We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn Lodge B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountshannon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawthorn Lodge B & B
Ranked #2 of 3 Mountshannon B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

The Mountshannon region is lovely and seems to be packed with things to do-holiday was coming to an end so wasn't able to stay more than one night and had to get going in the morning but am planning to return for an explore.
For people wanting a base in this area or for those on a more circuitous itinerary Hawthorn Lodge is ideal. It is located very close to the lake and on the main road along the West side of Lough Derg. The B&B has some great "What's on" guides and what these can't tell you Ursula or Noel most likely can.
This B&B is very clean and welcoming and Ursula and Noel really go out of their way to make your stay top notch!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whatsthatisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
43
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

Myself and my family were more than lucky to happen upon the Hawthorn Lodge recently. The Hogan family (parents and children alike) were wonderfully welcoming in a very intuitive way.For example, it was beautifully warm on our arrival and we took some seats in the front garden whereupon we very thoughtfully brought some cool beer. Ursula came out for a chat before heading back to her business. They neither put upon you nor are ever too far away to be of ready assistance. An excellent balance. The house and rooms themselves were most comfortable and the breakfast readily devoured. Our stay was only for a night but if I or my family are ever in need of a welcoming smile and home in that enchanting neck of the woods, it will be towards the Hawthorn Lodge that our warm memories pull us.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Folk_Hero_1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaCoClare, Owner at Hawthorn Lodge B & B, responded to this review, April 22, 2010
Well what can I say only thank you so much for that wonderful review - it's always encouraging to hear that everyone was happy with our accommodation & it's always much more pleasureable when you meet lovely people like yourselves! Best wishes to your Mum & all the gang! Cheers Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

I cannot recommend this B&B enough. We were made to feel extremely welcome from our first arrival to departure the following day. There are only a small number of rooms (3 I think) so this B&B is very quiet. We had a very comfortable night's stay. The proprietors, Ursula and Noel, are extremely good natured and kindly offered to collect us from the nearby town of Whitegate if we could not get a taxi. One of their daughters was also available to look after our 13 month old baby boy the next morning while we had a quality breakfast in a relaxing dining room. All this at no extra charge.
I really cannot recommend this lovely B&B enough. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanksForTings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaCoClare, Owner at Hawthorn Lodge B & B, responded to this review, April 22, 2010
Thank you so much for your very complimentary review & for taking the time to do it - I appreciate the effort! Glad you all enjoyed yourselves & we really enjoyed having you all, the kids are gorgeous its sad to see them leave! Regards to all, Cheers Ursula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

We spent 4 nights at the Hawthorne Lodge and can more than recommend the friendly atmosphere and particularly appreciated the helpfulness to newcomers of Ireland.
Looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger123M_nchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2009

On our way from Dublin to Dingle we wanted to stay for a night at Hawthorn Lodge. We were received so heartly by Ursula and Noel that we decided to stayed another night. Our room was tasteful and spacious. It was very quiet and the bed was perfect for a relaxing rest. But watch out: you risk to gain weight due to Ursula's breakfast - excellent. We enjoyed the conversation with Ursula and Noel in the evening. Highly recommended. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerNarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

Irish hospitality at its finest. Ursula and Noel run a tidy, comfortable B&B and offer advice on where to go and what to do in County Clare. We had a lovely chat in the family living room with Ursula, her eldest daughter and their friends who made us feel truly welcome guests. The view of Lough Derg from the visitor’s sitting area is lovely.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VAAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2008

Just returned from October weekend. A friendly welcome and approachable hosts. The house spotlessly clean, good size room and in genuinely quiet location. Good advice on local eateries and pubs. Lots to do in and around Mountshannon. Local people friendly. Good information and communication prior to visit - hosts kindly gave us bikes for a day to explore.
But less positive - walls thin between rooms, you could literally hear every movement from adjacent bedroom. We were lucky to have piercing snoring for only one of the three nights. The breakfast's may be hearty for meat eaters but half a tomato each and a couple of mushrooms to accompany scrambled egg were on the spartan side for non meat eaters. Also, for what was off-peak season no reduction whatsoever for three nights stay surprising. (To be fair to hosts, we had been told the rate beforehand). Ireland is very expensive for accomodation and price not excessive but value for money therefore neutral rather than exceptional.
This was our frank assessment. Better than OK but not excellent. My feeling was that the hosts were nearing the end of the season and may have took the eye of the ball on a few aspects. The more positive comments on the site do not surprise us and I think over the longer term this will be reviewed a desirable B&B - I would imagine particularly welcoming for families.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Small portions breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mahestephane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mountshannon hotels
0.6 mi away
Sunrise Bed and Breakfast
Sunrise Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Mountshannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Lodge B & B

Property: Hawthorn Lodge B & B
Address: R352, Mountshannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Mountshannon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mountshannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4*Failte Irl Approved & TripAdvisor Excellence 2016 Awarded, family run child & pet friendly B&B with 3 spacious bedrooms (all en-suite), free WiFi, TVs, tea/coffee/biscuits, power showers & hairdryers, etc. Private car park & large garden area. Only 1 km from Mountshannon with a great variety of restaurants & good value lively pubs. There's a bird's eye view of the rare White Tailed Sea Eagles at our harbour! Fishing, sailing, golfing, East Clare walkways, horse riding, pitch & putt & heritage investigation also available. An ideal base for touring East/West Clare, Galway, Limerick or Tippearary. Only 40 minutes from Shannon Airport & 2 hrs from Dublin or Cork. Looking forward to showing you what a real Irish welcome is like. Best value around - ring or email for quote! Ursula ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing