We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMC hike”

Mt. Auburn Cemetery
Ranked #1 of 76 things to do in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Mount Auburn Cemetery was founded in 1831 as America's first landscaped cemetery. A National Historic Landmark, its renowned landscape inspired the creation of the nation's public parks. Mount Auburn was designated an Important Bird Area by the Massachusetts Audubon Society, reinforcing its status as a significant wildlife sanctuary. Still an active burial place, Mount Auburn Cemetery provides comfort and solace to countless families. The Friends of Mount Auburn Cemetery was established in 1986 to assist in the conservation of the Cemetery's natural beauty and to promote the appreciation of its cultural, historic, and natural resources. Over 100 public programs are offered annually by the Friends to educate, enrich, and inspire the community. The Friends seeks financial support for education and interpretive programs and materials for the public, specific cultural projects, and operational support for horticultural rejuvenation and the preservation of the historic monuments, structures, and archival artifacts and records.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AMC hike”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had never been here before and walked through as part of an AMC hike. It's a very beautiful place with so many different kinds of shrubs and trees. There was a public rest room open and it was clean. We walked to the tower in the picture and the view from up there is really great.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jojoeventer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    85
    10
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm in the Bustling City”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I had an inspiring walk here this fall to see the turning leaves. It is a surprising oasis of calm in the bustling City of Cambridge. I was surprised to learn that there were a few celebrities (revolutionary era) buried here and they have a self guided tour of the graveyard which very interesting.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank techadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great grounds”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

beautiful grounds. i went for a memorial service and it was very nice and the cemetery is absolutly gorgeous.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sdivison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hidden GEM - Awesome Anytime of year - Great Skyline Views from the Observation Tower.”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

A great place to take a walk. Yes you heard it, a walk i a cemetery? Am I nuts you might say? Well not exactly. Mt Auburn Cemetery has been wowing tourists and locals alike for years. Convenient to the bus line to Watertown from Harvard Station, and a short walk down a side street from Fresh Pond pathways, Mt Auburn Cemetery has miles of winding paths and interesting gravestones to look at, a variety of flowering and non flowering trees, local wildlife, birds, and a great view from the top of the observatory (A little known tourist attraction) of the Boston skyline and Harvard Stadium/University. Great in the Spring time - Summer - Fall (Even Winter). Bring your camera. A photographer's paradise. Just watch out for the Wild Turkeys who claim that territory for themselves!

Helpful?
1 Thank jdearman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Impressive architecture, great view and plenty of trees and birds”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Mt. Auburn is indeed impressive. I visit my stepfather's grave here a couple times a year. The graves are statuesque, the pond in the middle is adorable, and the trees are huge. A great spot to walk and feel the history of New England.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Auburn Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Auburn Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing