We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing negative”
Review of Hotel Veritas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Veritas
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have nothing negative to say about my stay. I was only in Cambridge for one day (happened to be on my birthday) the staff was great,extremely helpful, polite, friendly, & professional. Although rooms are small it was perfect for me. The price is reasonable & the location is great, right in the middle of Harvard Square. I will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Cambridge!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 510 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed at the Veritas for 6 nights while attending a course at Cambridge. The hotel is small and cosy, and service was good all around. But the room wasn't very practical and I found it way too stuffy for my taste. I understand we're down to personal taste here, but big furnitures in a small room aren't very practical, and when you stay for a while, practical is important. Also, some finishings were already showing signs of wear and tear, like drawer handles and bedside lamps. Housekeeping was ok, but some things were bugging me, like coffee cups that weren't picked up, or the wet coffee stained carpet that met me upon arrival and which, although I notified reception when I noticed, was neither cleaned nor acknowledged.

Cambridge is a very expensive town, and the price at Veritas is quite reasonable for the area. Also it's walking distance to everything, which is good. But overall, this is not a hotel I would go back to, even if I can't real pinpoint what I didn't really like it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreanne75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My daughter and I were in Cambridge for a doctor's appointment.
The first room would not hold on suitcase let alone 2. Literally, no space for a suitcase. They did change our room. They were out of cheese or what ever they say they have it the morning and for breakfast it is - go across the street.
So it is basically a room. clean, cute and small

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I visit Cambridge often and try to stay in different places. Some are beautiful but expensive, some - affordable but location is not attractive. Hotel Veritas is a great combination of affordability and location. The room was small, but was big enough for 2 people. Everything is up to date: decor, toiletries, bathroom. We had a room with a little veranda, which we could not use, because it was cold outside (November). I am sure it is nice addition when the weather is right. Also was very nice to have complimentary really good coffee, juices and water at any time. Location cannot be better: right on Massachussets Ave, in the center of all the good eats and attractions. This hotel often has specials on expedia, orbitz, etc. and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalinaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Truly enjoyed my stay here. Great location right in the middle of Harvard Square. Small but clean and beautifully designed & decorated rooms. INCREDIBLY kind & accommodating staff - goes above & beyond (thank you!!). Appreciated touches like comp water/soft drink/coffee. Reasonable price. Highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Hellojoesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My weekend at Hotel Veritas was a pleasure. The concierge remembered my name throughout the visit and the other staff members were cheerful, responsive, and professional. Even though it's on a corner of Massachusetts Avenue, it's extremely quiet. I slept well and enjoyed my cozy and tastefully-furnished room. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else when I'm in Cambridge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FrankOphelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I travel to Cambridge on business, and Hotel Veritas is my preferred place to stay if I need to be by Harvard (if I'm heading to MIT, I stay at Hotel Marlowe). It’s nice and quiet, the rooms are not particularly large but big enough, and the beds are very comfortable. There’s a nice little beverage center by the front desk, and a little self-serve business center if you need to print documents. The staff is terrific, consistently very helpful.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 19 in Cambridge
1,889 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#14 of 19 in Cambridge
799 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 19 in Cambridge
2,075 reviews
1.9 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#15 of 19 in Cambridge
63 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#11 of 19 in Cambridge
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Veritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Veritas

Address: 1 Remington St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: $132 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Veritas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Veritas is a 31-room independent upscale hotel located in Harvard Square offering intimate service in a hip Cantabrigian setting. The entire look and feel of the hotel is elegant and current, but with a respectful nod towards our traditional and historic neighborhood. The guest rooms are designed with the fine detailing of an old New England residence and furnishings that are interesting contemporary pieces with rich fabrics and textures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Veritas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing