We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gray House Cambridge Accommodations
Nearby Hotels
$319
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$261
$237
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charles Hotel(Cambridge)
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Sonesta Boston(Cambridge)
$354
$295
Sonesta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$256
$236
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kendall Hotel(Cambridge)
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$174
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$254
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$158
$134
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
24
26
4
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
26
4
2
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 57 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Great value, great location, spacious, relaxed environment. Easily accessible by car or public transport, walking distance to Harvard Square.
We enjoyed the comfort, the amenities and the feeling of being "at home".
Only drawback was lots of stairs (equivalent to being on 3rd floor); great exercise, but not for the weak-kneed.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estifriedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

The accommodations at the Frost House were perfect for what I was looking for. Karen,the manager was very helpful. The room was large, clean, and bright with natural light from the many windows. Having off street parking was a real plus. I would stay there again. Colleen Fisher

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmfcsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

WE stayed here as a family of husband, wife and teenage son. The set-up of the apartment with almost complete autonomy for our son enabled him to do what teeenagers do without disturbing us. Excellent arrangement.
Others have commented on the noise from people moving around upstairs and we noticed it but it was not at all intrusive. Much less than the distressed guest who was having marital problems and yelling in an apartment across the way. So nothing to worry about for people used to urban living (I imagine).
The neighbourhood could not be better. A short walk to the best coffee (Simon's on Mass Ave), the best chinese food (Zoe's) and the best pub (O'Sullivans) (both on Beacon St. And very close to Porter Square (great bookshop) with the subway.
The host acknowledged that the seating in the living area is not the most comfortable but promised that she is going to improve it. This is really sad because it is a beautiful space. Ask if it has been upgraded when you book, because if she achieves this, it will be a lovely place to stay. She could not have been more charming or helpful, so I suspect she will do it soon. Oh, and the kitchen is adequate but not well endowed.
For what it is worth, when the volcanic ash disrupted things, I had to stay another night in Cambridge and I had no hesitation in seeking a room here, but it was fully occupied.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IainDavidson100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BnBBay, owner at Gray House Cambridge Accommodations, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2010

Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay! We agree that the living room sofa is uncomfortable and will be replacing it shortly. Hope we’ll have a chance to welcome you back soon!

Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

This was a lovely apartment - fresh and bright, with carefully chosen furniture and decorations. A quote, placed opposite the entrance door, sums up well the philosophy of the place: "In our homes any items we have should either be useful or beautiful" (or words to that effect!)

We ended up at this apartment after the one we originally booked was not available due to renovations. We had wanted to be closer to the centre of Boston, but having stayed at Frost apartment we would recommend this location. You can't walk to the city area, but the subway is just around the corner, as are lots of interesting restaurants, local shops and so on. The street is quiet and full of lovely old Boston style houses.

The main bed is a huge king size, and there is a double futon in the lounge room. A brand new TV arrived the same day that we did, and there is internet access.

We had a very warm welcome from the host who also assisted us with directions on finding the place when we arrived in pouring rain and terrible traffic on a Friday evening!

Some comments that are not exactly negatives, but that some people might like to be aware of:
- there is no dishwasher
- there were too few crockery, cutlery items (eg. only just enough drinking glasses for the four of us, not enough spoons)
- you do need to walk up 2-3 flights of narrow stairs, either internally or via the fire escape stairs, which are a little scary if you are not good with heights!

However, for those of you who enjoy drinking tea, you will be delighted to hear that there is a real kettle that you can boil water in for a good cup of tea ( in the US, this is a rarity!!)

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyDnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

The apartment is nicely furnished and the host very warm and friendly. The location is also very convenient, in a quiet residential street, but right next to the subway station and big shopping facilities and numerous restaurants. For those who prefer to sleep in the dark, the sleep quality could be improved if curtains or blinds were installed to allow making the room a bit darker. For the rest, we felt very much at home.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard42Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews