for your taste buds!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty, and apparently healthy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I am not a vegetarian, and usually keep away from vegetarian places - but this is an exception. It is tasty, unusual, and worth the wait in line. It is a good idea to call and order by phone, and then pick it up - the line can be long.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank URM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
179 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Healthy delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

On a recent visit to my daughter's college, she and her friends introduced me to one of their favorite restaurants, Life Alive, a vegan-vegetarian restaurant in Cambridge. Take the Central T stop and walk about five bloods north to the restaurant. You order at the counter and they serve you soon thereafter. I tried "the Goddess" bowl size ($8.95) which is a sumptious mound of kale, beets, broccoli and other vegetables on brown rice with a mild tasty dressing. All bowls come in mini-sizes (about $5.00). In addition to bowls, they have wraps and salads. You leave feeling very full and satisfied but virtuous because all ingredients are organic, healthy and non-fat.
Life Alive also offers a variety of smoothies, something to try on my next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sharkisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“The way a vegetarian restaurant ought to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Passing through Boston as I very often do, I looked up restaurants in Cambridge and trusted the reviews... no disappointment there! Life Alive is exactly that, a way to eat that makes you feel alive in the company of many others who delight in a healthy meal. The food is fresh and the dressings really tasty, certainly well worth the short wait (even thought the line seemed sooo long) at the ordering counter. The Goddess Salad I ordered was served to me at a table in the lower level, warmly decorated with simple furnishings. I indulged in a Life Alive Juice that delivered the complex taste of each of its ingredients; an energizing treat,
I recommend this place to all, vegetarians or not. No one will be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CatiTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Life Alive also viewed

Cambridge, MA
Cambridge, MA
 
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Life Alive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing