We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, good location, teeny-tiny room”
Review of Hotel Veritas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Veritas
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Freeport, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, good location, teeny-tiny room”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed in room 206 for three nights. It’s a petite queen – by far the smallest room I’ve ever stayed in worldwide, including NYC and Europe. It was OK for one person but would be pretty tough for two if you spend any time in the room at all. Room 206 faces an interior courtyard and there’s no natural light. The room is quiet and away from stairs/elevator. There’s no dresser, but there’s a small closet. No in-room coffee or room service. You can get free coffee, juice and water in the lobby. There’s a small market and diner across the street. Easy walk to Harvard Square. Super helpful front desk staff. Good bed, bedding and sleep quality. Work station had no chair, just an ottoman.

Pros:
Staff is wonderful
Good bedding
Easy walk to Harvard Square & public transport
Quiet
Small outside sitting areas
Comfy lobby
Free wifi
Free water, juice and coffee
Robe

Cons:
Work station is v. small and there’s no chair (just an ottoman)
Tiny rooms
No storage other than closet
No in-room coffee or room service
Cost is quite rich for the size of the room

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We are so appreciative that you posted your review of Hotel Veritas on TripAdvisor - and very pleased that the "pros" outweigh the "cons." Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel. Your review is consistent with what we hear often from our guests: great service and location, complimentary beverages and wifi, and very small rooms. The "Petite Queen" rooms certainly live up to their name. We actively try to let potential guests know that our rooms are small by mentioning it throughout our website, as well as describing the small writing desk. For guests who need more work space, our business center off the lobby is available.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    110
    37
    11
    4
See reviews for
94
162
68
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Very nice finishings and super friendly staff, but your bed will fill almost the entire room. Also the "T" runs just below the hotel and you will feel the vibrations every few minutes. If you just need the room to sleep in, it should be fine. But if you think you might want to work in the room, good luck!

Room Tip: Probably on the upper floors is less affected by the vibrations from the "T" (subway / met...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us - and we're pleased that you found the staff to be so helpful and the furnishings so nice. You're absolutely correct about the small size of our rooms and the noise from the subway. We address these issues throughout our website and they have been mentioned numerous times on the reviews on this website. For guests who need large rooms and a work desk, we are not the ideal choice. Our business center located just off our lobby offers a bit more work space for our guests.

Thank you again for your very high marks on our service, cleanliness, and location - and we're sorry that the room size was not to your liking.

We hope that you will stay with us again. Our King rooms are a bit larger than our Petite Queens and Queens, so they may be more suitable for you.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Veritas for 4 nights while attending a short course at Harvard in late July 2012. I chose the hotel partly because of its location, but also its ratings on tripadvisor.

I was not disappointed.

The hotel is very new, surrounded by a manicured micro-garden and pristine inside. Staff were extremely welcoming, right down to the pre-arrival welcome e-mail and thank-you e-mail on departure.

I stayed in a queen balcony room, which was small, but beautifully decorated and had everything I needed. Being able to sit out on the balcony was a treat. Bed was very comfortable and the room had everything one might need.

The hotel has no room service, though coffee is available in the lobby as well as a bar and cheese/charcuterie.

My only wish would be for a coffee maker in the room (perhaps a tiny nespresso machine) to respond to early morning caffeine cravings, and perhaps some arrangement with a local bakery for a morning 'breakfast bag' - though there are multiple cafes a restaurants within a few paces.

Overall I had a great time and the Veritas fully deserves its high ratings.

Recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for writing your wonderful review of our boutique hotel in Harvard Square. We are so pleased that your experience at Hotel Veritas lived up to your expectation. We completely agree that the private balconies in some of our rooms offer a wonderful spot to enjoy a beautiful summer day.

We're always happy to deliver the complimentary Nespresso coffee directly to our guests in their rooms, so just call down to the concierge on your next stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We just spent the weekend at this extraordinary little hotel in Cambridge and had a grand time. Benson, Jack and the rest of the staff are wonderful, making sure you're comfortable and giving excellent advice on things to do and restaurants to enjoy. The hotel is just a short distance to the Harvard 'T' Stop, so you can get anywhere in Boston very easily. Some of the rooms are a bit small, but the total experience is large. It's hip and stylish, yet warm and cozy. What more could you want? We recommend it highly.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joeandrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you so much for spending the weekend with us - and for your kind comments about the service and ambiance in our little hotel in Harvard Square. We have such a great time providing recommendations to our guests - and we're glad that you enjoyed yourselves.

We appreciate your sharing your review of Hotel Veritas on TripAdvisor and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The staff at the hotel a great. We had a very warm welcome. Although some rooms are small, it was still comfortable. Close to the Harvard University campus.

The cleanness was nice. The only draw back was that there was no room service, but the boutique hotel is close enough to Harvard Square.

Room Tip: Expedia.com had great rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddiec0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
We love your description of our little hotel: "Very quaint" "great staff." This is exactly what we strive for. Thank you so much for posting your review of Hotel Veritas on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We chose to stay at Hotel Veritas while visiting Boston to watch the Blue Jays play the Red Sox. We decided on this perticalar hotel due to the reviews it was given, and were not disapointed.

Upon arrival after out long drive, which was about 10pm, we parked out in front of the hotel to unload our things. We were immediatly greeted by the front desk staff member, who offered to help us with our belongings. She also took care of parking our car (which is about $30 a night - quite reasonable considering the other options around the area).

The rooms were small, as expected from the discriptions on the website, but very cozy - plently of room for 2 people (and we were in the petite queen), and very beatifuly decorated.

The hotel is located right in the harvard square area, which is a very neat place to visit. You can check out all the small shops and restaurants, or walk around the Harvard Campus. It is also close to Boston, which you can take a cab to for $20, or the bus for $2. (we took the bus on the way back to the hotel afetr the game, and it was quite simple - about an 8 minute drive)

Overall, we would highly reccomend the Hotel to anyone looking to visit the Boston/Cambridge area. We would for sure stay here again! Amazing Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BensonWillis, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us - and we're so happy that the hotel lived up to your expectations. We are always appreciative when guests post reviews of Hotel Veritas on TripAdvisor.

We hope that you enjoyed your trip to Fenway Park - especially during their exciting 100th anniversary celebration.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Boston and Cambridge.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

A complete gem, beautifully put together property with all the usual boutique features. Extremely friendly and helpful staff complete the deal. Rooms are small but wonderfully decorated and luxurious.

However, bear in mind two things:

- If a party of two ensure you book the queen, not petite queen.

- If you are accustomed to a big bed, go for either the King (if available) or a couple of doubles as I had trouble sleeping as the bed was a little small, if very comfortable.

Gym is not onsite but hop across the road to the excellent yoga studio with fully equipped gym. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamesdotkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Veritas, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of Hotel Veritas on TripAdvisor. We are so grateful when our guests find themselves comfortable in our little boutique hotel in Harvard Square.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Benson Willis
General Manager
Hotel Veritas in Harvard Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,663 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
748 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,944 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Veritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Veritas

Property: Hotel Veritas
Address: 1 Remington St, Cambridge, MA 02138-5202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Veritas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Veritas is a 31-room independent upscale hotel located in Harvard Square offering intimate service in a hip Cantabrigian setting. The entire look and feel of the hotel is elegant and current, but with a respectful nod towards our traditional and historic neighborhood. The guest rooms are designed with the fine detailing of an old New England residence and furnishings that are interesting contemporary pieces with rich fabrics and textures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Veritas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing