We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven is aparently a Hotel”
Review of Hotel Veritas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Veritas
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Heaven is aparently a Hotel”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

First, a breif overview of what makes this hotel so fantastic: the service is five star, the location is less than a block from Harvard , the rooms are dead silent at night, the decor is flawlessly beautiful, the showers are always hot and have good pressure, beautiful fixtures, full complimentary coffee/ tea/ beverage bar. Blowdryer is in the closet in case you forget yours. Comfortable beds, thick covers, a selection of pillow firmnesses represented in the beautifully arranged pile on the bed. Yes, the rooms are small, but in the way that the rooms of a cottage on the Cape are small. Its is a part of the location: a charming reminder that you are not in a McMansion built in the style of the past, but in a historical location transformed with great creativity into a fantastic space for the weary traveler. (I am 5"11 and felt comfortable)

Did I mention the service? They always answered even the most ridiculous questions with professionalism and courtesy. They remembered my name after the first time I provided it and used it to greet me. I work in Sales and Marketing a five diamond resort in Southern California, and the service this darling hotel provided met and exceeded all of our company standards. Kudos! I will not only recommend. I will come back to Cambridge specifically to stay here for a week!

Room Tip: I stayed in 106. It faced an alley, but since I was always out till dark the view was well suited to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arielseabright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    109
    36
    11
    4
See reviews for
93
162
67
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I think I must have had a crappy room because I was located on the first level facing the street. You can imagine the noise coming through my windows. I guess if you have a better location in the hotel, then perhaps you'd have a better experience. Overall the room is terrific but ask for an upper level!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimSamSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a nice boutique hotel just outside of Harvard Square in Cambridge, so the location can't be beat. Plenty of restaurants and things to do within walking distance. Check-in was easy, staff was very friendly, and there are free drinks (coffee, tea, soda, water) available in the lobby at any time. Room service is limited, but they do offer small cheese and charcuterie plates from a very good local cheese shop (Formaggio Kitchen), which you can have in your room or in the lobby/lounge next to the fireplace. They can also recommend good restaurants in the neighborhood.

It's in an older, renovated building, so it has plenty of character while still being modern and classy. The room I stayed in was well appointed, but quite compact. Free wifi and heated bathroom floor tiles were a nice touch. Only minor thing was that it was about 15 degrees out while I was visiting Cambridge and the heating was having a little trouble keeping up with the weather.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed here for two nights while visiting my son at Harvard. I loved the boutique feel of the hotel, which is wonderfully located 2 blocks from Harvard Yard on a quiet section of Massachusetts Ave. The hotel has been completely redone and is beautifully appointed. The rooms are very small, but the baths are modern and very functional. I loved the espresso machine in the lobby and the quiet atmosphere. You can hear the T (subway) running below the building, but you get used to it quickly. I did have a problem with my room and the staff was quick to fix it. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floors are probably quieter, but I had no trouble sleeping on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I was visiting my son who is working on his PhD at Harvard. I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. I had a king room which was a little small but well appointed. The front desk staff were fantastic. There's coffee and sweets in the lobby and a warm fireplace. I highly recommend this hotel which at around $200 was reasonable for Cambridge and well located 5 minutes from Harvard Square.

Room Tip: It's a 31 room hotel so book way in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Defiance, Az
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I chose this hotel for my husband when he had a business trip to Cambridge. All I can say is that I can't wait to go back with him next time! He raved about the room, the personnel and the location..plus, the price was right! This will be our choice in Cambridge when we return to visit our son at college.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
734 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,909 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
172 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Veritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Veritas

Property: Hotel Veritas
Address: 1 Remington St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Veritas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Veritas is a 31-room independent upscale hotel located in Harvard Square offering intimate service in a hip Cantabrigian setting. The entire look and feel of the hotel is elegant and current, but with a respectful nod towards our traditional and historic neighborhood. The guest rooms are designed with the fine detailing of an old New England residence and furnishings that are interesting contemporary pieces with rich fabrics and textures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Veritas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing