We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fort Payne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights while we visited a few places in Alabama on a road trip tour of 5 states. Very friendly staff and a very clean room. Had a little difficulty with the wifi, it came up with an error the first night. I brought it up to the lady at the front desk and she reset the router and it fixed the problem. The breakfast in the morning was great and exactly what I expect of a continental breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woohoo451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jule83, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your 5 state tour. We hope you were able to see the many unique attractions in our area. We certainly appreciate your nice comments and hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 156 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

Overall hotel is nice including the staff and the breakfast offered. The biggest challenge was the wifi which would not work in the room. I rarley if ever have to use wifi when I travel but I needed it this trip. I think if the hotel is offering wifi that it needs to make sure that the signal is strong enough to reach the rooms. Outside of that, hotel is nice and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yoda5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jule83, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and I apologize for the difficulty you had using the wifi. We certainly want you to be able to use your wireless devices.

Upon your return please allow any of our front desk agents to assist you with the wifi and find that perfect room for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel and the rooms were very clean and they were also quiet. The bed was very comfortable. This is a very nice Holiday Inn Express I wish that the rest were as great at this one.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jule83, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We are so happy you had a comfortable stay. We hope you will join us again and have time to see some of the great attracations in our area. Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I already have given this hotel more than it deserves--there is no reason that the sink backs up when water is running.
This is inexcusable. A most fundamental aspect--blame it on management, communication, lack of training, a don't-care-attitude--it doesn't matter.
I will not stay again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
Thank Phaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

We have a routine course of preventative maintenance and apologize that you had an issue. This certainly is not standard for our hotel, and we would have loved the opportunity to correct it before your departure. We strive to be a great hotel guests love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nice, clean, and friendly staff. Good and consistent quality breakfast. If you have to stay in Fort Payne, this is the place. Just right off the Interstate and walking distance to K-mart.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RestlessMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

We are so happy that you enjoyed your extended stay with us. We hope that you will be back soon. Thank you so much for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Everything else about this hotel was fine, but the kiss of death to a hotel in my view is bad internet connectivity, and this was as bad as I've ever encountered. I was being literal when I chose the adverb "impossibly" in the review title. After wasting time sitting at the computer hoping that the connection would get better, I gave up and declared the situation impossible. Not being able to do the things I had planned to do online that night threw me way off schedule. I will certainly not stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Fort Payne again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
Thank NM43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

We understand how important your work is and apologize that you had difficulties with connectivity.

We have a select number of hardwired rooms that we are happy to reserve for you upon request. Please bring your laptop by at any time, and we will be happy to help you get the best connection. We hope you will stay with us again.

We will find a solution that will be to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Last night was the most recent of at least 10 stays at this hotel for camp drop off/pick up and other stops during road trips to the in-laws. It is perfect for a one night stay, complete with cookies in the lobby in the afternoon. I would not recommend the hotel for an extended stay - unless you are a business traveler who will be spending little time at the hotel. The hotel is near a KMart, Wal-Mart & Walgreens, and there are a number of restaurants in the area. The friendly front desk staff was helpful with directions to local shopping and eating spots.

Rooms are typical of the chain, and are clean and comfortable. Pool area is very small and adjacent to the smoking area (yuck!) and parking lot, but was enough to make my daughter happy after a long day on the road. The "fitness center" appears to be a converted storage closet and consists of one elliptical machine, a bike and a treadmill -- no weights, mats, or room to do anything other than a quick cardio workout. Again, it was better than nothing after a long day on the road.

The breakfast area is usually well-stocked, though this morning the very nice attendant was having trouble keeping up with demand. For those who are allergic to wheat or have celiac issues, the selection is very limited. In previous visits there has been a nice selection of fruits and yogurts for my wheat-sensitive child, but the choice today was bananas and 1 flavor of yogurt.

On previous stays we have been on the 2d floor and have had no issue with noise. The second floor is partially open (balcony style) to the lobby which seems to help dissipate hallway noise. This time we were on the 3d floor and the noise was horrible -- probably a combination of the closed layout of the 3d floor that causes the sound of slamming doors & hallway voices seemingly to reverberate and an obnoxious group of travelers who allowed their children to run the halls & slam doors until almost 11:45 even after I came out of the room to ask them to be considerate of others.

Room Tip: 1st floor AWAY from the pool or the second floor. Stay away from the 3d floor - hallway noise is awf...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you so much for your stays with us. We always look forward to visits from our camp families!

As our guest, you have complimentary access to Fitness First, which is a full service fitness facility complete with free weights and Olympic size pool. Our front desk staff will be happy to give you directions during your next stay.

We are always happy to assist with room requests, so please feel free to let us know your floor preference when making your reservations. Please also let us know how we can be better prepared for your family's food allergies.

With the excitement of their first day of camp, we understand there may have been noise in the hallways. If this happens again, please notify our front desk staff so they can take action.

We hope your child had a wonderful time at camp and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Payne
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
#2 of 7 in Fort Payne
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Fort Payne
Days Inn Fort Payne
#3 of 7 in Fort Payne
227 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 7 in Fort Payne
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsboro
5.1 mi away
Super 8 Rainsville
Super 8 Rainsville
#1 of 1 in Rainsville
258 reviews
21.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Scottsboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne

Address: 112 Airport Rd W, Fort Payne, AL 35968-3334
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Fort Payne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fort Payne
Price Range: $111 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated in 2016. Come Stay at the Best of DeKalb, AL Hotels. Situated against the backdrop of Lookout Mountain at exit 218 off I-59, this quintessential small town provides the kind of serene surroundings necessary to relax. Whether you're an outdoor enthusiast or an avid antique shopper, we have everything you need at our Fort Payne, Alabama hotel near the DeKalb area. Corporate guests looking for a facility with superior meeting rooms need look no further than the Holiday Inn Express & Suites(R) Fort Payne, AL hotel. Our 24-hour business center allows guests to complete their work without ever leaving the property. We are also conveniently located near many companies, including Dekalb Regional Hospital, Ferguson, Siemens, Heil, Gametime, R.T.I., Children's Place and Plasman Corporation.Leisure travelers love that our hotel is near DeKalb and Fort Payne area attractions, as well as exciting outdoor adventures like rock climbing at Little River Canyon. We're also close to array of specialty shops and unique restaurants in the downtown Fort Payne, AL area. After a day of touring Fort Payne, AL, hotel guests can take a dip in the seasonally-heated outdoor pool or work out in the state-of-the-art fitness center. Complimentary Wi-Fi is included in all rooms, as well, and guests enjoy free breakfast each morning. Book your room today to experience great amenities, outstanding service and the best of DeKalb area hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ft. Payne
Holiday Inn Fort Payne
Fort Payne Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ft Payne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing