We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service!”

Cambridge Bed and Muffin
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cambridge Bed and Muffin
Ranked #8 of 21 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Because of the great reviews on Tripadvisor we had booked the three rooms in the B&B for two nights for a family reunion in Boston. Unfortunately we had to change our plans and cancel two out of three rooms for the last night and while doing so the owner mentioned that we could only be two in each room even though there is room for three in them. This would mean that we could not stay all of us. I explained this to the owner but she "got uncomfortable with too many changes" and suggested that we find another place. What kind of customer service is that? I give this a very bad review, even tho we didn't even stay there, as she had no sense of understanding or accommodating her customers!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
8  Thank Sessa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 34 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just got home from Boston, and had to write about the Bed and Muffin B&B. Great location for Cambridge (a walk away from Central Square) and just a few minutes drive to get to the heart of Boston. The entranceway is enchanting, with plantings on both sides of a secluded walkway. Our room was spotless, well furnished, comfortable beds/pillows, and lovely bed linens. There are no tv's (which was just fine with me!) and we shared a bathroom - but never saw the other folks on our floor. The staircase is a bit narrow, but the house cat was sitting there to greet us when we arrived. Breakfast was a "do it yourself" affair, but there was plenty to eat, including cereal, yogurt, granolas, fruit, juice, and various types of toasting breads. The coffee was ready to be made in a french press sitting on the table - just had to boil the water! Lots of info about every part of Boston for the traveler. One of the nicest parts of staying at a B&B is the people you meet at breakfast, and this was true this past weekend! Thank you, Sarah, for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: First floor room is off of the kitchen, there are 2 rooms on the 2nd floor, both lovely, and no clue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I wanted a place close to our daughter's apartment in Boston. The Cambridge Bed and Muffin was just right for us. It is an easy walking distance to public transportation, so we didn't need a car. The room was really big, and the bed outstandingly comfortable. There is a shared bath, but we never met anyone else in it the whole time, and you only share with one other room. Breakfast was delightful. Juice and milk and lots of cereal and granola choices, with dried and fresh fruit, yogurt, and delicious breads and lots of spreads from Nutella to peanut butter and lots of flavors of jam and jelly. The coffee comes fresh in a French Press, and there are about 30 different teas to choose from. The breakfast table is always set and ready whenever you are, and there is a lovely garden with table and chairs if the weather is nice to enjoy eating outside too. Trays are available if you want to eat in your room as well. The rooms have AC, which is a big help in the summer heat, and the room was very quiet. We didn't hear other guests or road noise the entire time. Sarah is a kind host and there are lots of helpful things in the kitchen like restaurant recommendations and a phone listing for taxi's and tons of guide books and maps of the Boston area. Great place to stay: a real home away from home. We'll be back!

Room Tip: There are two rooms on the third floor, two on the second floor, and one on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We have stayed at this delightful B&B a couple of times a year for the last couple of years whenever we come to visit family who live nearby. It is such a lovely place to stay! The host has thought of every detail. Very comfortable beds and quiet rooms. Sharing a bathroom has never been an issue. The breakfast is self-serve and the choices are delicious. The host has guidebooks and maps and museum information readily available. The location is near Central Square, several parks, and the river. It is a pleasure to stay there, and we look forward to our next visit to Cambridge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveling2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This place was so great it finally got me to sign up for TripAdvisor.

I stayed here one night because my inlaws were coming to town and I live in a very small apartment nearby. So basically I just needed a bed. It was perfect for that, but would be great for so much more.

The attention to detail for travelers was outstanding. Bathrooms are stocked with toothbrushes and the like, everything you could possibly forget. The bed was super comfy and the room was huge. It was easy to arrive late, sleep and leave in the morning (had to get to work). I originally booked for three nights, but then was called out of town for work most of the weekend. The owner had no problem adjusting my stay.

There's tons of great maps, travel literature and local things-to-do magazines available. Being local, I didn't need that stuff, but it was set up with a curated eye.

A decidedly quiet place, there are no tvs, but there is free wifi. And the rate was great. I always offer my pullout couch when friends visit from out of town, but in the case that they need more privacy, I'll be recommending this place over hotels.

Didn't stay for food, but it looked good. Essentially a self-serve breakfast situation.

Worth noting that the Riverside Pizza bar and restaurant around the corner is a good place for cheap, tasty food and drinks, as well as Keno (a sort of video lottery game in Massachusetts bars. Check it out!)

Room Tip: All the rooms look good, but the one on the first floor is right next to the kitchen and entry, so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mrchevyceleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Recently my daughter and I stayed with Sarah Smith at her delightful Cambridge Bed and Muffin, a bed and breakfast in Cambridge.We enjoyed the pleasantly appointed rooms and comfortable beds which afforded us wonderful sleeps.The convenience of having the Red Line of the Boston Transportation system so close was an added bonus.We especially enjoyed Sarah's attention to detail , her knowledge of things to do in Boston and her thoughtfulness in making sure our stay was excellent.We will be sure to tell our friends.The Cambridge Bed and Muffin may well be a new destination for folks from Halifax,NS and Toronto,Ontario. Thanks so much for your hospitality Sarah!

Beth McGee,Seabright,NS

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BethMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We loved staying in Sarah's clean and whimsical home for 4 nights....Our third floor room was cozy and clean, and it was just fine having the bathroom across the hall (didn't ever seem to run into anyone). The shower is great, and Sarah has loads of shampoos, soaps, toothbrushes, toothpaste, tissues, Qtips, extra towels, or anything else one may have forgotten. There is a marvelous breakfast each morning in the tea room; I was there on business, Doug was there to visit his sons, and we met a nice couple who were delivering their son to Harvard. We felt safe, slept well, and were given great directions and assistance by Sarah, who is a long-time resident of Cambridge. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone who would not be inclined to stay at a "corporate" hotel. This was "just like home"! We were also told by friends that the lobster-stand next door, called "Alive & Kicking" is the best lobster-sandwich shop in the Boston area, although we ran out of time and missed going there.......

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Jeannette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.8 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#14 of 19 in Cambridge
803 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harding House
Harding House
#2 of 21 in Cambridge
164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Irving House at Harvard
Irving House at Harvard
#4 of 21 in Cambridge
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mary Prentiss Inn
Mary Prentiss Inn
#1 of 21 in Cambridge
332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Whitman House
Whitman House
#5 of 21 in Cambridge
41 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Bed and Muffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Bed and Muffin

Address: 267 Putnam Ave, Cambridge, MA 02139-3725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello Kitty Accessories. Close to Harvard Square, Central Square, Harvard University and MIT. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cambridge Bed And Muffin Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing