We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Gift!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Payne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DeSoto State Park Lodge & Cabins
Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Perfect Gift!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My honeymoon gift from my parents! There isn't anything that was missing. It was perfect in every way.
I'd recommend these cabins to all and the atmosphere was the best.
It was July 2008 that these photos were taken but we've been there every year since.

Room Tip: I was in a large cabin . It was beautiful, clean, all the kitchen tools to not need a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DnDWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    21
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Arthur, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

It was a steep hike back up but the falls were worth it. Looks like it would be a fun place to swim as long as you do it safely. Had to take a tiny break on the way back up. Would not recommend if with little ones as they might have a tough time getting back up.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KELLI c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Having come from a previous family reunion in Clearwater Beach, FL, it was somewhat of a let down to be in one of the rustic log cabins -- while we had everything we needed, I found several Daddy Longlegs in the cabin, as well as ants and a less than clean environment. All in all it was fine, but I missed some of the luxuries such as a dishwasher, more cooking utensils, etc.

Room Tip: We had Cabin 22 which was fine, but would have liked one with more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelertrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We just stayed at Desoto State Park for our family re-union, with all the different families staying in log cabins. They are all secluded with their own picnic/bbq/fire pit area. Cabins were fully furnished with wood burning fireplace. We enjoyed hiking to waterfalls and swimming in the rivers, then returned to the cabins for a group cook out and camp fire "sing song". Only suggestion for improvement would be more comfortable beds that don't creak & groan!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukbaileys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place is fine if you like rural but don't want to camp-camp. Remember, NO fridges! MANY flies in room. They need to have fly swatters in the rooms. Many other insects/spiders too. Actually bit by a spider! Beds are noisy when you get in or out of them or just turn over. It is quiet. Both the water pressure and thick towels were fantastic! Swimming pool far.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tank_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here July 11th-13th and stayed at the motel. The park was having a special event so all of the Rustic Cabins, Log Cabins, Chalets were all booked. So, all that was left was a motel room with 2 double beds. This motel is very old and dated as some have mentioned but it is very clean and housekeeping does a great job each day, IF you leave your placard on the door asking them to do so. Check-In is at the Lodge and was very quick and simple. The staff is very nice and eager to give directions to any of the hiking trails or area attractions. There is a stream that runs along the back of the motel and it is very peaceful & pleasant. Our room was right across from the on-site restaurant which is very convenient if you are eager to go bike riding or wanting to hit the trails. We had a coffee pot, but no refrigerator or microwave. So, I'm glad we took a cooler for drinks although they do have an ice machine and vending machine. Walmart is in fairly close proximity so we made a quick trip there for a few snacks as well. We really did not spend a lot of time in the room, therefore, we did not require alot of amenities nor were we disappointed that the rooms were dated. We were pleased that they were clean and since our room was right across from the lodge, we were able to pick up the wifi signal from our room. Although I would liked to have had a cabin, the motel was not bad and we would stay there again. The rates are VERY reasonable - No complaints here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewton, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

we stayed here overnight as we were passing through. The Lodge was fine, a typical hotel room that was comfortable. The park is great for scenery and hiking. We will go back for more time in park, but will try the cabins if available. Also the lodge does have some tornado damage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Payne
8.5 mi away
Days Inn Fort Payne
Days Inn Fort Payne
#3 of 7 in Fort Payne
222 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 7 in Fort Payne
59 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
#2 of 7 in Fort Payne
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Super 8 Rainsville
Super 8 Rainsville
#1 of 1 in Rainsville
256 reviews
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne
8.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Ft. Payne
Econo Lodge Ft. Payne
#6 of 7 in Fort Payne
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSoto State Park Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto State Park Lodge & Cabins

Property: DeSoto State Park Lodge & Cabins
Address: 1299 Blalock Dr NE, Fort Payne, AL 35967-7915
Location: United States > Alabama > Fort Payne
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Fort Payne
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3,502-acre park provides lodging facilities including: Mountain Chalets, Log and Rustic Cabins, Motel Rooms, and an Improved Campground with 94 full-hookup tent and RV sites. For the more adventurous, there are also Primitive Camping sites for tents as well as 2 backcountry campsites with shelters. No matter what type of lodging you might prefer or have need of, we have it! DeSoto State Park is conveniently located only 8 miles northeast of Fort Payne, Alabama; and DeSoto Falls - also part of DeSoto State Park - is located about 7 miles north of the park heading towards Mentone, Alabama. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing