We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Log Cabins are great!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Payne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DeSoto State Park Lodge & Cabins
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Log Cabins are great!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We just stayed at Desoto State Park for our family re-union, with all the different families staying in log cabins. They are all secluded with their own picnic/bbq/fire pit area. Cabins were fully furnished with wood burning fireplace. We enjoyed hiking to waterfalls and swimming in the rivers, then returned to the cabins for a group cook out and camp fire "sing song". Only suggestion for improvement would be more comfortable beds that don't creak & groan!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukbaileys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    20
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place is fine if you like rural but don't want to camp-camp. Remember, NO fridges! MANY flies in room. They need to have fly swatters in the rooms. Many other insects/spiders too. Actually bit by a spider! Beds are noisy when you get in or out of them or just turn over. It is quiet. Both the water pressure and thick towels were fantastic! Swimming pool far.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tank_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here July 11th-13th and stayed at the motel. The park was having a special event so all of the Rustic Cabins, Log Cabins, Chalets were all booked. So, all that was left was a motel room with 2 double beds. This motel is very old and dated as some have mentioned but it is very clean and housekeeping does a great job each day, IF you leave your placard on the door asking them to do so. Check-In is at the Lodge and was very quick and simple. The staff is very nice and eager to give directions to any of the hiking trails or area attractions. There is a stream that runs along the back of the motel and it is very peaceful & pleasant. Our room was right across from the on-site restaurant which is very convenient if you are eager to go bike riding or wanting to hit the trails. We had a coffee pot, but no refrigerator or microwave. So, I'm glad we took a cooler for drinks although they do have an ice machine and vending machine. Walmart is in fairly close proximity so we made a quick trip there for a few snacks as well. We really did not spend a lot of time in the room, therefore, we did not require alot of amenities nor were we disappointed that the rooms were dated. We were pleased that they were clean and since our room was right across from the lodge, we were able to pick up the wifi signal from our room. Although I would liked to have had a cabin, the motel was not bad and we would stay there again. The rates are VERY reasonable - No complaints here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewton, Alabama
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

we stayed here overnight as we were passing through. The Lodge was fine, a typical hotel room that was comfortable. The park is great for scenery and hiking. We will go back for more time in park, but will try the cabins if available. Also the lodge does have some tornado damage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A friend and I stayed at one of the newer 2 bedroom log cabins at DeSoto State Park for 2 nights in early April. Beautiful and completely equiped cabins, woodburning fireplace, a front porch complete with rockers, overlooking a river, with outdoor picnic table, grill, and fire pit. Our cabin was just one away from a cabin damaged in a recent tornado, which also unfortunately damaged the inn and motel, so the well known buffet dinner was not offered during our stay. However, the park was beautiful--lots of waterfalls. The town of Mentone had some really nice local restaurants for dinner. Little River Canyon, a national preserve, was a short distance away, with gorgeous views and more waterfalls. A wonderful experience less than 3 hours drive from Nashville.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geralda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville, Alabama USA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed three nights in a two bedroom log cabin the weekend of Presidents Day 2013. The cabin has one bedroom with a double bed and one bedroom with a queen bed. The bathroom was small but everything worked and it was very clean. The living room had a sleeper sofa, two chairs, and a coffee table. The kitchen had a stove with oven, microwave oven, refrigerator, coffee maker and toaster, and all kitchen utensils.

I was in cabin 5, and it was great--right on the yellow trail, close enough I could walk to the lodge and to a lot of hiking. The staff is great and so friendly. The people in the restaurant were great also.

My advice is to stay in a log cabin if at all possible. The park had rustic cabins that looked nice and chalets, but the log cabins were great. I will return I had such a good experience there.

Room Tip: Cabins 4, 5, and 6 are far enough off the yellow trail for privacy. Cabin 1 and 2 were nice, but ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pcbdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I spent the long weekend at the lodge. We had two negative experiences and we still loved it. The staff at the lodge were very helpful and even let us change rooms when our neighbors were having a little "too much fun". Yes the rooms are old but they are kept up nicely. After all it's a lodge not a Hilton. You really get that down home feel at the lodge. We also enjoyed the deck with the old fashioned screen door. The food was very good at the restaurant however we had to wait an extremely long time for our food, however the waitresses went out of the way apologizing and discounted our ticket. We have rarely been treated as nicely at any other place we have stayed. The staff makes you feel like "your part of the family". The price was perfect and the wife and I now have a new tradition. Thanks Desoto State Park and Lodge.

Room Tip: You may want to get a cabin if your newlyweds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k9al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Payne
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 7 in Fort Payne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
11.6 mi away
Super 8 Rainsville
Super 8 Rainsville
#1 of 1 in Rainsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
8.5 mi away
Days Inn Fort Payne
Days Inn Fort Payne
#3 of 7 in Fort Payne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
#2 of 7 in Fort Payne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
23.8 mi away
Days Inn Of Centre
Days Inn Of Centre
#1 of 2 in Centre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Payne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSoto State Park Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto State Park Lodge & Cabins

Property: DeSoto State Park Lodge & Cabins
Address: 1299 Blalock Dr NE, Fort Payne, AL 35967-7915
Location: United States > Alabama > Fort Payne
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Fort Payne
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3,502-acre park provides lodging facilities including: Mountain Chalets, Log and Rustic Cabins, Motel Rooms, and an Improved Campground with 94 full-hookup tent and RV sites. For the more adventurous, there are also Primitive Camping sites for tents as well as 2 backcountry campsites with shelters. No matter what type of lodging you might prefer or have need of, we have it! DeSoto State Park is conveniently located only 8 miles northeast of Fort Payne, Alabama; and DeSoto Falls - also part of DeSoto State Park - is located about 7 miles north of the park heading towards Mentone, Alabama. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing