We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Ft. Payne
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Fort Payne
Shawano
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Staff here was very friendly and helpful to us. Location next to the freeway is nice, though the driveways are tricky. It has a partially shared driveway with a Days Inn. All facilities were average, not worse for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudgeJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    27
    12
    3
    11
See reviews for
12
16
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stay here a few times a year when my job sends me here. My only complaint would be the pillows on the bed are flatter than most-I usually bring a pillow when I come. Unfortunately, I forgot to bring one this trip.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corona08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

We had a confirmed reservation, but upon checking in we found the desk clerk so rude we turned our key back in and left.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2009

The king-size room had micro-wave and refrig, bed was clean & comfortable, the heat/AC unit had high noise level in our room. Breakfast was okay. Good enough for $65

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSpencer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2006

After driving all day, we called Econo Lodge at 11p.m. to check rates, upon checking in 15 mins later, I was asked to pay a higher rate ! When we were walking out the door to leave, the clerk said "well, I do have one room left at that rate, but it is upstairs" (we NEVER said ANYTHING about floor preference). The Clerk seemed annoyed with us at that point. When we handed him our credit card & drivers license, he said in a VERY rude tone "the name on the license does not match the name on the credit card!" At that point I had had enough of his attitude and replied in a frustrated manner "YES, it does, look again!" He then came back with "ARE YOU ALWAYS THIS RUDE?" I apoligized, and stated no, but YOU seem to be annoyed that we are bothering you by attempting to check in, he proceeded to roll his eyes at us.
Upon entering the room, we found the towels to be dirty, they even had a dirty wash clothe hanging on the shower rod! There was toothpaste residue in the sink, and the pillow cases seemed used!
The next day by phone, I attemped to inform the owner, Mr. B. Dave, of our bad experience, he did not want to hear it, and cut me off, and stated in the following words "I DO NOT CARE". Then he hung up!
My advise to you, AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COST!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — It was there when we were tired of driving!
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING ELSE!
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid this hotel!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank emmakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Payne
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Fort Payne
Days Inn Fort Payne
#3 of 7 in Fort Payne
201 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 7 in Fort Payne
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
#2 of 7 in Fort Payne
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Rainsville
Super 8 Rainsville
#1 of 1 in Rainsville
241 reviews
21.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Scottsboro
21.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Ft. Payne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Ft. Payne

Property: Econo Lodge Ft. Payne
Address: 1412 Glenn Blvd SW, Fort Payne, AL 35968-3520
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Fort Payne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Fort Payne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Ft. Payne 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Ft. Payne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Payne Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Fort Payne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing