We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent staff and great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Fort Payne
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fort Payne
Fort Payne, Alabama
1 review
“excellent staff and great rooms”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

clean, quiet and a good value!!! Person working the breakfast area did not seem too happy with her job. However, the breakfast was excellent. The coffee was a real good roast, very bold and tasty! The front staff member that checked us in, Rachel, was extremely helpful and welcoming, you could tell she was a pro at hospitality!

Room Tip: get a corner room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FWARREN48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    59
    37
    18
    8
See reviews for
79
52
15
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I had a few hotels to choose from in Fort Payne. I chose Hampton due to the comfortable beds and great breakfast buffet. Once again Hampton came through for me with a great night sleep, due to the bed, and a pleasant breakfast. It seems you can always count on The Hampton Inn anywhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeVirginiaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenner, Louisiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Arrived late and they had everything ready to check in. The room had a smoke smell to me but not my wife. Breakfast was minimal compared to other Hampton's I stayed at and the lady working the breakfast area didn't appear to be too happy. Check out was good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordontgauthier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
323 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We popped in to spend the night en route to nearby Cloudland Canyon. Clean as a whistle and nicely decorated. In spite of their proximity to the 'main drag' and to the highway, we spent a peaceful evening. Lots of local amenities and restaurants nearby -- good traveler's rest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartandDenese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed here 6 times on business in 2011 and 2012. I always found the rooms to be very clean, comfortable, and adequate. As a woman traveling alone, I also felt safe. The front desk staff was outstanding, always prompt, courteous & helpful. The bed was always comfortable and the bathroom is plenty big enough for one or two people. It is also close to several restaurants. Only 2 very minor comments- It is so close to the Interstate that if you are a light sleeper and have good hearing, you can hear highway traffic. This never kept me awake however. Also, the coffee at the delicious breakfast buffet was not strong enough for my taste! These are the only 2 minor complaints I can think of. If you are fortunate enough to have a little time on your hands while in the Ft. Payne area, visit beautiful Desoto State Park or Little River Canyon. This is a truly beautiful part of the state!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birmingham_ALKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
239 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for business and I travel often. You get off slowest elevator ever and smell of smoke hits you (no air conditioning in hallways either). Extremely outdated room with stains on carpet, furniture and walls. Also, door doesn't shut all the way you can see big gap. They updated lobby and first floor but seemed to have forgotten the rest of hotel. Front desk not the friendliest either. I'm also diamond hiltonhonors and usually receive water, snacks or cookies at other Hamptons but nothing here. Lastly, it's way over priced.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JMRow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcad21, General Manager at Hampton Inn Fort Payne, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing a review about your stay with us on Trip Advisor. I understand that the look and feel of your room was not up to our usual brand standards, and we are working to correct the issue. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping team and we are actively working on freshening our guestrooms and common areas. I do hope the next time your travels bring you to the area you will stay with us again, we would love to have you and hear your feedback on our updates.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eslov, Sweden
Level Contributor
154 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

There is nothing special about this property except it's conveininetly located off of I-59.
The check-in staff was so-so, not lookoing as they really cared if you stayed or not.
I agree with the reveiw below that the property is aging and at $129/nite one would think they could clean the carpets.
Should you find yourself in neloed of accomendations in Fort Payne, AL you might want to try another hotel and this from a looyal HH Diamnd member.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Payne
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Fort Payne
Days Inn Fort Payne
#3 of 7 in Fort Payne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 7 in Fort Payne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Rainsville
Super 8 Rainsville
#1 of 1 in Rainsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsboro
19.4 mi away
Days Inn Of Centre
Days Inn Of Centre
#1 of 2 in Centre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
22.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Scottsboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Fort Payne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Fort Payne

Property: Hampton Inn Fort Payne
Address: 1201 Jordan Rd SW, Fort Payne, AL 35968-3668
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Fort Payne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fort Payne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Fort Payne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Fort Payne is designed with warm earth tone colors to make you feel at home and comfortable. It is nestled on a beautiful hillside with a picture full view of the surrounding mountains. We are also within a short drive of Desoto Park and Alabama Fan Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Fort Payne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Fort Payne Hotel Fort Payne
Fort Payne Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing