We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative Tapas and an excellent wine list”
Review of Little Donkey

Little Donkey
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 10/21
8:00 PM
OR
Order Online
Ranked #15 of 721 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Description: Global inspired small plates and raw bar in Cambridge, MA. Little Donkey is the latest restaurant from James Beard Award-winning chefs Ken Oringer and Jamie Bissonnette of Boston's beloved Toro, Coppa and Toro in NYC, Bangkok and soon to be Dubai. Located in the heart of Cambridge's Central Square, Little Donkey is Oringer and Bissonnette's first Boston-area restaurant in over six years, offering a welcoming, day-to-night dining experience that features market-driven, global small plates, inspired by the chefs' world travels.
Restaurant details
Description: Global inspired small plates and raw bar in Cambridge, MA. Little Donkey is the latest restaurant from James Beard Award-winning chefs Ken Oringer and Jamie Bissonnette of Boston's beloved Toro, Coppa and Toro in NYC, Bangkok and soon to be Dubai. Located in the heart of Cambridge's Central Square, Little Donkey is Oringer and Bissonnette's first Boston-area restaurant in over six years, offering a welcoming, day-to-night dining experience that features market-driven, global small plates, inspired by the chefs' world travels.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The concept of this place is that it has tapas that represent a wide variety and mix of cuisines. Our group had a number of different food constraints and was easily able to find tapas that fit the various constraints. All but one were excellent (the one that wasn't was clearly a mistake - they agreed to make a dish vegan that was not vegan on the menu and something went wrong in the process - they took it off the bill and provided an alternative). The wine list is also a bit more creative than the typical wine list. It is dark and somewhat loud - but that's the kind of place it is - don't go here if that's not what you want.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShelleyK202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 199 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile

Hard to get into at optimal time. I couldn’t get a table until 9:30 making arrangements two days in advance. The menu was very good. The BLT wraps should not be missed. I loved the pickled brine chicken sandwich. I thought service lagged mid meal. The food was alway brought out hot. But rarely by our own server and we waited a bit between check-ins for new orders or drink refills. Price was very good for food quality and portion.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank joshuat428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019 via mobile

Went on a Sunday and thoroughly enjoyed their brunch options (less like tapas and more like brunch - but we decided to share anyway to get to try multiple dishes). All were excellent, service was great, loved the atmosphere. Prices were steeper than needed but definitively plan on going back!!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank thegenie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

We were a party of 4 who had read a lot of good reviews for this restaurant, and also had several millennials recommend the place. Of course the prestige of the chef/owners added to our desire to check it out. We made an online reservation for 8:30 PM. We arrived early and there were a few open seats, so we didn't have any waiting time. We are all baby boomers and immediately noticed that the crowd was on the younger side (we think young so this wasn't a big deal necessarily). We tried to read the menus but it's dark in the restaurant and the print is very small, so we had to use the flashlight mode on our cell phones to read the menu. We each ordered 2 tapa plates and they were all different. We ordered the Wagyu steak tartare, the hamburger, the shrimp tikki marsala, Dan Dan noodles, and octopus, amongst others. Honestly, the prices are steep (I know it's Cambridge), and because it's so dark, it's hard to see what you are eating. The steak tartare is good, the octopus itself was tasty but the onion viniagrette detracted from the octopus instead of enhancing it. The burger was good but $15 for a oversize slider? I felt a bit like the Emperor with no clothes.

There wasn't one tapa that had the WOW factor for any of us, and we were hugely disappointed in what we thought was a lack of creativity in the plating and diversity of flavors.

Sorry but we expect more from this level of chef owned restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChillinTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

My partner and I met my nephew and his girlfriend for a long, leisurely dinner here last week. We sampled lots of small plates from all over the menu and were impressed with everything. The calamari, the cucumber salad, the Brazilian cheese bread, and salted cod beignets were particular standouts.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ejcrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Donkey also viewed

 

Been to Little Donkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing