We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Veritas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Veritas
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

This hotel is amazing. Good location to Harvard and not far from the metro stop, 10 min walk or so. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There are little snacks and drinks available anytime you need, which is a nice bonus. Every time we came on or left the hotel is was nice to be able to grab a drink.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwinner15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    105
    36
    10
    4
See reviews for
83
150
62
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I was very happy with my stay in this boutique hotel in the heart of Cambridge/Harvard Yard. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, checking my bag for extended time, finding me a room for an early check-in, offering free juices and snacks, and serving great wine in their lobby/lounge/patio. The room was very clean, nicely furnished, and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this to friends/family.

Room Tip: First floor rooms may get a bit of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the Harvard Square metro station and most places in Harvard Square. I booked a queen room. I was placed near the lobby, but there wasn't too much noise. The room faced the road, and it was rather loud. The room was of decent size for European standards, Americans might find it small. There was a desk, but instead of a proper chair the room had an uncomfortable ottoman. Bath was fine, although the toiletries were sub-par. The hotel staff were overly friendly in the American custom, but did a good job all around.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jefeskisouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We really enjoyed our weekend stay at Hotel Veritas. We were visiting our daughter at Harvard and the location was perfect - easy walks to everything wanted to do in Cambrige and easy access to public transit for going to Boston. The room was small but charming and immaculate. We enjoyed our snacks and espressos from the machine in the lobby. The staff was helpful, knowledgeable and attentive. We did think $300 was a bit steep for such a small room, but we didn't realize when we booked that it was both Easter and Marathon weekend. Since making the booking I see an ad nearly every time I turn on my computer for "Hotel Veritas as low as $114", so I imagine better deals are available.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

A very nice hotel where the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. On tap complimentary water, soda juice, tea and coffee. Small rooms but immaculate . I had a petite queen which was lovely but my friends had a twin which was very small. Would definitely recommend .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a sweet, small, meticulously kept hotel. The staff service here is over-the-top helpful and friendly - I arrived early and they bent over backwards to get me into a room right then. The front desk offers fruit, juice, soft drinks and coffee 24/7. My small queen room was clean, cozy and nicely laid out. The bathroom and shower were excellent, bed and bedding very comfy, Wifi was perfect. The location could not possibly be any better - many small shops and cafes downstairs and up Mass Ave. Literally steps away from the Harvard campus and an easy walk to the Metro station where the Red Line can whisk you directly to Amtrak at Boston South Station in 15 minutes. Only a couple of things kept the Veritas from being the absolutely best hotel I've ever stayed in (it's currently #2 in my international roster). The fourth floor was whisper quiet during the day, but at night there was some noise, I assume from a nearby bar, that came in through my closed window until 2 am (on a Friday night). And, though this is just a minor thing, the clock was stuck on the wrong time, and there were no buttons to reset it so I just turned it to the wall. The front desk did offer to send someone up to fix it when I called for resetting instructions. That's how cool they are. Next time I'm at Harvard, this will be where I stay.

Room Tip: Try for a room as far from the street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

First, a breif overview of what makes this hotel so fantastic: the service is five star, the location is less than a block from Harvard , the rooms are dead silent at night, the decor is flawlessly beautiful, the showers are always hot and have good pressure, beautiful fixtures, full complimentary coffee/ tea/ beverage bar. Blowdryer is in the closet in case you forget yours. Comfortable beds, thick covers, a selection of pillow firmnesses represented in the beautifully arranged pile on the bed. Yes, the rooms are small, but in the way that the rooms of a cottage on the Cape are small. Its is a part of the location: a charming reminder that you are not in a McMansion built in the style of the past, but in a historical location transformed with great creativity into a fantastic space for the weary traveler. (I am 5"11 and felt comfortable)

Did I mention the service? They always answered even the most ridiculous questions with professionalism and courtesy. They remembered my name after the first time I provided it and used it to greet me. I work in Sales and Marketing a five diamond resort in Southern California, and the service this darling hotel provided met and exceeded all of our company standards. Kudos! I will not only recommend. I will come back to Cambridge specifically to stay here for a week!

Room Tip: I stayed in 106. It faced an alley, but since I was always out till dark the view was well suited to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arielseabright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#10 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#12 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#16 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Veritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Veritas

Property: Hotel Veritas
Address: 1 Remington St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Veritas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Veritas is a 31-room independent upscale hotel located in Harvard Square offering intimate service in a hip Cantabrigian setting. The entire look and feel of the hotel is elegant and current, but with a respectful nod towards our traditional and historic neighborhood. The guest rooms are designed with the fine detailing of an old New England residence and furnishings that are interesting contemporary pieces with rich fabrics and textures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Veritas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing