We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury”
Review of Inishduff House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inishduff House
Ranked #1 of 6 Kilcar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pure luxury”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a B&B which treats you better than any hotel! Afternoon tea with fresh bread and buns everyday was great. The room was large and spacious, the bed was massive and the whole house spotless. The area is stunning and is definitely one of Ireland's nicest spots to spend a few days relaxing. Plus there is space in the garage for bikes :-) Definitely recommend this for a short stay or for a longer visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicaGuarani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    4
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
50
124
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Had yet another wonderful stay with Ethna in Inishduffhouse House. Ethna is the perfect hostess and as stated by other reviewers you feel like a friend very soon after meeting her. Her attention to detail is impressive and her house has fantastic sea views. She cannot do enough for you and will arrange to book local restaurants for you and even offered to drop us off at a great local restaurant Kitty Kelly's. Ethna does her own baking and her tea on arrival and breakfasts are great. I think this has been our 4th visit to Inishduffhouse house and cannot wait to return!.... Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Sea views superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with Ethna at her B and B for 4 nights in July. The weather she had laid on was amazing. From the warm welcome staying in her home only got better. Iced drinks in the room every evening. Tea and coffee along with cakes when we got back each evening. A wonderful breakfast and of course a comfortable room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouristMM1X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This must be one of the best B&B's in Eire. First the general location is very good, being situated in beautiful countryside and not far from such sights as Slieve League, a mountain with cliffs down to the sea just short of 2000 feet high. Second the specific location is stunning, the house being set back off the road with fine views out to sea. Third the welcome from Ethna is such that you feel as if you are a friend staying with her rather than a paying guest. Fourth the room my wife and I had was comfortable and spacious with a view out to sea and en suite facilities. Fifth the breakfasts were superb; I had an excellent full Irish breakfast one day and a splendid omelette with bacon, tomato and mushroom the next - Ethna also does her own baking of breads and cakes. Sixth we were in walking distance (and did indeed walk) to a very good restaurant each of our two evenings called Kitty Kelly where we had two splendid meals. What more can you want.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMDuncan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, IL, USA
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Staying with Ethna at Inishduff House is more like staying at a best friend’s home than at a B&B. From the moment you arrive Ethna greets you as a friend, her caring and attention to her guests is very special. She is a wonderful host, so warm and personable, and is more than willing to help with ideas for sightseeing, or just with a great cup of tea if you want to relax and gaze out at Donegal Bay.

Inishduff House is easy to find, well-marked and right on the main coastal road from Donegal town through Killybegs and just before Kilcar. The bedrooms are all very nicely and comfortably furnished. Ethna trained at the Ballymaloe Cookery School and her breakfasts are absolutely delicious, the freshest ingredients and the tastiest breakfasts you’ll find anywhere. The sitting room and breakfast room have a view across the road and down a sloping field of sheep and overlooking Donegal Bay.

From Inishduff House you are in easy proximity to the Studio Donegal hand-weavers just down the road in Kilcar, the stunning cliffs of Slieve League, Donegal town and castle, Donegal Bay boat tours, Glencolmcille Folk Village, the pubs and shops of Ardara, the scenic Glengesh Pass, and more, so it's a great location for day-tripping and touring. The excellent Kitty Kelly's Restaurant is just a couple minutes' drive away -- we had dinner there both nights this time.

We've stayed at Inishduff House our last two vacations in Ireland and we are already looking forward to the time (hopefully not far off) when we can return to Ireland, County Donegal and to another wonderful stay at Inishduff House.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a view of Donegal Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IllinoisMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Inishduff House is beautiful. We arrived, settled in, and Ethna served a beautiful tray of tea and homemade scones at the outdoor table overlooking the sea. It also didn't hurt that the weather was perfect! Ethna was a wonderful guide and recommended a great drive up to the Slieve League via a scenic route. She also recommended stopping by a secluded beach that was farther up the road; it was a great drive getting there and the beach was beautiful (and it was so nice of her to lend us the map to the destinations, as well). She also recommended Kitty Kelly's for dinner - great suggestion! We had a great time talking with Ethna while enjoying our tea, but she also was respectful of our time together - excellent hostess.

We stayed in the room on the first floor in the front-facing right corner (with sea views). The room was SPOTLESS and spacious. Ethna takes excellent care of her rooms, all the way down to the little details such as natural soaps and great-smelling hand wash and lotion. The shower was WONDERFUL (nice water pressure and not too small).

Breakfast was delicious! Would highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathans32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Inishduff House for one night at the beginning of May. We hadn't booked in advance and turned up early evening where we were welcomed with tea and great conversation from Ethna who couldn't enough throughout our entire visit.The location is fantastic with views overlooking St Johns point and within ten minutes of slieve league. The rooms were extremely comfortable, immaculate and quiet. We will definitely be returning here on our next visit to Ireland.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ash M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilcar
6.1 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 2 in Killybegs
617 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
8.8 mi away
Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,143 reviews
2.3 mi away
Slieve League Lodge
Slieve League Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carrick
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilcar Lodge
Kilcar Lodge
#3 of 6 in Kilcar
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishduff House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishduff House

Property: Inishduff House
Address: Largymore, Kilcar, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Kilcar
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kilcar
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Inishduff House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing