We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and peaceful place!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little River Canyon National Preserve

Little River Canyon National Preserve
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Fort Payne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The deepest canyon east of the Mississippi is surrounded by the scenic beauty of Lookout Mountain.
Biloxi, Ms
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

This is a truly beautiful place. Stop by the visitor center and watch the film and see the environmentally green building. The lady at the desk was very nice and had tons of information. The scenic drive was great. Many stops and overlooks. The road was a typical mountain road but in good condition. There is a large parking area that cost three dollars at the mouth of the canyon. In the summer you can go swimming. We were there in March so we had the whole place to ourselves. I would imagine in the summer it would be quite crowded. If you love nature and love viewing God's creation then you will love this place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank churchlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    79
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homewood, Alabama
Level Contributor
139 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Little Rive Canyon Preserve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

worth a stop to watch video and look through the store for locally marketed items. The all "green" building is very functional and the outdoor activities are plenty.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TW H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trussville, Alabama
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places on the planet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

This canyon, the largest canyon East of the Mississippi, is a must see if in the area! It's a great stop no matter what time of year but especially if the weather is warm enough for a picnic on the canyon rim. Truly beautiful. It's a national park not a state park. Little River is home to world class kayaking so if that is an interest to you, you can find outfitters to accommodate you. There's prehistoric caves and amazing wildlife. There are some terrific swimming holes at the mouth of the canyon park and also at Eberhart Park(a moderate mile hike down to the water) It is close to Desoto State Park and Mentone and Ft. Payne.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank maximac222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beyond beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I came here during a camping trip and think this is the best park I've ever visited. I visited this place during the winter and the water was very powerful. I believe the best part of the park is hiking the bottom of it to get a glimpse of this parks real beauty. This canyon is probably the most beautiful park in Alabama and I highly recommend it to any outdoorsman.

Helpful?
Thank Adambomb95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ball Ground, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is a must see if you are in the area. It is beautiful any time of year even in the winter months. Just saw the falls with ice forming on the banks. Great place for a picnic, hiking, and photography.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BlanchF1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little River Canyon National Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Little River Canyon National Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing