We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Hotel Veritas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Veritas
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel was outstanding and a tremendous value for money. Stayed just after the New year during a snow storm for 3 nights. The room was very comfortable, clean and the staff was great. I would certainly stay again.

If I had any feedback for the hotel it would be that the rooms are not the quietest. We could movements in the hallway as well as our neighbors music. It didn't keep us from having great sleeps and I look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCaptainHook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 517 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Hotel Veritas is literally a stone's throw from Harvard Yard and so is in walking distance for almost all of Cambridge. Great location. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

The hotel has been recently renovated and the interiors are absolutely incredible. Beautiful, cozy but elegant lounge area with fireplace and a small business center. Coffee, water are complimentary in the lobby as well as in your room (water only). Rooms are decorated beautifully, very stylish.

The downsides of this location are the size of the rooms and the price. The rooms are gorgeous but small, the smallest of which was really rather tight for two people. We have been there twice and, beside the bed and nightstands, neither room had enough space for a chair. Bathrooms were roomier and very elegant. Both visits were during winter break for the University so occupancy was low and so was the price, around $139 per night. When school is in session that doubles / triples.

Definitely worth it at the right time of year or if you need location more than a cheaper room. I would give it 5 stars except for the size of the rooms and the price.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from Massachusetts Avenue or higher floor to avoid street and underground noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suesguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here overnight and we both enjoyed the hotel very much. We decided to find parking on the street instead of paying for parking through the hotel (I believe it's 34 dollars). There is no charge for street parking if you are here on a sunday. We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff and told there was complimentary coffee, tea and juice whenever we wanted. Our room was on the third floor and facing the main street (I think we were room 309). It was a small room but enough for a bed and nightstands and a TV. The bathroom was cute with a nice glass shower. I will say there was more street noise than I thought there was but I think if you had a room towards the back of the hotel/on Remington st, it wouldn't be a problem. There were a ton of shopping right down the street so you don't have to drive anywhere if you don't want. The hotel is very close to the red line if you want to take the T. All in all I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank cottagecat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I was able to get a room on short notice at a good price and enjoyed it very much. Nice, cozy place, nice staff, nice free coffee and snacks, reasonable wines from room service. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: It's a small, intimate place. I got a petite queen room - perfect for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I am currently staying at the Hotel Veritas for my first trip to Boston. It is very well situated being close to Harvard University and the metro. The staff are extremely accommodating and the hotel (although small) is extremely well appointed with well maintained rooms. The lobby contains complimentary coffee, water and juice for its guests with very good restaurants within walking distance. The bathrooms contain heated floors which are definitely a nice perk on cold winter mornings. Not only do I recommend the hotel but I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gracefan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have nothing negative to say about my stay. I was only in Cambridge for one day (happened to be on my birthday) the staff was great,extremely helpful, polite, friendly, & professional. Although rooms are small it was perfect for me. The price is reasonable & the location is great, right in the middle of Harvard Square. I will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Cambridge!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed at the Veritas for 6 nights while attending a course at Cambridge. The hotel is small and cosy, and service was good all around. But the room wasn't very practical and I found it way too stuffy for my taste. I understand we're down to personal taste here, but big furnitures in a small room aren't very practical, and when you stay for a while, practical is important. Also, some finishings were already showing signs of wear and tear, like drawer handles and bedside lamps. Housekeeping was ok, but some things were bugging me, like coffee cups that weren't picked up, or the wet coffee stained carpet that met me upon arrival and which, although I notified reception when I noticed, was neither cleaned nor acknowledged.

Cambridge is a very expensive town, and the price at Veritas is quite reasonable for the area. Also it's walking distance to everything, which is good. But overall, this is not a hotel I would go back to, even if I can't real pinpoint what I didn't really like it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreanne75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 19 in Cambridge
1,947 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#12 of 19 in Cambridge
811 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 19 in Cambridge
2,113 reviews
1.9 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#15 of 19 in Cambridge
69 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#11 of 19 in Cambridge
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Veritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Veritas

Address: 1 Remington St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: $159 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Veritas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Veritas is a 31-room independent upscale hotel located in Harvard Square offering intimate service in a hip Cantabrigian setting. The entire look and feel of the hotel is elegant and current, but with a respectful nod towards our traditional and historic neighborhood. The guest rooms are designed with the fine detailing of an old New England residence and furnishings that are interesting contemporary pieces with rich fabrics and textures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Veritas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing