We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Classic vibe with a modern twist and excellent personal service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Veritas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Veritas
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Classic vibe with a modern twist and excellent personal service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

My husband and two teens (13 and 16) stayed at Hotel Veritas to kick off our New England road trip in August 2010. I found it using Trip Advisor and was glad I did. I love small hotels—like a B&B with the personal touch, but with privacy. The Hotel Veritas was exactly that. Because the hotel is newly opened, our cabbie couldn’t find it so you might come prepared with the cross streets—Remington and Massachusetts. The hotel is elegant, yet modern without feeling stuffy. It’s got a classic vibe with a modern twist. The front desk is to the right of the front door, near the pull out cabinet refrigerator of complimentary sodas, juice, and water. A very nice touch. We had a double double, room 204, at the back of the hotel. The room was small as others have mentioned, but ours had a tiny rooftop patio that we could see through the glass-windowed door, making the room seem bigger. The walls and bedding were in luscious neutrals. Very luxurious and comfortable. We slept very well. The windows have wooden shutters, and there was nice recessed lighting over the beds. We learned from the staff that there is a shared patio lounge on the 3rd floor that all guests can use until a certain time in the evening. It was great to have six towels for four people. There were fresh orchids in the room and chilled water when we arrived. The carpeting was very soft underfoot. Our welcome letter mentioned that “The Simple Truth Lounge” was open until 11, but there weren’t any signs to indicate the lounge. The lobby and the outside patio, which has interesting looking metal chairs and nice understated landscaping, double as the Lounge. The front desk staff provides menus and are your servers. We enjoyed our glasses of wine on the patio on a warm August evening watching the bustle of Massachusetts Avenue pass us by. In the morning, I headed down to the lobby for complimentary coffee and some yummy cinnamon crisps. If I’d had more time, I would have tried out the pass to the Gym at Karma Yoga across the street. Instead, I relaxed again on the patio while watching the treadmill walkers from afar. The staff was especially helpful providing local maps, dining recommendations, and transportation information for Cambridge and Boston. It's a convenient couple of blocks to anything in Harvard Square. The staff is attentive without being intrusive, just the right balance for us. The Hotel Veritas exceeded my expectations and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TooMuch2Do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, September 10, 2010
You definitely "get" us. Thank you so much for providing such a detailed review of your family's stay. We are absolutely thrilled that you had such a great experience at Hotel Veritas and that you appreciated the details in the rooms, the lounge, and the patio.

We definitely hope to see you again soon.

Benson Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    106
    36
    10
    4
See reviews for
84
155
65
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Veritas for one night a few weekends ago and we were very impressed. The decor is exquisite and the service is wonderful. Granted, our room was small but it had everything we needed (shower, no bath though but the shower was perfect). We had a bay window and faced the street. It was a bit noisy but the beds were so comfortable we had no trouble falling asleep.

A nice touch was that in the lobby they have a Nespresso machine so you can make yourself a fresh coffee or latte. They also had cold juice and water available in the lobby and the staff was friendly and helpful. It was a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joewe61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, August 29, 2010
We are very pleased that you had a lovely stay at Hotel Veritas - and that you appreciated our decor, service, and amenities (which helped compensate for the small room-size.) We love the Nespresso machine, too...a little too much sometimes, as you will see from our well-caffinated concierges and managers.

Thank you for sharing your comments - and we look forward to seeing you back at Hotel Veritas on your next trip to Cambridge.

Benson Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithaca ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

From past experience, a visit to a newly opened hotel can be risky given the startup bugs. But the Hotel Veritas doesn't share that problem and it functions so smoothly one would think it is a veteran. The staff is superb, well trained and friendly. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJB6210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
We're not usually fans of all-caps...but THANK YOU! You're absolutely right that opening a hotel (as in any business) has many startup glitches - and we're thrilled that you didn't experience any. Some of us (me) have been around for decades, so we are veterans - and many of our staff are fresh to the hotel industry. We're all having a blast. Thank you for staying with us and posting such a wonderful review of Hotel Veritas on Tripadvisor. We can't wait to welcome you back to our new hotel in Harvard Square.

Benson Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suburban Phila
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

While we enjoyed the extremely comfortable bed, complimentary beverages and general ambiance of the hotel, we feel bound to advise prospective guests that the rooms (at least ours) are quite tiny and that if you stay on the first floor, be prepared for the room to vibrate regularly as the T rumbles directly below. Also, since first floor rooms are only slightly above street level, passersby can look directly into your room unless you keep the heavy light-blocking curtains closed, so you can't look out the window and it's a bit claustrophobic. The glassed-in shower was quite attractive and pleasant. Bring your laptop, as there is no computer available in the lobby. We will likely return, but request a room on an upper floor.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SomewhatSelective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Thank you for your honest assessment of your room at Hotel Veritas, as well as your kind comments abour the hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed the comfortable bed and shower, but sorry that you were in one of our smallest rooms on the street level. We look forward to your next visit to the hotel - and will certainly honor your request for a room on a higher floor.

Benson Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying five nights at the new boutique Hotel Veritas in Cambridge adjacent to the Harvard Campus. The hotel reminded me of my stays on the left bank in Paris at the Hotel Montalembert near Boulevard St. Germain des Pres. A tremendous staff, especially Sarah, the Veritas' Customer Services Manager who shared some very helpful suggestions for sightseeing and city tours. I found the Veritas an oasis of tranquility after a day of sightseeing. While the hotel does not have a restaurant there are numerous cafes nearby. Bus and subway stations are also near the hotel. The Veritas' architecture is a modern replica of a demolished building that had occupied the site for decades. This is all new construction and includes underground valet parking. Each guest rooms is unique with different sizes and shapes, they are beautifully decorated, comfortable and efficient. As a television producer I only wish the room's Samsung high definition flatscreen would have allowed viewing the high definition channels being offered by the hotel's cable-tv provider. Other than that, a great experience with the Hotel Veritas on my first visit to Boston and I hope to visit again.

Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank srschrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
We'd love to open a nice little Hotel Veritas in Paris....maybe one day! Thank you for acknowledging the tremendous staff - and for bring attention to Sarah. We agree that she's truly wonderful. Harvard Square is bustling with activity and we're pleased that you found the hotel to be a nice quiet escape from the hubbub. We will be thrilled if you stay with us again on your next trip to Cambridge and Boston.

Benson Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the The Hotel Veritas for 3 nights while in the middle of moving from one apartment to another. I could not have asked for a better place to call home while I didn't have one! It was so refreshing to be greeted by such a pleasant, accommodating staff. Further, the room was so cozy and comfortable. I live in the South End now but will certainly stay again for a vacation on the other side if the river!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
We hate moving. There's not much that's fun about it, except for the cold beverage that you've earned at the end of the long day. We're very pleased that you were able to stay at Hotel Veritas during your apartment transistion - and hope that you can come across the river again for another stay when you need a quick getaway.

Benson Willis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

Very nice hotel - wish I had been in Cambridge for a longer stay!
Friendly people, clean and cool rooms, great lounge & patio (and
stealth staff working therein). Traditional building (slightly small rooms) with modern renos and great hip-yet-chilled feel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank airhead747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Dear Airhead (may we call you Airhead?),

We appreciate that you stayed with us during your brief visit to Cambridge - and hope that your next stay will be for a longer period! Thank you for sharing your comments about the friendly staff and the "hip-yet-chilled" hotel. You've made our day.

Hope to see you again soon,

Benson Willis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#12 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#9 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Veritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Veritas

Property: Hotel Veritas
Address: 1 Remington Street, Cambridge, MA 02138-5202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Veritas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Veritas is a 31-room independent upscale hotel located in Harvard Square offering intimate service in a hip Cantabrigian setting. The entire look and feel of the hotel is elegant and current, but with a respectful nod towards our traditional and historic neighborhood. The guest rooms are designed with the fine detailing of an old New England residence and furnishings that are interesting contemporary pieces with rich fabrics and textures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Veritas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing