We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Creative Bar!”
Review of Cafe ArtScience

Cafe ArtScience
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe ArtScience is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 692 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed February 24, 2018

We stopped by Cafe ArtScience for late-night drinks and loved it! The drink menu is creative and fun -- we loved the species theme! We had the Titi monkey which was a work of art. They print clever and cute images on the drinks (very instagram-able) and include totally unnecessary but fun decorations. The beverages are expensive and certainly indulgent, so be prepared so spend a little bit of money (#treatyourself). The bar itself is chic and modern and wasn't particularly crowded when we stopped by, which was fine with us. Looking forward to coming back!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank c0rrynw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 116 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2017

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!! The food was amazing. The visuals on the food were matched by the great taste. This is diffidently one of the best restaurants in Cambridge, MA

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CLo719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017 via mobile

This place screams modern from the white painted ceiling facilities, through the white marble table tops, and with the limited pieces of 'modern' art on display.
Menu choice just about long enough.
Had a good meal but some dishes were not without their issues
Chicken liver pate - delicious, nice accompaniments, not short on the crispy toast accompaniment
Fall squash - presented in a number of interesting ways. Maybe a tad dry, could do with some moistening.
Hake, barley, dashi broth - quite nice, hake just (just) on the verge of cooked, barley could have done with a minute or two longer, but what the dist needed was something vegatable to lift it eg spinach, kale.....
NY Steak - a good hunk of meat, wasn't asked how would like it done so expected rare side of medium which is OK with me, but wouldn't suit everyone. Arrived well pink but not at all bloody in the middle and crispy on the outside. I'm guessing sous vinde cooking then a flash fry off. Tasty meat though. Again though could have done with some moisture, miniscule blobs of 'something' don't entirely cut it for me.
Pear pavlova - deconstructed. Don't you just hate that word on dishes. Very nice though
Blueberry mousse, with a range of accompaniments - delicious
Good choice of by glass wines, and a great list of cocktails.
Lovely service

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank PipPaul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile

The food, beverage list and ambiance within Art Science Cambridge was exquisite.
Because we were dining quite early in the evening I guess I expected a more relaxed reception. Our evening server asked what beverage we’d like then informed us that if ordering a meal, we were to order everything ahead of time, including dessert. No food recommendations were offered, nor comments made regarding the cocktail or wine lists. His manner was crisp, a bit rushed and frankly, left me feeling a bit cold.
That said, my Bordeaux was terrific. My companion’s “Bumblebee” was a wonderful flavor melange. The table bread was warmed and the butter was softened slightly. The slightly cheesy interior was a pleasant surprise.
I recommend the Brussels sprouts appetizer as well as the beef tartar.
Our coffee finish was delicious. Overall price was in keeping with the menu quality.
Maybe it was an off evening for our server, but the rest of the experience was great. Additionally, I note that both chef and pastry chef are women - a welcome balance of gender! Recommended.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank VaporK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017

As others with poor reviews have noted, service is quite slow. Took nearly 45 minutes for food to come out after the starters were served. It wasn't a particularly busy day either, a weekday with more than half the tables empty. We had a ribeye steak and dry-aged duck as entrees, and both of them were quite intolerable: the former was salty beyond belief and the latter was stale and felt raw and unseasoned. The portions are small, such that the plated dish almost always feels half-empty, ruining the effort given to the otherwise artsy plating. All in all, just plainly bad food with modern and fusion facade thrown on. And it came out somewhat cold-- once again, after forty-five minutes of waiting!

Quite simply, they need to pay more attention to the basics of running a restaurant: food and service. Right now they are all style over substance.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe ArtScience also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Cafe ArtScience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing