We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restful retreat close to Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel la Culla del Lago
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel Gandolfo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2006

I cannot say enough positive things about the Hotel Culla de Lago in the quiet village just outside of Rome, Castel Gandolfo. I found the hotel from an obscure reference on Trip Advisor then had to do some hunting to find the hotel web site. We were planning on spending a week in an apartment in Rome but we flew into Cimpiano Airport a day early. Castel Gandolfo is about 5 miles from this airport

The town itself is completely different from Rome. I am sure it is very busy when the pope is in residence & during Roman holidays. However it was a quiet restful place for us for our October stay. Culla de Lago is on Lake Albano directly across from the Pope’s residence. We were two couples so we had two rooms overlooking the lake. Our rooms were generous, bright and cheery. We each had our own balcony. There is a large terrace directly on the lake and then a lower terrace for sunning at the water’s edge. This family has owned the property for generations. There is a garden for strolling. You can make arrangements to eat in the little restaurant or enjoy some drinks under the grape arbor. Breakfast was included and it was excellent with exceptional coffee.

Castel Gandolfo itself is split into two main areas. The lower area with shops & restaurants and plots of land staked out for summer beach fun. Then there is the old town up on the hill with a lovely square and church as well as the Pope’s villa. There are also shops and sidewalk eateries up there. Castel Gandolfo reminded me of the Umbrian hill towns we visited later in our trip. We were able to walk a path from the hotel into the beach area & the hotel owner gave us a ride up into the town Saturday morning. We had a relaxing nice down hill walk back. There is also good bus service. Souvenirs were purchased here at two thirds the Roman prices

If you are flying into Rome’s Cimpiano airport and need a day or two to rest up and adjust to new time zones I would suggest staying in Castel Gandolfo at Hotel Culla de Lago. One day was really not enough to see this area south of Rome. Please be careful when getting a taxi to take you to the hotel. Be sure you get a local taxi and not a Roman taxi. Since this is outside of Rome a Roman taxi will charge you over 120 Euros to go 5 miles. I also noted buses from the airport. You will have to search for the hotels web site which is pretty slow. However, the desk clerks and employees were helpful and between our broken Italian and their decent English we all managed very well.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank szamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 84 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2005

Hotel La Culla del Lago, Castel Gandolfo
We found this place by accident while looking for a quiet, comfortable location within a reasonable distance to Rome. Train and bus connections are nearby but using a car makes visiting other local attractions even more rewarding.
One could easily linger here and forget the city altogether. It is a real find!
Geroges and his family are wonderfully helpful and pleasant. Free internet was a real help in planning.
This small hotel sits on the edge of Lake Albano across from the Papal summer residence so the neighborhood is acceptable. The garden setting is enchanting and the hotel serves meals to guests upon request.
The resort atmosphere is a relief from the city pressures and heat but just a short train ride away.
Other dining opportunities in the immediate area vary from semi-formal to very culture-casual.

14  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Lorelain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: vue sur le lac si possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank Lorenzo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank cunera2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sergio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel Gandolfo
1.4 mi away
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
#1 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
349 reviews
1.4 mi away
Castel Vecchio
Castel Vecchio
#2 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa degli Angeli
Hotel Villa degli Angeli
#4 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Villa Tuscolana Park Hotel
0.6 mi away
La Locanda del Pontefice
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Helio Cabala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Culla del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Culla del Lago

Address: Via Spiaggia del Lago 38, 00073 Castel Gandolfo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Castel Gandolfo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castel Gandolfo
Price Range: $103 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Culla del Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute relaxation... just as absolute is the tranquility that surrounds this resort, built in an area which for centuries has been the summer home of the Pope. Spend the day reading a pleasant book under the shadow of century old plants and trees while enjoying a cocktail. After enjoying the warm sun lying on our private beach you may then take refreshing swim in the lake. For those who enjoy outside activities, do not fear. From the hotel you can easily reach the jogging and mountain-bike tracks. An excellent choice for a relaxing holiday full of sport and culture... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel la Culla del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Culla Del Lago Castel Gandolfo, Italy - Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing