We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever, best bed and breakfast ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawthorn Lodge B & B
Ranked #2 of 3 Mountshannon B&B and Inns
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best vacation ever, best bed and breakfast ever!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I give the Hawthorn Lodge Bed and Breakfast in Mountshannon, County Clare, Ireland, my highest recommendation: two thumbs up, four if I had opposable toes! We had a super time there. The Hogans are the nicest, friendliest family. They made us feel welcome and right at home. The breakfasts are excellent. Even our ten-year-old daughter, Anna, who is normally a finicky eater, ate well there. The room was beautiful, the beds extremely comfortable, and the toilet and shower facility (attached to the room for maximum comfort and privacy) clean, modern and just super. We stayed four nights and were truly sorry to leave. If you are going to Ireland, you'll be blessed if you can stay with the Hogan family at the Hawthorn Lodge. God bless them!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RStevens2259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaCoClare, Owner at Hawthorn Lodge B & B, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thanks so much for the wonderful review indeed we really enjoyed your stay & we felt we were saying goodbye to dear friends! You were the first Family to taste our very own Sausages, Bacon & Puddings & we were thrilled that you all enjoyed them so much - truly organic eh! We'll keep in touch of course & looking forward to looking after your friends whenever they arrive!.Cheers Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
44
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monasterevin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just returned from a one night stay at the hawthorn b+b. Arrived fairly late in the evening, no problem to our host Ursula, who offered to drop us to meet friends in the town without a moments hesitation. Extremely warm and friendly greeting on arrival. Room superb, plenty of space, tea and coffe making facilities in the room. We had an excellent power shower in our en suite which was a very pleasant surprise, as previous places we have stayed have had very poor showers!
Breakfast was a very hearty meal, plenty to keep us going all day. Homemade brown bread delicious, the recipe was in the info folder in the room but never thought to copy it :-(.
All in all a very short stay but would not hesitate to return and stay longer.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillywhiteKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaCoClare, Owner at Hawthorn Lodge B & B, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks a mill for the great review, we aim to please it was my pleasure to have you stay with us and I hope the next time you return it will be for a happier occasion. Best wishes for now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great family run B&B. Ursula, Noel, Kathleen and Fiona are a special family. All I can say is WOW! Rooms great, food delicious and could not imagine a better way to start our Journey in Ireland. Rent a car and discover Ireland. Just do not drive in Dublin city centre

Room Tip: Go to Ireland in late September to the end of October and kiss the crouds goodbye.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trinity3_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaCoClare, Owner at Hawthorn Lodge B & B, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks so much for your lovely review, we really enjoyed your company and we're delighted that your first experience of a B & B was a positive one and with us. We hope to see you again whenever you get around to really checking out your roots!! Best wishes, Ursula & Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Recently I stayed at Hawthorn Lodge with my teenage son and his teenage friend for one night.

We arrived late at night and were sincerely welcomed by Ursula who kindly served a much appreciated pot of tea and biscuits which was followed by an interesting and entertaining conversation! The family room was perfect and comfortable, and breakfast was delicious and satisfying especially for two hungry teenagers! We were made feel completely at home by Ursula. Her care and friendly engagement with her guests makes all the difference. Its been many years since I have stayed in a B&B and I had forgotten the difference it makes when it comes to getting the real sense of the "Irish welcome" that is hard to get in a hotel.. At Hawthorn lodge I experienced the real friendliness that the Irish have been famous for coupled with a great value stay. I will definitely be back if in that beautiful location again and can recommend unreservedly!

David from Waterford

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaCoClare, Owner at Hawthorn Lodge B & B, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hi David, Wow thanks for the fantastic review - sure you made it so easy for me with your easy ability to chat - you are what makes doing B & B worthwhile & encouraging to keep going through these very difficult times!! I really enjoyed meeting you all & hope you enjoyed your cruise on Lough Derg too. Look forward to meeting you again sometime! Take care & keep well - Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slieve Anore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband, dog and I only stayed one night at Hawthorn Lodge. We were eating out in Mountshannon for my husband's special birthday and wanted to make a night of it and not have to drive home. We found this place, read the reviews and booked it immediately. The accommodation is beautiful with our room having the kind of furniture I like myself. The bed was nice and firm which makes a change from many other places we have stayed in and was very good for a bad back. The 'full irish' breakfast was tasty too and there certainly was plenty of it. Our dog, although not allowed in the bedroom, was also made to feel welcome and enjoyed her time with Felix, the family dog. But by far the best part about our stay at Hawthorn Lodge was the welcome, we were made to feel like friends rather than paying guests and that is priceless. Many thanks to Ursula and Noel, we will certainly be recommending your lovely home to all our friends and family when they come over to visit us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulietRSlieveAnore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaCoClare, Owner at Hawthorn Lodge B & B, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Hi J & J. Thanks a mill for the great review - sure you are our new" Friends" now - that's the great thing about B & B - all the wonderful interesting, people we meet & get to know!! I'm delighted you
enjoyed your stay because we really enjoyed your company! Cheers & best wishes, Ursula & Noel. p.s Felix was wondering where his new buddy went too!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Áit bheag ghalánta cois Loch Deirgeirte, lán de chroí, cuideachta is cuidiú, gan a lua an fáilte mór cairdiúil atá ag fanacht ar bhur gcuairt.
A lovely little welcoming place on the banks of Loch Derg, full of heart, character & company, not to mention the sincere welcome waiting you on your visit.
Great location & hospitality, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orfhlaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaCoClare, Owner at Hawthorn Lodge B & B, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Hi Orthlaith, Thank you so much for your bi lingual great comments, you're very good to take the time to do it. We enjoyed having you stay & hopefully see you again when you're not working so hard the next time!! Best wishes & Slán Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monaghan
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Me and 6 cyclists friends wanted to stay in Mountshannon for 2 nights so we came across the Hawthorns B&B. From the moment we booked it i looked forward to staying because of the warm friendliness of the B&B owner. We werent dissapointed, when we arrived we were made to feel at home by the warm atmosphere.
Excellent breakfast both mornings, great value as well. We wished we could have stayed longer and are already planning our next stay! We had 2 great nights out in the local pubs which also serve great food and drink at great prices.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankburkemonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaCoClare, Owner at Hawthorn Lodge B & B, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Hi Frank, Thanks for the lovely review, we really enjoyed having you all & the lads were great craic for the weekend. I'm glad the weather was good too for your cycle around Lough Derg here. Our pubs always have something lively going on & the grub is good value as you said. Looking forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future! Ursula & Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountshannon
8.9 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
8.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
0.6 mi away
Sunrise Bed and Breakfast
Sunrise Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Mountshannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Glocca Morra B&B
Glocca Morra B&B
#1 of 1 in Ogonnelloe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
8.0 mi away
East Clare Golf Village
17.1 mi away
Hillview House Bed & Breakfast Clare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Lodge B & B

Property: Hawthorn Lodge B & B
Address: R352, Mountshannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Mountshannon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mountshannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4*Failte Irl Approved & TripAdvisor Excellence 2016 Awarded, family run child & pet friendly B&B with 3 spacious bedrooms (all en-suite), free WiFi, TVs, tea/coffee/biscuits, power showers & hairdryers, etc. Private car park & large garden area. Only 1 km from Mountshannon with a great variety of restaurants & good value lively pubs. There's a bird's eye view of the rare White Tailed Sea Eagles at our harbour! Fishing, sailing, golfing, East Clare walkways, horse riding, pitch & putt & heritage investigation also available. An ideal base for touring East/West Clare, Galway, Limerick or Tippearary. Only 40 minutes from Shannon Airport & 2 hrs from Dublin or Cork. Looking forward to showing you what a real Irish welcome is like. Best value around - ring or email for quote! Ursula ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hawthorn Lodge B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing