We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Cambridge with very good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Irving House at Harvard
Ranked #4 of 20 Cambridge B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Odense, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place in Cambridge with very good breakfast”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here two nights during our trip in the USA and would have loved to stay longer! Irving House is located close to Harvard and the atmosphere in this area is so nice. The rooms are clean and nicely furnished and as prices on accommodation are quite high in Boston, we really think that Irving House is value for money. Especially the breakfast was great. It included more than we could wish for and everything was fresh and some things even organic. Also the free snacks and coffee during the day was a nice surprise and saved us a few dollars as we didn't have to buy our coffee in town. We would love to come back and stay.

Green Features: iriving House seems to have made many eco-friendly actions, such as organic food and sustainable single use plates and cups.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ditte_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSolem, Owner at Irving House at Harvard, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review! We love to hear what we are doing right. We hope to see you again on another visit to Cambridge...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    87
    45
    14
    11
See reviews for
64
63
50
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Staff was so friendly, our room (ground floor, next to reception desk, a bit more expensive than standard, but worth the price) was big and clean, breakfast was more than adequate, free WIFI, free parking (tight space but enough), really close to Harvard Square, and the price within reasonable limits. What else could you ask for?

Room Tip: They have free postcards, and they'll even post them for you. A nice touch in this Smartphone-er...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Halcon Viajes

Helpful?
1 Thank fenzof40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSolem, Owner at Irving House at Harvard, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! I will share this with my staff, as I do all reviews, to keep them on their toes.....
We hope to see you again on another visit to Cambridge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My fiancé and I decided spur-of-the-moment to drive from NYC to Boston for a day this past Saturday morning. Given the last minute decision and that it was a weekend day during the end of the summer, we looked at various "deal" sites in hopes of finding reasonable accommodations. To our great surprise, we found this B&B with one queen bed room left at a good price! We reserved it and on our way we went. We always preferred B&Bs rather than impersonal hotels and were very pleased to see it was a couple of blocks from Harvard University!
We were VERY HAPPY with our stay! Our room was on the top floor (which we prefer for privacy and less noise). A huge skylight and two windows accessing fire escapes made it an incredibly sunny room (which I love!!). We had a small but private and clean bathroom, free wi-fi with no signal interruption, and a very comfortable bed.
The price included breakfast which I found a great deal as it offered simple but varied options - from healthy boiled eggs and yogurt with fresh fruit to hearty quiches and delicious croissants!
My fiance was very happy that the B&B offered free parking - extremely convenient as we could go explore for the day without having to worry about the difficulty of parking around Boston!
Lastly, we enjoyed our day stay so much, we decided to extend our stay one more night and the friendly staff was wonderful at accommodating our request and keeping us on the same room. The B&B also offers a small laundry room with a clean washer/dryer in the basement which became useful when we decided to extend our stay.
There are also three outside areas (at each side of the front and by the door) where you can sit and enjoy the quiet neighborhood, or have your coffee/tea (which you can also get from a great cafe around the corner), or just read to pass the time.

The only item was the AC which like other reviews mention is for the floor and not independent of the room. One night we felt too hot but a midnight call to the reception desk had it fixed in no time!!
We will be back and recommend it to any family or friends visiting the area!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are sunny and the four flights will count as your exercise for the day!!
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent environmental-friendly practices! Signs in the room remind you to do your part on saving water. Separate disposal units at breakfast allow for recycling.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tania s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSolem, Owner at Irving House at Harvard, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your glowing report on Irving House~! I will share it with my staff. We love to hear when we are doing our job well. We hope to see you again....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I've stayed three times in Boston, love being in the heart of the city if it is with my wife and shopping. But when attending courses at the Graduate School of Management, Irving House is perfect. It takes me back to my years as a student. Its cosy, comfy beds, easy walking distance to most Harvardy things. Super. Staff very helpful.
Personally I went around the corner for a coffee and toast in the morning, I like the urban buzz.
If you want hotel luxury Irving House is not for you.
If you want to stay at a super B&B, go for it.

Room Tip: I like the first floor, and a room with a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Greenwich2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelSolem, Owner at Irving House at Harvard, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to let others know. Perhaps one reason you felt our guesthouse reminded you of your Harvard Dorm is that the house was converted to lodging in the 1920s just for the expanding Harvard student population!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeland Park, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Quiet, clean, friendly atmosphere. Awesome location. All staff were always willing to help. No complaints. I would recommend Irving House and will be back. The room was large, larger than a hotel room and private bath was huge and clean. Plenty of space for luggage, desk, side table and TV. Better than a hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed on the third floor. No noise, A/C was great. No water pressure issues. The stairs were not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelSolem, Owner at Irving House at Harvard, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and that you have paid attention to some particulars helpful for other guests to know. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, OH
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We would recommend Irving House to other travelers. Take some time to check water pressure from bathroom fixtures, especially shower. We really appreciated the off street parking and the variety of foods offered for breakfast. We also appreciated being able to request a fan for our room since the AC control is regional and not accessible in each room. We liked being in a fairly quiet residential area yet still within walking distance of Harvard Square and the T.

Room Tip: Carefully consider room choice given there is no elevator. The shower in our room had very poor wat...
See more room tips
Green Features: We completely support the 'green' practices. All of them!
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MrsDSpringfield_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelSolem, Owner at Irving House at Harvard, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your comments are accurate, and address some of the details we know guests care about. I wish I could say the air conditioning variations will be fixed, but the variety of travelers causes some to feel a room is too hot and others, right next door, to feel too cold on the same night!

While our plumbing is fine, there are moments of high demand when pressure can be less than optimal. Most of the time, water pressure and our solar heated hot water, are plentiful.

We are very pleased you mostly enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to our fair city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have just reviewed the Photo Tour of the hotel to make sure I am not being unfair but we just spent a long weekend at this B&B. To be fair I booked it when we were thinking of bringing our kids, and the family room is great value for Cambridge at reunion weekend (285 I think). However as a couple it ended up feeling rather expensive at 260 per night - we could have been in the Charles for 400! The carpets etc are trashed, the shower is plastic, I rolled into the centre of the double bed. That said the staff simply couldn't have been more helpful or nicer. The dining room gives a simple breakfast which wasn't bad - boiled eggs, cereals, some pastries, a choice of breads. All the coffee was flavoured but there was good fresh juice and I reverted to making pots of earl grey tea. But it was in the basement and felt rather cave like. It must have been a seriously sunny day when they took the shots! All in all OK but we were disappointed.

Room Tip: We happily walked up the three flights as the insulation on the walls was not good, so this meant qu...
See more room tips
Green Features: Seemed good - or at least as good as a hotel can be - lots of comments around the walls on low flush toilets and to reuse towels and awards on the walls. But hotels just aren;t really v eco friendly
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachaelSolem, Owner at Irving House at Harvard, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. If you were here during Harvard's commencement/reunion week, you did indeed pay those prices, which are at their highest all around Cambridge during those days. Most of the rest of the year, our rates are lower, and a good value for the Harvard Square area.
A small correction should be noted: we have one flavored and one regular coffee, and only added the flavored one recently. The regular coffee is a ark roast and not friendly to all tastebuds.
While I could not access the rest of your comments regarding the insulation, I do know that sound transmission is an unsolved problem. Though I continue to seek solutions, I have found this to be a condition in most places I stay, even those purpose built for overnight accommodations!
We hope you otherwise enjoyed your visit to Cambridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.7 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
502 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
958 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
1.8 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irving House at Harvard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irving House at Harvard

Property: Irving House at Harvard
Address: 24 Irving Street, Cambridge, MA 02138-3007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Irving House at Harvard 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irving House is a large bed and breakfast in Cambridge offering uniquely cozy accommodations and a variety of amenities for our guests to enjoy. Built as a two-family house in the 1890s, Irving House was converted to hotel use in the 1920s with 44 guest rooms in a variety of sizes. There are many room types to accommodate the ranging needs of our guests, from individual travelers to families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Irving House at Harvard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Irving House At Harvard Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing