We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ethnographic museum with a manageable size.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology

Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.99*
and up
Go Boston Card
Ranked #14 of 76 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From towering Native American totem poles and large Maya sculptures to precious artifacts of the ancient world, the Peabody Museum is among the oldest archaeological and ethnographic museums in the world with one of the finest collections of human cultural history found anywhere.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great ethnographic museum with a manageable size.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This old New England institution has long been a fixture of the Harvard campus. It has great exhibits on the native peoples of the Americas. It's large enough to keep you occupied for several hours, but if you're determined you can also see it all in one visit — the perfect size for a museum, in my opinion.

Your ticket also gets you entrance to the Harvard Museum of Natural History. The two museums are connected on the inside, although their entrances are on opposite sides of the same building.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ii2yeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    39
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
1 review
“A must for "Fiesta Latina"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We visited this museum in October 2012 for the Fiesta Latina event and we had an amazing time! The staff and volunteers were super friendly; the food samples delicious; the especial activities an presentations were beautiful; the stands were very informative. I had never been there before and I cant wait to come back. I visited with 2 young children (3 and 5) and my 19 year old niece and we all had a blast. The kids keep on asking me when we are going back!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ElCaribe92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Another Must-See Museum at Harvard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

One of the best exhibits of the history of the Americas. So much to learn and see in these exhibits. Great for goths kids and adults.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dlawter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Discover Indian American, Mayan and Aztec history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Entrance buys access to both the Peabody museum and t he natural museum. An afternoon of discovery. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LeesaSoulodre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The well-planned exhibits, building architecture and overall modern flair make this an excellent museum well worth your time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology also viewed

 

Been to Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing