We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now this is an Irish Pub! (in America)”
Review of The Druid

The Druid
Ranked #28 of 627 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Now this is an Irish Pub! (in America)”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Can't beat this place! Food, drinks, service, live Irish fiddlle jam sessions. Really good burgers, shephers pie, etc. Busy, noisy, fun, camaraderie, even children. The waiters and bartenders are totally on the ball. An hour at the Druid is like a mini-vacation from daily life.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tripjktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    43
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
316 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Small but super legit”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Awesome tiny place with real craic to it; feels like you're in Ireland. There was a dude in the corner playing a fiddle and another person had a baby and a dog. Awesome. Great Guinness and the food smelled incredible. Definitely coming back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riptor3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lots of Good Food!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The place is small and the food is good so I imagine it gets crowded. We got there early on a Thursday night and had no problem getting a table. They have a nice beer selection. My friend and I were impressed with the portion size of our first course: he got the oxtail soup and I had a tomato salad with a yummy balsamic dressing. We both ordered the fish and chips and agreed that, while the "chips" were not quite right (they should have been wide cut potatoes instead of thin french fries), the fish itself was fantastic! I could not finish my portion. We both left quite full. I'll remember this place for next time I'm in Boston/Cambridge and I do recommend it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aibutiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
533 reviews
387 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Authentic Irish spot with great food and beer”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Went to The Druid for dinner during a recent trip to Boston. It's not a big place so seating can get tight, but they did a good job of finding us a table as soon as they could. The beer selection is solid as to be expected, but the food is what really impressed me. I'm not usually a huge fan of Irish food, but the fish sandwich and fish chowdah were delicious! The prices were not bad either for the quality. In addition to that, the servers are authentic Irish guys who are pretty friendly, and there's even a well behaved(and very cautious) little dog that walks around the tables, as if he's supervising the restaurant. Overall, I really enjoyed this restaurant and would certainly return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjmoney44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing fish 'n chips”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

The Druid has quietly become one of our favorite spots. The food and service are both excellent, and it's also a great place to grab drinks. I recommend the fish (sandwich or plate) or the veggie burger. Get a Guiness to, they pour it just right.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Druid also viewed

 

Been to The Druid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing