We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Cool and Fun Place”
Review of The Friendly Toast

The Friendly Toast
Ranked #10 of 627 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Really Cool and Fun Place”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Funky decor and imaginative food and drink menu make for an eclectic experience. Food portions are huge so you won't leave hungry. Prices are reasonable and it is convenient to the Kendall Square Theatre. Lot's of locals frequenting the place and the staff is very friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoyS783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    149
    42
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sklarmageddon”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Omelette with bacon, ham, pepper jack, and PECANS. Wonderful home fries and what can only be described as King Sized Texas toast. Great atmosphere. Great find while on business in Beantown.

Helpful?
Thank JalanDooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Huge portions Quality food”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a great place in East Cambridge. New went for breakfast and I got the biscuits and gravy which were great. I could only finish half and I'm normally the one going for fourths at the Chinese buffet. The sliced potatoes that came with it were spicy and incredible. I'd come back just for those potatoes. My girlfriend got a slice of French toast on the regular white bread which I tried and that was great too. The place has a very cool atmosphere too. Stop by if you're looking for breakfast/brunch in Cambridge for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Horrible, the worse rice and beans ever!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Ok, so let me put this in context. Having been to this cool, hip, funky and quirky restaurant before, I was comfortable going on a weekend night just prior to St Patricks Day. The place was jammed and our waitress managed the order and all of us with aplomb and a great smile. Of course I should have gone with one of her recs, but made a last minute decision to have something different. My companions meals came out first, (50 minutes after ordering), a good 10 minutes before mine. I received what literally looked like a can of (undercooked) red kidney beans (covering the plate - you could hardly see the underdone rice with burnt chorizo (on one side only). I was so hungry I ate as much as I
could, and then told the waitress how bad it was. At that point I was no longer hungry. The cost was also exorbitant, $14.50, for all of this. I knew the sticker price going in, and although there was a mound of food, it wasn't worth it. I am sorry to be writing such a poor review, but frankly if you can't put a good plate of rice and beans out, then take it off the menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbc1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing American breakfast”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The food and service was so good I visited twice! the pancakes are amazing and huge! I definitely recommend the blueberry ones!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stef P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Friendly Toast also viewed

 

Been to The Friendly Toast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing