We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Longfellow House Washington's Headquarters National Historic Site
Ranked #11 of 80 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Longfellow House - Washington's Headquarters National Historic Site preserves the home of Henry W. Longfellow, one of the world's foremost 19th century poets. The house also served as headquarters for General George Washington during the Siege of Boston, July 1775 - April 1776. In addition to its rich history, the site offers unique opportunities to explore 19th century literature and arts. Site is now closed for the season. The 2017 season will run from May 24-October 29.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Although I don't particularly like Longfellow's poetry, this house is important for so many reasons, including Washington using it. The house is in good condition, the guide was informative, it has lovely gardens, and wonderful views. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Africanjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    21
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Historical sight”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

A must see sight, knowledgeable staff, tours of the house are very informative, beautiful seasonal gardens, and a calendar of events in the summer season.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gingrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Thanks for a tour through American history.”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was a walking vacation but we took the T to Cambridge to tour the Longfellow House Washington's Headquarters National Historic Site and I am so happy we did. I found it searching the internet for George Washington sites in Boston. I was disappointed to find out tours would not begin until May. I called anyway and spoke to an employee of The National Park Service. He offered to give us a tour. We agreed on a Monday at 1:00 p.m. It was an easy commute from Boston and a short walk from the Harvard Square stop. He asked us what brought us here. Was it Washington or Longfellow? This would help him gear the tour to our interests. He was masterful conveying what the house was like when Washington used it for his headquarters and what it was like when the Longfellow family lived there. I went in mostly caring about Washington but came out really appreciating the Longfellow family. So many interesting things about this house and family. I am so glad someone saved it. Thanks for the tour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Home of Poet and President”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This house was both the headquarters of George Washington and of poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.

Take advantage of your tax dollars at work and visit this interesting and beautiful home, part of the National Park Service.

We went on a Sunday when parking would be less of a challenge. It's an easy walk from Harvard Square T and buses, but parking is tough.

The small garden is nice to walk through. Our ranger/guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. I would not recommend the house for small children.

Please check hours as the house is open only seasonally. It is by guided tour only (free).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Longfellow House”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Worth a visit if you have an interest in older homes or in Henry Wadsworth Longfellow (Midnight Ride of Paul Revere.) Beautifully restored with many original items.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank betsyh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longfellow House Washington's Headquarters National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Longfellow House Washington's Headquarters National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing