We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style over substance”
Review of Sweet Cupcakes

Sweet Cupcakes
Ranked #16 of 21 Dessert in Cambridge
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Style over substance”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

There are a few things that are amazing about this cupcake shop: its location, smack in the middle of Harvard Square; its decor (cute pink/brown theme and old movies playing on the TV screen while you snack); and some of the cupcakes, especially the seasonal flavors. However, the cupcakes themselves are good, not great; the actual cake leaves something to be desired, especially the vanilla ones, though the frosting is delicious in all cases. I'm not one to complain about cupcakes, though, especially when I get to enjoy them with a few good friends while "It's A Wonderful Life" plays in the background weeks before Christmas.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ljb0527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
east northport
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Could be better.”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We thought they had gluten free cupcake, as advertised. Come to find out it is Tuesday that they have them [from another baker]. That was disappointing. They should note that somewhere. We did buy some other cupcakes. The carrot cake and cream cheese frosting did taste amazing. Other than that we were not impressed. Might return on a Tuesday to try the g-free.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank annette1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun place, but Back Bay is better”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I think the quality at the Back Bay location is better, but this Sweet location is cute and has a fun atmosphere. It's a nice place to get a cup of coffee and an afternoon cupcake. There are only two table, so space is really limited. However, if you can manage to snag one of those tables, you'll be in front of a big window and it makes for interesting people-watching.

I had a pink lemonade cupcake and although it was good, it was nothing to write home about (and it didn't really have much "pink lemonade" flavor, either).

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank f00tballgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“THE BEST BOSTON CREAM CUPCAKE”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Although cupcakes here are a pricey, their Boston cream cupcake is worth it. Their cheesecake muffin also tastes delicious. They do not taste like the usual premade cupcake batter restaurants usually use. The staff accommodates the crowds that come here. They will hold cupcakes for you in case your favorite gets sold out by the time you are ready to take cupcakes home.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“How is this "one of the best" cupcake bakeries??!”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Read a couple reviews raving about the awesome cupcakes at Sweet and made sure to stop by and pick one up since I absolutely love cupcakes. The shop is adorable but I was not impressed with the cupcake! Chocolate cupcake was dry and did not taste like it was made from good quality chocolate. Icing was the type I'd expect on a grocery store bought cake.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth7887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Cupcakes also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Cupcakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing