We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”

A Friendly Inn at Harvard Square
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Friendly Inn at Harvard Square
Ranked #19 of 20 Cambridge B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great value!”
Reviewed December 6, 2004

A Friendly Inn is just that....FRIENDLY! And for the price there is no better value. Located just off the main part of Cambridge, stroll through the grounds of Harvard to catch a 'T' into Boston. Or stay and stroll Cambridge!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    42
    24
    14
    10
See reviews for
21
21
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, ON, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2004

We stayed at the Friendly Inn just this weekend. The room we were given was clean and quiet (it was a corner room on an upper floor away from a stairwell). There was some minor unavoidable road noise as this B&B is on a somewhat busy street. The location is good and it takes about 10-15 minutes to walk to Harvard Square T station.

There is room for improvement: the breakfasts were pretty sparse and consisted of dry cereal, instant oatmeal, and some "tired" looking pastries. The breakfast room was quite small and only had seating for 6 people (the B&B has about 20 rooms with queen beds). Some clients had to eat standing up (OK in Spain at a tapas bar but some North Americans might not like this).

You can be the judge regarding value: we were charged US$147 plus taxes on a very busy weekend in Boston.

Helpful?
1 Thank hobbes1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2004

Great place for traveller who don't want to pay inflated prices for fancy hotels. Rooms are clean and simply furnished, staff helpful and the fellow guests relaxed. 10 minute stroll to the T and 5 minutes therefter to downtown Boston. Next Harvard University is a great location.

Helpful?
2 Thank redsox367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 20, 2004

This was a quaint, cozy little place just a short walk away from Harvard Square and Cambridge's other local attractions. Affordable and welcoming.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 20, 2003

Excellent place. Cheap and clean.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 4, 2003

Small, shabby rooms with broken or cheap furniture and lighting and tired linens. The staff was friendly enough to manage a wan smile, but that's about it. Breakfast was paltry and poor, featuring frozen oranje juice, awful coffee, and truly bad pastries. We would have done better to eat at 7-11.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 10, 2003

Wonderful experience. Rooms were bright. Security was excellent. Only guests have access to the building. Vistitors go through front desk. I felt very safe and at home. Lots of restaurants and things to do while I was attending my conference. Staff very friendly. I loved the DSL in my room. I plan to A Friendly Inn every time I am in Harvard.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.7 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
500 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#9 of 20 in Cambridge
208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#17 of 20 in Cambridge
56 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Friendly Inn at Harvard Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Friendly Inn at Harvard Square

Property: A Friendly Inn at Harvard Square
Address: 1673 Cambridge St, Cambridge, MA 02138-4316
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — A Friendly Inn at Harvard Square 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Friendly Inn at Harvard Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Friendly Inn At Harvard Square Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing