We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wild atlantic way treasure”
other travelers have booked this property
Side garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Side garden
View of School House from Wild Atlantic Way viewing point Sunrise
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Side garden
View of School House from Wild Atlantic Way viewing point
Sunrise
Sitting room / dining
Master bedroom
Master bedroom view
Bedroom 2
Sitting / Dining Room
Dining area / additional bed option
Kitchen
WC / Shower room
Shower
Entrance storage area
Front door
Garden / shed
Patio / terrace
View of Trá Lathar
School House from opposite side
School House from Wild Atlantic Way viewing point
View from side garden
View of Slieve League from the top of Croagh Muckros (the mountain behind property)
School House at base of Croagh Muckros Mountain
Muckross Head - a popular spot for rock climbers
Local neighbours
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kilcar, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Bernard M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wild atlantic way treasure”
Reviewed April 1, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful ocean views. This gem of a place is soaked in authentic charm and character. Dramatic Ocean views and the pleasing sounds of crashing waves. A great place for folks who like take a peaceful walks. Walking here includes being in a place with gorgeous and breathtaking scenery. The cabin is super cozy, and has a fireplace. Spend a morning driving to nearby slieve league cliffs. Peter and his crew took great care of us and are easy to work with. My family loved it and we can't wait to get back.... First time anyone in my family has been to Donegal since my great-great grandpa, Paddy Shields, left in 1850.... we waited too long! It is Beautiful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2018
Thanks for your lovely review Bernie!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard...
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Dream Cottage on the Ocean”
Reviewed February 19, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This isolated cabin by the ocean was everthing we dreamed it would be. Peter has a special place here..go to get away on the Wild Atlantic Way. Special thanks to Kathleen for the wonderful welcome. You could spend the entire time here staring out the large picture windows in the living room or bedroom with sweeping vista views of the ocean.Build a peat fire in the stone fireplace, visit the nearby small town of Kilcar or the close by cliffs and beaches. Definitely bring your camera.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great Location for an active holiday”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Muckross School House is marvellously situated above the bay with an ever-changing view on the promontory, the beach and the sea; it is close to all the major walks in the region.
The house is cosy, the heating works well, the gas stove is great for cooking, and our teenager son rated access to the internet as good.
The housekeeper and the neighbours are friendly, helpful people. If only the weather had been a bit warmer... :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaelwh...
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful ”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This wee place is absolutely perfect, the first thing that got us all was how stunning the location was, one of the best views in the world. The cottage itself has everything you need, wifi, open fire, comfy chairs, nice beds, and plenty of turf to keep you warm into the wee small hours. All the ingredients for that perfect relaxing break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
Thank you for the feedback Stephen! It is disappointing to get a 2 star review but we will take your comments on board. We have provided 27 photos with our listing which we believe provides a fair reflection of the cottage interior and exterior. However, this is our first season letting so are continually trying to improve! For info we are investing in new carpet in the Autumn and are also planning to upgrade the kitchen soon.
Thank you
Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
thisgal20...
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Magical place”
Reviewed April 6, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Spent a wonderful two nights here with family, and wish it was longer so I could sit on the front deck and watch the ocean till I got my fill. The cottage was a cozy place to unwind after our hikes around Slieve League and the local beaches. Noreen stopped by and made sure we were all set with the cottage, and even drew out a map so we could find our way around the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooks59
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magnificent Retreat by the Sea”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Its solitude with wifi and yet not too far from services. It's even nicer than the pictures when you sit and watch the waves crash against the rocks below the window. There's the beach there too if it's warm, and a lovely fireplace if it's not. Little Kilcar is 5 minutes up the road with pubs and groceries. The stunning cliffs of Sleeve league (sp?) is about 15 minutes. Killybegs takes about 20 minutes and the rest of County Donegal lies waiting. Everyone seems ready to chat and the best thing about this place is the people.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2017
Thank you Rick for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay. Enjoy the rest of your trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing