We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty apartment in a very nice neighborhood that makes you feel at home.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gray House Cambridge Accommodations
Ranked #13 of 21 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 14, 2010

The apartment is nicely furnished and the host very warm and friendly. The location is also very convenient, in a quiet residential street, but right next to the subway station and big shopping facilities and numerous restaurants. For those who prefer to sleep in the dark, the sleep quality could be improved if curtains or blinds were installed to allow making the room a bit darker. For the rest, we felt very much at home.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard42Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 57 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Frost House. Everything was clean and we had more than enough room to relax. We were a short walk to the subway line (T) and also the Cambridge bus down Massachusetts Avenue. Since there is no breakfast served at the bed and breakfast we found it helpful to bring our own coffee and cereal from home. There are several stores nearby to also buy food to prepare in the kitchen. We also found several coffee shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyGChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Frost House provided me with an alternative to a hotel for a months stay on a business trip. The apartment was comfortable and had all necessary amenities. There were no frills (old tv, slow internet, dated kitchen with limited supplies and used furntiture), but overall the apartment was clean and comfortable. Advandages: location - safe and close to Porter Square subway stop which includes restaurants, shops and a grocery store. Disadvantages: old house so expect some night creeks, service (cleaning) for the month was at an additional cost and a mouse was seen on more than one occasion.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businesstrip40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BnBBay, owner at Gray House Cambridge Accommodations, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2010

Thank you for your helpful feedback. We were very concerned to learn that you saw a mouse in the unit and took immediate action to address the issue. The problem has been eradicated and we have taken preventative measures to ensure that this will not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Frost House was a great value and great location for checking out schools for our two boys. Perfectly situated with close proximity to major universities and colleges in the area.
Owners were kind enough to extend a student search discount which was an added savings and greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmb2934d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

very plain accommodation located directly under a yoga studio that has both early morning and later evening classes so it tends to be noisy with people coming and going. location is good but the unit looks like a student apartment. tv is so old it has a vcr built in. no frills here and little comfort

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bearsgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

We stayed on the third floor of Frost House and we plan on staying there everytime we come to Cambridge. It's convenient to Harvard Square, even without a car, and if you do have a car, you can park it in one of their spots. It's the upstairs of a house that's been converted to apartments. So there's a bedroom, living room, kitchen, and bathroom. It's nice to able to spread out if you're there for more than a few nights. There's wireless, which is also convenient. And no breakfast is involved, which was also good for us because there's a kitchen up there anyway, and so it's unnecessary. The owner runs a yoga studio and gives discount classes to her customers. She's a very good instructor, and I took 2 classes -- an extra bonus!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rd12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank 78Angelika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
1.3 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#15 of 19 in Cambridge
66 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 19 in Cambridge
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 19 in Cambridge
2,091 reviews
0.8 mi away
Irving House at Harvard
Irving House at Harvard
#4 of 21 in Cambridge
294 reviews
1 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 19 in Cambridge
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray House Cambridge Accommodations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray House Cambridge Accommodations

Address: Frost St and Roseland St, Cambridge, MA 02140 (Formerly Frost House)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: $100 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this comfortable one-bedroom apartment in a multi-unit house on a quiet street in Cambridge, with shiny hardwood floors and a simple, pleasant contemporary decor. This modest unit contains a bedroom with queen bed, a queen futon sleep sofa in the living room, a single futon, a full kitchen for light cooking, and a full bath. The private entry is from the exterior walkway via one flight of iron grate stairs. The room next to it can be rented separately or adjoining and contains a queen futon platform bed plus private bath. For larger parties, there is also one other apartment in the same location. The owner, who speaks English and French, operates a small yoga studio and healing center on site, and guests are welcome to join her for a class. You will occasionally hear students arrive and depart. Take a quick walk to Lesley College, a 10-minute walk to parts of Harvard University, or a 15-minute walk to Harvard Square. Residing in Porter Square, you will enjoy many restaurants offering a variety of cuisine's, as well as unique local shops. The Porter Square subway is 2 blocks away. For larger parties, there is another apartment and a guest room in the same location. You may reserve off-street parking. All linens and kitchen supplies provided. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing