We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific State Park and Beyond Value!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Payne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DeSoto State Park Lodge & Cabins
Trussville, Alabama
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Terrific State Park and Beyond Value!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at the lodge hotel on Feb. 22, 2014 in room 120. The rooms are a little dated but clean. Dated: not to be confused with torn fabrics, ripped up furniture, damaged and smelly carpets. I believe that have done their best with the budget they have. We took advantage of the special they have until April 30th, $69 a night per couple (THAT IS TOTAL) and that includes a terrific hot breakfast buffet with eggs cook to order.

The room we stayed in has the creek ,which was rushing some due to all the rain we’ve had, between buildings. It was so cool. There is the typical room set up with coffee maker, hair dryer, small microwave, iron and toiletries. Each room has rocking chairs out facing the creek. It’s a delightful setup. A great experience all the way around including the delicious breakfast and the very warm and friendly and accommodating staff!

I would highly recommend for couples weekend, family stay and reunions. It's super close to Mentone and the great Little River Canyon, a MUST see! I've probably told 12 of my coworkers and posted on FB. Go confidently in the direction of the great Alabama Outdoors, you won't regret it. Let your spirit breathe and rest and renew. And if you can, have a picnic on the canyon rim.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maximac222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    20
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Great little state park near Mentone, AL and Little River Canyon. Mentone is a cute little town with a few arts and crafts shops. My fav is Miracle Pottery and had great lunch at Wildflower cafe. The campground has spacious sites, clean restrooms, and full hookup including cable. I've also stayed at lodge and it too is a good value. The lodge restaurant is good with very friendly staff. Rangers are nice and the park seems to have fun activities periodically as well. We also enjoyed the mt bike trails and humongous rocks! Desoto falls down the road is very pretty and little river canyon is worth a visit too! Great weekend getaway!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Willben1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Branch, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I traveled to Fort Payne on a roadtrip from Michigan. We arrived at the park the afternoon of Sept, 20th, 2013. The park staff was helpful and we got our map(very off scale) and headed out to the waterfalls......we were very frustrated to see that there were NO waterfalls! I understand the weather predicts how much water flows through the falls and its just nature, however it was clear nothing had flowed for quite some time. It would have been much more appreciated if the staff had mentioned that when sending us out on our hike....(through the giant spider webs and their inhabitants). I have no desire to ever return although I believe the falls would be very beautiful in the Spring. I just have a bad taste in my mouth about the experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have always camped at this park and the campground is wonderful. We stayed at the Lodge for the first time and were nicely surprised at how lovely the accommodations are. I asked before making the reservation about the condition (age, etc.) of the mattresses and was told that they had been replaced within the last 2-3 years. The room we stayed in was a king bed. Although the hotel is older, it is nicely updated with a microwave and flat screen TV. There was a small deck off the back overlooking the stream area.

We had breakfast in the lodge restaurant and the service was good, atmosphere was clean and I had a vegetable omelet that was wonderful.

Would recommend this lodge anytime. The rates are good, also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappycamperAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We took a couple of days off and took a road trip to see the waterfalls Beautiful ,we went during the week so peaceful and quiet. Thanks you Alabama! You are beautiful. The restaurant in the park was very good. I love your coffee!!!! Can't wait to visit another park we will support our country in every way we can!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Renee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the campground on a Saturday, Sunday and Monday. No complaints at all!! We are in a big rig RV (40 feet). The sites are excellent, all with cable hookup. They have pull through sites and back in. The pull through sites are paved, the backin are gravel. We found the perfect site for us at a backin spot. All the locations are large and the majority have plenty of shade. Most sites have fire rings or rock circles built. Very quiet campground. We have no complaints and will definitely be back! The deer walked in the woods behind us every day and we even had dogs with us. We didn't use the bath houses so we can't comment on those. However, we noticed a lot of tent campers in the campground. Quiet, peaceful, serene.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 25141775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family has visited the campground at Desoto State Park three times, and it is a great place! The campsites are huge. We do lots of camping, and these campsites are, by far, the largest campsites of ANY campgrounds we have stayed. There are a few nice hiking trails that leave directly from the campground loops. Within a short drive is beautiful Desoto Falls. Mentone is a cute town that is a short drive from the park.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Payne
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 7 in Fort Payne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
11.6 mi away
Super 8 Rainsville
Super 8 Rainsville
#1 of 1 in Rainsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
8.5 mi away
Days Inn Fort Payne
Days Inn Fort Payne
#3 of 7 in Fort Payne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
#2 of 7 in Fort Payne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
23.8 mi away
Days Inn Of Centre
Days Inn Of Centre
#1 of 2 in Centre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSoto State Park Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto State Park Lodge & Cabins

Property: DeSoto State Park Lodge & Cabins
Address: 1299 Blalock Dr NE, Fort Payne, AL 35967-7915
Location: United States > Alabama > Fort Payne
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Fort Payne
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3,502-acre park provides lodging facilities including: Mountain Chalets, Log and Rustic Cabins, Motel Rooms, and an Improved Campground with 94 full-hookup tent and RV sites. For the more adventurous, there are also Primitive Camping sites for tents as well as 2 backcountry campsites with shelters. No matter what type of lodging you might prefer or have need of, we have it! DeSoto State Park is conveniently located only 8 miles northeast of Fort Payne, Alabama; and DeSoto Falls - also part of DeSoto State Park - is located about 7 miles north of the park heading towards Mentone, Alabama. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing