We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous property and even better staff”
Review of Hotel Veritas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Veritas
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

What is to love?

1. the front desk personnel
2. those sheets!
3. those pillows!
4. soooo close to Harvard
5. the lobby decor
6. that crunchy torta thing in the morning
7. the level of service
8. nice towels

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss Yip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSlomiak, Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Your list of "what to love" is wonderful to read. It is even better to see that staff and service were worth mentioning twice. Thank you for your review.


Jack Sparacino
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Veritas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 506 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

The first room we were shown when checking into the Hotel Veritas was so small, that I was unable to wheel my suitcase around the bed. There was a closet the size of a phone booth and otherwise NO CLOTHES STORAGE. There was no way my husband and I could spend four days in such a small space. We called the front desk and were moved to a room on the first floor that had a chest of drawers and a bay window, thus having more room and adequate space for clothes storage. We also noted that every few minutes we were able to hear and feel the subway traveling beneath the hotel. This was not very loud and ceased from about midnight to 5:30 am, but light sleepers or the noise sensitive may want to beware.

The hotel was otherwise pleasant and clean, with very pretty decor in the rooms and lobby, a business center, free WiFi, and a helpful front desk staff. There are convenient tea and espresso in the front lobby. The location is easy walking distance to the Harvard campus, and reasonably close to Central Square and MIT as well.

The smaller rooms might be suited to overnight stays for those with a very small amount of personal items. I don't know if the noise is an issue on the other floors of the hotel.
Given the price and the noise, we would prefer The Charles for our next Cambridge visit.

Room Tip: Stay on an upper floor to minimize subway noise.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdnscrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSlomiak, Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We’re so glad you found our staff helpful, and that you enjoyed the esthetics and amenities we offer. You are certainly correct that our rooms are small, and that the subway can be audible from the first floor rooms. We do our best to communicate these aspects to potential guests through our website, and TripAdvisor reviews have been a great tool as well.

As you stated, our Petite Queen rooms are absolutely more conducive to a one or two-night stay. We hope you will give us another try – our King rooms are a bit larger and may be quite suitable for you.

Thank you again for your high marks on service and cleanliness.


Jack Sparacino
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Beautiful mix of old-fashioned building with comfortable modern interior, most comfortable beds and linens ever and big modern bathroom. Very helpful & friendly staff. Ideal location for eating, colleges, sightseeing, access to public transportation, etc.
Street noise is considerable but despite being sensitive, I only needed earplugs if I went to sleep early. Other hotel guest were quiet & considerate.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to street noise, you may want to request a room not facing the street.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSlomiak, Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

We are so glad you have shared your positive experiences with us and other Cambridge travelers. We hope the next time you plan a trip to this area, you think of Hotel Veritas.


Jack Sparacino
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My son and I stayed 2 nights while visiting colleges. This is a very nice hotel that is about 1 block from Harvard's campus and near restaurants, bars and shops. The hotel is updated and clean and the staff is outstanding. I spent a fair amount of time working and relaxing in the lobby (free wifi), where I ordered a glass of wine and some cheese to snack on and it was great. The reason I was working in the lobby is the only negative - our room was "Euro small". The room had a queen bed that took up almost the entire room, and there was not space for 2 people to hang out in the room. That being said, the room was updated, clean and very nice, just small. The room size did not prove to be an issue because of the great lobby, outdoor patio and location near everything. I would definitely stay not only at this hotel, but I'd even stay in my small room again.

Room Tip: I got my room using Hotwire, and that's probably why I got the "Petite Suite" (room 20...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicago_ILJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisSlomiak, Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your high remarks in all categories. We’re so glad that you chose our little hotel in Harvard Square – and that you would choose us again. We strive to have our décor, service and amenities compensate for our small rooms, and it sounds like we did just that for you and your son. Good luck to you both in the college search.


Jack Sparacino
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel is a great find. We found the room comfortable and charming, the staff very helpful, the public spaces stunning. I come down in the morning, take a coffee and read the news on the internet while my wife wakes up. Only niggle is the cost of parking, a little high at $34 a night. Otherwise, terrific hotel and good value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brazilconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was in Boston for a business trip but my boyfriend and I came early and stayed in Cambridge for a few days. The staff at Hotel Veritas was extremely helpful our entire stay: recommending restaurants, holding our bags after checkout, and retrieving my ring from the room when I thought I lost it. The room was beautifully furnished and the bed was super comfortable! It was great to have free lattes every morning! It's in the heart of Cambridge within convenient walking distance to Harvard and the red line. Overall I would highly recommend Hotel Veritas.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MotherFeatherlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had to stay in Cambridge because we were visiting our son who is studying, and chose the hotel Veritas based on the information in trip
adviser..

It has only 30 rooms so don't expect a dining room all meals on site or a bellboy but the staff, even though they are few, were extremely helpful and couldn't do enough for us.

We'll certainly use it again when we return next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
767 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
2,002 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#12 of 20 in Cambridge
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Veritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Veritas

Address: 1 Remington St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range: $214 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Veritas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Veritas is a 31-room independent upscale hotel located in Harvard Square offering intimate service in a hip Cantabrigian setting. The entire look and feel of the hotel is elegant and current, but with a respectful nod towards our traditional and historic neighborhood. The guest rooms are designed with the fine detailing of an old New England residence and furnishings that are interesting contemporary pieces with rich fabrics and textures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Veritas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing