We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveler rating
131
27
4
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
27
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews charles suite granola whole foods other guests sitting room florence room across the street antique furniture gracious hosts prospect street lovely victorian like sleeping on a cloud eggs made to order dressing gowns marble bathroom breakfasts were wonderful each morning
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 163 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I strongly recommend this B&B for the position, close to the T-Line (red Line) station and good for visiting Boston, for the accomodation, clean and peacefull, and for the kindness of the owner, Erik, that delights each guest with a fantastic breakfast (what a omelettes!).

Moreover a good choice in terms of Quality/Price.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riccardozan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prospectpl, Owner at Prospect Place Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Glad you enjoyed the omelet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Eric is a wondeful host. Hot breakfast each day with eggs to order or french toast and fresh pastries. I cant imagine how anyone could leave breakfast hungry. Prospect Place is in a great spot for a trip to Boston. In the middle of Harvard and MIT, but far enough away from both that you dont get the crowds from the colleges. Very convienient to the subway and right on a busline. Park your car and leave it. Nicely decorated with period furnishings, even a grand piano in the parlor. The next time we stay in Boston, it will definitely be at Prospect Place.

Room tip: Madeline room has a large dual head shower, comfortable full bed and plenty of pillows. A/C worked well and the room was in the rear of the hose, nice and quiet.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plowboy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I had never been to Boston before and found Prospect Place through Tripadvisor reviews. Though it is in Cambridge, it is only a few T stops away from Boston and many of the tourist sites, so it was conveniently located. The price was also right - I wanted to spend less than $200 a night on my accommodations, which was practically impossible in Boston, but here I could do so and also have a great breakfast included. (You could also save money by grabbing a couple items from the Whole Foods across the street for meals instead of eating out if you were on a tighter budget.)

I stayed in the Madeline Room, which is on the top floor and had several windows. The room was clean and well-appointed and the bed was very comfortable. The shower (w/o bathtub) was enormous and had a double showerhead, which is great if you need to refresh after a long day of touring!

A few of the other reviews noted the temperature, the breakfast, and the neighbors. In terms of the temperature, my room was appointed with AC, but I did not need to adjust or change it although it was well into the 80s during the day. The breakfast options were varied on both days, and I was under the impression that the hosts would accommodate any food sensitivities/allergies if their guests had any. The general offering during my stay was eggs, fresh bread (pecan raisin), granola with yogurt or milk, fresh fruit salad, tea, coffee, milk, and juice. French toast (with maple syrup) was offered on the second day as was hot chocolate.

As for the neighbors, you could definitely hear them at times. There seemed to be a day care or school nearby, so I just shut my windows then to lower the sound. The other neighbors (the house next door) seemed to be outside a lot and they were also audible at times. I equate this to what can also happen at a hotel - when you can sometimes hear people in nearby rooms. Here, it was more what you could hear outside - I never once heard the other people staying at the B&B, though it was at full capacity.

Another item of note: the Madeline Room cannot be locked. There are only four rooms in the B&B, so at most there would only be 8 guests in the entire place, but it still made me a bit uncomfortable. The hosts assured me that my belongings would be safe since the B&B itself is well locked up and live there. While I found that to be true, I would have definitely preferred the option of being able to lock up my room.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank surlarue35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We visited Cambridge/Boston area and couldn't have picked a better place for convenience, value and hospitality. The breakfasts were delightful and with Cental Station just a few blocks away, you have access to anywhere in the city.

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OKJeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prospectpl, Owner at Prospect Place Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

So glad everything worked out to your liking. And it was nice to see some guests from Oklahoma again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We just left Prospect Place in Cambridge. Even though the owner was out of town, Marianne the B&B hostess was Wonderful. Room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was really good AND it was so convenient to everything in Cambridge and Boston because the T is just a block or so away. Loved chatting with other guests in the mornings and look forward to going back.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews