We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Failed to Deliver”
Review of Cafe ArtScience

Cafe ArtScience
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe ArtScience is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 692 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 19, 2018 via mobile

Trendy looking cafe with glitzy website photos of food, but totally failed to deliver on execution. Duck was tender but flavorless. Waiter disappeared, and we gave up on ordered more items. Drinks were never refilled. The only tasty item was the French fries...very high price to enjoy that one item.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank MikeInUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 116 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2018 via mobile

Had a bad experience overall:
1. Wasn't offered a table, but to sit at the bar
2. Main bartender ignored me
3. Couple next to me was offered bread, while I wasn't
4. Food was salty, not that good and overpriced
5. Cocktail was good, but doesn't make up for the rest.
To sum up: I would never consider to return.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Andrés U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

We went to a Birthday Party held at this restaurant. The place was beautiful and modern. The appetizers were delicious. Cucumber, mushroom, lamb, they had it all.
The dinner was 3 courses, all to die for. Can’t wait to go back!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

Cutting edge food with unlikely ingredients that’s fun to photograph, discuss... and eat. I sat at the bar but they let me order off the full menu. I had the “sea urchin panna cotta,” the “green garbanzo panisse” and a sort of blueberry cheesecake with pickled (!) fruits and edible violets. Also had a couple of their signature cocktails, the Bumblebee is light and fun, the Amur Tiger is more dark and intense.

Some other reviewers have complained about the lackluster service. If you ask questions, they open up quite a bit and can explain the dishes. I asked about some gadgets they have for sale and I drew in Tenzin, the manager, who has so much information to share and gave me a free demo of a gadget, and a tour of all sorts of things that you might walk right by and not understand. He says they have a robot that walks around when MIT classes are in session. It would be a 5 Star place with more reliable explanation / interaction with diners.

This is pricey and elegant, and I’d advise dressing up a bit (though I wandered in wearing shorts and Birkenstocks and they were cheerful about it). Cambridge MA is full of beautiful young people, each with their start up business, or genius tech idea. This restaurant / lab is the perfect way to catch a little of that buzz!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank IsaacL897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018 via mobile

Hip “culture lab” with creative (& delicious) food and drinks - art and science exhibits fill the space, making for a fun (& educational) night out

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank T_Ridg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe ArtScience also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Cafe ArtScience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing